We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for a reasonable rate and got a "standard double" [upgraaded from "small double" by mentioning "tripadvisor" when booking. The room was fine with lovely comfortable bed and duvet with pleasant bathroom with rain shower. Only criticism was that the sofa was about as comfortable as the seats on an old British Railways train and the bathhroom towels were not fluffy although they dried fine. Friendly staff - good breakfast although I chose the mushrooms on toast which while excellent were not simply mushrooms but had added cream and onions. There are some things not appropriate at breakfast; onions, cucumber, pickles and so on

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the green house in April for my 50th. We had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the evening meal was delicious. I would highly recommend the restaurant. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was also extremely good. We very much enjoyed our stay so much so, we are headwind back down again for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffy5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed there for a bank holiday with two little ones. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a very helpful and pleasant staff that made us feel very welcome and put all the worries of travelling with kids all away! One of the ladies gave us a map, toys to play with in the sand for our kids, gladly stored our luggage as the room was not ready (we arrived very early) and made a reservation for the dinner that night.
After a long day on the beach coming back to the hotel was an easy stroll (via east cliff lift). The dinner was superb and the service was even better! They offered us to stay in empty bar area were the kids could be free to move around, helped us move there - at one point we had 3 people around the table helping us settle and getting the food. Don't get me wrong, it did not at all feel overburdening, it was all done very subtly and the servers were ready to listen and offer - I call it a true customer service.
The room was not very big, but all the necessities were there (with extra bed for our toddler and a cotbed for the baby). The bathtub was big and beautiful - we got good use out of it. The quality of the towels, sheets, mattress and pillows was first class and we were able to get a very good night sleep (which is a challenge with two kids).

All in all, we highly recommend the hotel to anyone considering visiting Bournemouth area. It was on expensive side, but to us, it was worth every penny of it and we would not think twice about coming back here.

We booked through ebookers.com that offered 10% off.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Gorgeous hotel, BUT a few serious issues to be aware of (and that almost spoiled our stay.) We stayed in the lovely Wild Pear room, spacious, sumptuous, but it's an Eco Hotel - therefore no air con in an incredibly hot and stuffy room which meant you had to have the windows open, which didn't help much, and seeing as the hotel is right on the corner of a roundabout you can hear traffic 24 hours a day.

Overall:

Pros; Comfy spacious bed, soft fluffy pillows, no noise from wedding reception once bedroom door was shut, gorgeous deep bath in the Wild Pear bedroom, huge separate shower in en-suite, posh toiletries, tea facilities (although you have to ask for a 'flask' of milk from reception), delightful decor, tasty food.

Cons; Very noisy outside due to traffic & wedding party, lack of air con = a stiflingly hot room, so if you have to have the window open it's almost impossible to sleep due to the noise & heat, creaky floorboards, disconcertingly horizontal sloping staircase, huge gap under bedroom door that let in light at night, rather scratchy bath towels, lack of parking space (were sent 'over the road' but seeing as we had a car full of expensive trade-show equipment we were not happy to leave it unattended that far away), lacklustre staff - adequate but not really invested in your stay, slow service, had to wait for a table at breakfast then chase tea and food several times - seems they cannot cope with full capacity, they took 40 mins to bring us a cooked breakfast that had just one single rasher of bacon!

Summary; luxurious furnishing and decor, but not necessarily a great nights sleep or overly welcome stay - not quite worth the premium price rate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you, overall, had an enjoyable stay at the Green House. You are correct, because we are an eco friendly hotel we do not have air conditioning. But we do supply fans to any guest who requests them, it is a shame that you did not approach us as we would have gone out of our way to make you more comfortable. We have full length blinds in the rooms as well, and our guests find that if you keep them closed when you are out of the room, when you return the room is a lot cooler. We offer guests fresh milk which we store in a thermos so it stays cool for 24 hours so you can have fresh milk for your morning cuppa. This should have been supplied to you upon check in so I am sorry that this did not happen. The "horizontal staircase" and the small gap under the door are the small tells that this is actually an 1800's building, in fact I think many might argue that this is a "pro". I'm intrigued to know where you did end of parking in the end. Breakfast on a weekend can get very busy, our restaurant can seat 38 but usually everyone arrives late for breakfast. If you would like a quick breakfast on a Sunday morning I would recommend arriving down before 9am. Generally guests prefer to arrive at 9:30 and this does slow service down for both the waiting team but also for our chefs as they cook everything to order.
I must say I am most disappointed to see your comments about our "lacklustre" staff. We really do try to go out of our way to make every guests stay special and I am extremely disappointed that you did not experience this when you stayed with us. If there is anything further you would like to discuss with me, please contact me directly on oosullivan@thegreenhousehotel.com or 01202 498900.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

For a recent business trip I asked a colleague which hotel in Bournemouth I should use. Her unequivocal reply was 'The Green House', and she described it simply as 'beautiful'.

For a single male business traveller, aesthetics is not really a requirement. But as I also saw that the hotel was right next to the sea, I took up the suggestion.

As can be seen from the photos, however, it is simply not possible to stay here and disagree with the 'beautiful' tag. The room was stunning - far too romantic for me on my own - so now I have to try to arrange another trip for my wife and I.

The breakfast was excellent too, and deserved a photo of its own.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for Crab Apple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_Gale777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The restaurant is above average in every way! We received a genuinely warm welcome at reception and all the staff paid great attention to giving us a top class service. We were given plenty of time to study the menus and we were not rushed in any way. The dining room was spacious and uncrowded with gentle live music. The food was excellent, very flavoursome with generous portions. Congratulations to the chef, Andy Hilton and his Team.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Metooxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been visiting this hotel from the year that it opened. It has been beautifully restored and the rooms are truly a step up from the usual chain hotels. We like to choose the double room that also has a Victorian bath as well as the usual shower/bathroom. The rooms are always spotless and the staff can never be faulted for their excellent service. What is quite unusual for a hotel is the quality of the food which you would normally associate with a fine dining restaurant. The ingredients are locally sourced and this reflects in the quality of the dishes that are served. We have stayed in many hotels in Bournemouth over the years and this is the best, by a long way. I thoroughly recommend it. Well done to all at the Greenhouse for their continued hard work and high standards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonycP5532DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £87 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best rates, book direct! The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the 2AA rosette and Michelin Plate, Arbor restaurant. Our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference. Winning the Environment award from the Food Made Good awards 2 years running says it all. Don't miss out on our homebaked afternoon tea or experiencing Arbor for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing