We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Boutique Hotel enhanced by ethical values, fine service & excellent food.”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I stayed at the Green House for one night & was more than pleasantly surprised. The rooms are elegant, modern and very clean. The service at reception, bar & restaurant was exemplary. The food (verging towards nouvelle cuisine if volume is your thing) was beautifully presented, freshly cooked, very tasty and good value from a chef of this calibre.
Can't think of a downside.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for The Green House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

I booked the small double which was just a large single bed but the room had good quality furniture and fittings. Luckily, I had booked dinner which saved us £30!
The restaurant in the evening were doing a 5 course taster menu which was amazing and the staff were very attentive, we ate food which we would never had chosen but we were pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast although small portions was hot and fresh. My husband had the full english and would normally eat a full plate of food but he didn't complain because it did taste wonderful.
We will return again but I will book a larger bed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights. We had a wonderful time. The whole 'green' concept was great, with a few ideas you could implement at home. We stayed in a small-double room, which we found more than suited our requirements. I would have liked a little more storage facilities, but did not ruin our stay. My only negative comment would be on the room service we ordered, which did not turn up after about an hour, so we cancelled - it was obvious from his comment when we called down to cancel, that the guy had forgotten to place our order.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed for just a night and loved every second, the rooms were cosy and quirky with a roll top bath in the room, very romantic. Had dinner in the restaurant which was absolutly amazing. Both myself and my partner had the taster menu of 9 courses and tried foods we would never have dreamed of eating but each were incredible, hats off to the chef who not only produced lovely food but who presented it so beautifully sometimes i didnt want to dig in to spoil the look!!

Would recommend to anyone in or around the bournemouth area!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahenwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Green House is certainly a cut above other offerings in Bournemouth. Great effort has gone into designing the hotel and it is warm and comfortable with touches of understated luxury. The rooms are wonderful and the commitment to their environmental credentials is admirable. We obtained a great deal on lastminute.com which made it a bit of a bargain but it would be a pricey proposition at rack rates; not sure it would be worth it.
However the hotel is staffed mostly by young, well meaning but awkward staff who hover and whisper and generally make you feel a bit uncomfortable, not helped by the fact that the dining room and bar are just a bit too brightly lit and quiet for comfort. Saying that, the breakfast was lovely as were a couple of nibbles we had from the kitchen and it is clear great effort is going into everything.
This hotel is ambitious and this is evident in many aspects from the quality of the surroundings to the keen pricing but they need to get some basics right - the bar couldn't make a martini (vodka, two ice cubes and a straw in a martini glass?) and the cuisine in the restaurant is confused to say the least although individual components of the meal were wonderful.
In summary a very nice place to stay in the desert that is Bournemouth - fine now if the rate is right or at full price in future if they straighten out the niggles.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VB1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

A quiet and tranquil hotel for a very pleasant weekend break. Nicely appointed, tastfully decorated, scrupulously clean and very attentive staff. Great dining and fab wine/drinks list if a litle pricey (try the organic gin!). Operates credible eco/enviromental practices such as a central chilled milk supply which you fetch from a refrigerator for your in-room coffee/tea (slightly inconvenient) and their own bottled tap water (great).

Our room was a little "compact" and we could have had better cupboard/drawer space to avoid living from a suitcase but otherwise pretty good all round and we'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Didn't stay at the hotel but our experience of the restaurant means we will be very tempted to do so in the future.

A fellow reviewer complained about the (small) portion sizes and admittedly this is not the place for gut busting (and I do promise you that gut busting iz me, normally!) but the flavours and the presentation, all individual and yet complementary were sensational, no two ways about it. And it was nice to come away feeling pleasantly full but not over stuffed. Taking into account the really lovely staff, the gorgeous surroundings, the brillant cover (wonderful bread, free mineral water!) the charge of £25 for the three course table d'hote was an absolute steal imho.

This is where I get embarrassed because looking over my previous reviews I see a bit of a pattern developing. There was something of a delay in the third course delivery (I think a bit of a mix up at the ordering stage). We brought this to their attention (I don't think I would use the term complain, we just mentioned it) and the manager practically slit his wrists in mortification and gave us a huge chunk off the already very reasonable bill. Like I say, I seem to be making a habit of this! I honestly don't mean to, but it just shows that in a lot of cases, if you have an issue and raise it, peopel will try to put it right.


Good on you Green House. Thassorl!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £92 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best rates, book direct! The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the 2AA rosette and Michelin Plate, Arbor restaurant. Our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference. Winning the Environment award from the Food Made Good awards 2 years running says it all. Don't miss out on our homebaked afternoon tea or experiencing Arbor for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing