We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find!”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a find!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A group of four of us stayed at The Green House last Sunday. I don't normally review
places but felt compelled to share what a great hotel this is. The location is great with
plenty of car parking. The rooms and bathrooms were amazing, the staff were
friendly and the food was brilliant - both for dinner and breakfast. Everything about
the hotel was stylish and comfortable. I definitely will be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    223
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
113
508
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I went to this hotel last year for my birthday. The room we had, Crab Apple, was gorgeous!! Such a big, luxurious room that had so many lovely little touches. The only thing is that the bathroom was right in front of the bed so to shower or bath, it wasn't private as there was no partition. There is a separate toilet room - but not with a shower. Despite that, the bathroom and the bedroom are massive and the hotel staff try as much as possible to help you out. I wouldn't say the staff are the best ever, but they are good enough for what you need.

Room Tip: Crab Apple was lovely and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayew21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was moving out of Bournemouth and my partner surprised me with a stay at the Green house for my final night. The hotel's location is perfect with a quick stroll to town and to the beach, and offers on sight parking. The staff were friendly and the hotel itself was gorgeous, with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! The cooked breakfast was perfect and a great start to the day.
Do not stay anywhere else in Bournemouth, this place is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyAnna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed overnight on a business trip. Very comfortable bed in a room that contained outstanding facilities, including Bose sound system. Attention to detail was immaculate. The restaurant served outstanding food and the attentive staff made dining a real pleasure. The cooked breakfast was probably the best I have experienced in a long time, in any hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having had an absolutely flawless at the Green House, we decided to spend 3 nights there as a break away from the hectic nature of day-to-day life and were not disappointed.

We stayed in Crab Apple, complete with a wonderful roll top bath, walk-in shower and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Everything from the toiletries to the furnishings and more were excellent and each day we returned back to the room it was immaculate. No detail is too small and the food was equally impressive. There are a wealth of options at breakfast and the staff were helpful to point out other options at dinner and we were given a truly personal service throughout, including the attention given to my pregnant wife.

The most remarkable thing of the stay for me was that, despite the great invest in the wonderful decor, the true asset of the hotel was its staff. Warm, friendly and engaging throughout and keen to go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I wish we'd noted down everyone's names to thank them, but special mentions to Sarah, who organised our big day, and Amy who worked tirelessly on reception and ran around finding things for me to calm my nerves on our wedding morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here during a family weekend in the Dorset area. We arrived and checked in only to be given a complementary upgrade which was a delightful surprise. The staff at the front desk were helpful and explained the various amenities before showing us to our room. The room was wonderful! A roll top bath in the bedroom with lovely toiletries as well as an amazing shower in the bathroom. Plenty of refreshments in the room from bottled water to a range of teas and coffees. Such an added bonus in hotel rooms to have fresh milk - there is a little fridge on the landing for more supplies or we just asked at the front desk and were given a little flask of cold milk. We'd already eaten a large meal with family at lunchtime so just needed a snack in the evening. Even 'just a sandwich' in the bar did not disappoint - a hearty sandwich served with homemade warm oven-baked crisps. We treated ourselves to a shared dessert as well - amazing apple crumble served with hot vanilla custard and a miniature millionaires shortbread. Fabulous! The room has proper central heating - thermostated radiator rather than noisy air conditioning unit - and an amazingly comfortable bed with goose down duvet. The room was wonderfully quiet and private. Breakfast was served in the restaurant with a reasonable variety of food on offer. We had a wonderful time and plan to come again soon! Thank you to all the team at The Green House.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DealOrinoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We managed to dump the kids and escape for a night to The Green House. We chose it because it looked like an a small boutique style hotel. We were not disappointed, our room was beautiful, great shower and bath, comfortable bed, excellent all round.

Breakfast was also terrific, cooked beautifully and delivered quickly. I am looking forward to finding another excuse to get away, so we can enjoy the facilities again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing