We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day & Stay”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My partner and I were married at the Green House hotel this past weekend, we could not recommend this hotel highly enough!
All of our guests commented on how helpful, polite and attentative the staff were, especially Olivia, Aga and, of course, the wedding organiser Sarah! Without this woman our day would not have come together in the way we had hoped!
The food which we had on our 3 night stay, was exceptional to say the least, I for one am a very picky eater and each plate I've had there has left the table completely empty, this again was noted by all our guests at the wedding!
The rooms are amazing, from the small doubles right through to the master doubles, every room is impeccable and can find no fault whatsoever.
We will definitely be back to stay at this hotel in the near future, as will majority of our guests who will be coming back for their own anniversaries and special events, and as said would recommend anyone to try this hotel just once and you'll want to go back again and again.
Thank you so much

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clark-Swaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had our wedding at this hotel last May and the whole experience was truly amazing. From the attentive staff on hand at all times, what can potentially be a stressful day was perfect. The wedding organiser Sarah was brilliant, obviously very experienced with dealing with all the finer details of a perfect day which we planned for many months. The hotel itself is very beautiful and the rooms are romantic and very luxurious. The food is really great, although we didn't really eat much as often happens when it's yr own wedding. The whole day went perfectly and many of our guests stayed and loved it, the breakfast the following day was delicious and plentiful. We can't thank the hotel enough for an amazing day and even now a year later our friends still talk about how it's the best wedding they have been to. We can't wait to return for dinner soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahbradly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The set lunch menu has 1, 2 or 3 courses, and is good value, and excellent quality. They also provide still or sparkling bottles water free with the meal, which is an added bonus.
Well worth a visit. It is an eco boutique hotel, with a distinctive character of it own.
Would definiteley recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at The Green House as part of my niece's wedding party. Although the wedding wasn't at the hotel we had a number of rooms in our party. We nearly had a disaster after a mix-up over our booking but the manager (Olivia) was just brilliant. She sorted things out in an instant then went out of her way to be as helpful and attentive as possible on our arrival - as did the rest of the staff. We had a very comfortable stay and would warmly recommend The Green House to all wishing to stay in a very comfortable hotel, close, but not right on, the cliffs above the beach.
Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day! We would recommend the New Forest breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaTaplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! We have stayed several times because we just love the personal service, the outstanding food and the beautifully appointed bedrooms. Add to that, the fantastic value for money and you are onto a winner - regardless of your environmental principles.

We picked The Green House mainly because it has such a great reputation for its carbon footprint, its commitment to organic and locally sourced produce and the fact it had gorgeous roll top baths in the premium rooms. When we actually arrived however, we found this hotel had so much more to offer than just great green credentials. It is easy downhill walking distance to the seafront and attractions such as Oceanarium (although coming back is uphill!) and a very short and cheap taxi ride to Bournemouth's nightlife. The reception staff cannot do enough to help, and staff in the restaurant are equally as accommodating. The only visit where we have ever felt the staff were anything other than calm and serene, was Valentine's night, when some of the restaurant staff were clearly new and inexperienced. That didn't ruin our stay though, as the seasoned staff we recognised from previous visits were on hand to step in when they saw the younger ones flounder. On the subject of the restaurant, the food is exquisite and the wine list is huge - and delicious! The fact the majority of the wine was organic was a lovely surprise and the cheese options available were massive. So great to eat somewhere, where you know the food is all local, sustainable and mostly organic. The difference in the taste is obvious.

The rooms are decorated beautifully and frankly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! As for those stunning roll top baths - what a treat it is to sink into a deep, hot bubble bath, with a glass of fizz and watch TV or read a book! In the morning, the power shower in all the rooms we have stayed in, is big enough for 2 or 3 people not just 1 and the toiletries are to die for!

Finally, the little touches that make every stay so great are things like having Spitfire Ale on tap (my favourite!), the room service with a smile - day or night - and the fact reception kept my lactofree milk in a little fridge for me and sent it up in milk jugs anytime I phoned down for a top up! On one occasion, because it was special to my partner and I, I was able to ask reception to organise flowers from the local florist, to be waiting for us in the room on arrival - all added to the bill with minimum fuss and a fantastic choice of florist. I will stay here over and over again, as I just love it here. Knowing I am sticking to my green principles just adds a massive bonus.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra premium to have the best rooms with the roll top baths in - you won't regre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank everhopeful598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visit Bournemouth every year for our anniversary as we used to live here and my husband proposed rather romantically in a beach hut so bournemouth is special to us, anyway, we have been searching for the perfect hotel and we have finally found it.

Its modern, contemporary, clean, friendly, relaxed. They were extremely helpful with fulfilling my husband's surprise anniversary flowers for me.

Breakfast was delicious and all fresh produce.

Rooms were clean, spacious and comfy. The towels could've done with a little updating as they were looking a little tired but that is a very tiny minor in what was a wonderful stay.

Customer service is about exceeding customers expectation and the green house along with their staff did that I every way

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed for a reasonable rate and got a "standard double" [upgraaded from "small double" by mentioning "tripadvisor" when booking. The room was fine with lovely comfortable bed and duvet with pleasant bathroom with rain shower. Only criticism was that the sofa was about as comfortable as the seats on an old British Railways train and the bathhroom towels were not fluffy although they dried fine. Friendly staff - good breakfast although I chose the mushrooms on toast which while excellent were not simply mushrooms but had added cream and onions. There are some things not appropriate at breakfast; onions, cucumber, pickles and so on

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £86 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best rates, book direct! The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the 2AA rosette and Michelin Plate, Arbor restaurant. Our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference. Winning the Environment award from the Food Made Good awards 2 years running says it all. Don't miss out on our homebaked afternoon tea or experiencing Arbor for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing