We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked a weekend , very impressed with the room , very clean and well decorated. , lovely little touches , including the shortbread biscuits which were lovely !! Will definitely be booking a stay again soon

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaghan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    218
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
113
502
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing break at the Green House recently. The room was small but perfectly decorated and well equipped.
We Loved:
- The décor of the rooms
- The nice touches such as the biscuits in the room
- The shower was wonderful
- The breakfast was delicious and varied
- The peaceful garden to enjoy a drink or spend an hour with a book
- The short walk to the sea & lift down to the beach.
Could be better:
- They didn’t replenish some of the breakfast items towards the end of service
- The bathroom was on the small side, and also quite dark for doing makeup etc.

If we visit Bournemouth in the future we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room. But took a peek into the other rooms during cleaning - the room oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed for one night on 21/06/2014. We we're attending a wedding on Bournemouth beach ,but would love to come back and stay for a weekend to enjoy more of the Hotel & area .
Rooms on the small size but that is acknowledged when booking, so no problems with this, could do with a fan when weather is very hot as it was on Saturday night. Would recommend this Hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a small double which was absolutely fine. Nice touches with the water bottles and cookie jar. The shower was amazing. Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again. The breakfasts on both mornings were lovely, very good ingredients. Only small negative was that the room could of been cleaner as there were a few cobwebs!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazmerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

What can I say, we saw the pictures on the website and read the fantastic reviews, and thought we were onto a good thing. Here’s what we thought…

= DINNER =

Pros
• Tastey food
• Lovely restaurant decor

Cons
• Poorly organised
• Not much veggie choices
• Waited over an hour and a half for food
• Inattentive and unenthusiastic waiting staff
• No atmosphere
• Not worth £65

= BEDROOM =

Pros
• Beautifully furnished
• Lovely view over the front (stayed in Red Oak)

Cons
• Rough towels (organic apparently)
• Hot room as it’s on the top floor, no air con
• Lack of surfaces in bathroom & shower
• Thin walls (could hear next door talking etc…)
• Wasn’t told about lift to our room until the last day
• Rude cleaning staff
• Lack or mirrors with good light


= BREAKFAST=

Pros
• Lovely restaurant decor

Cons
• Asked for a latte with my breakfast, got told “have you seen how busy it is in here”
• Long wait for hot food
• Noisey
• Inattentive and unenthusiastic waiting staff
• Asked for hollandaise sauce with my breakfast, got told “have you seen how busy it is in here”


Got offered a free upgrade for next time we stay, but unfortunately we won’t be coming back :(

We’re rating this hotel as POOR

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLovebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and son-in-law held their wedding here at the end of March. Several rooms were booked for family and friends. The day was perfect, everybody enjoyed their stay, highly recommend having your wedding here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MarkSueFromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were in the area for a wedding (not at this hotel) and had a lovely stay. The room was comfortable and bright. The staff was extremely helpful. As Americans we had only the vaguest idea of what to do in Bournemouth and vicinity and the staff patiently gave us recommendations that proved very helpful. Breakfast was great and the bar very nice. Only caveat is that the walls are paper thin - you'll know what your neighbors are up to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing