We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Bay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Bay Guest House
Ranked #40 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

really had a wonderful two night stay when we arrived we was made to feel very welcomed both howard and Sharon was so friendly and welcoming both lovely people and they had a little dog milo who was so well behaved and friendly :) the room was great lovely queen sized bed and had everything you needed in the room with lovely tea and coffee and biscuits which is a added bonus :) the breakfast in the morning was lovely really filling and tasty. the location is great howard showed us on a map where to go to the local shops and a walk down to Bournemouth which we did. we both really enjoyed our stay would defiantly stay again and we recommend people to stay here. thank you so much for our lovely stay Leanne and chris

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leannestill36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived on Saturday the 3rd of May and stayed until the Monday. Sharon greeted us and was incredibly friendly. We felt instantly welcome. The breakfast was excellent, none of this greasy business, and were more than happy to cater if you preferred different foods or drinks.

Overall Great service, excellent room condition. All in all a great stay.

:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45George_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We received a lovely welcome even though it was very late at night. The hotel was lovely and clean, room was big and comfortable. Lovely breakfast and Howard was happy to show us on a map where we needed to go. They both were happy to have a chat without feeling rushed. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EmmaSimon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've stayed in many b and bs of all kinds boutique, budget, spa hotels etc but there is something about this guest house that makes it special and no im not easily pleased.
The trip was to celebrate my fourth birthday with my partner and 5 friends. We had a lovely welcome and was shown our rooms and recommend somewhere to have lunch our rooms yes maybe not modern but were very clean and comfortable on speaking to Howard they have only been running here since September and plan to refurbish some rooms . Breakfast was plentiful and beautifully cooked so we were well set up for the day. One friend had a reaction to medication she was taking so the owners made a tea tray and toast and on the second day we asked them if they could call a doctor out we were all soooo impressed my friend could stay in her room until 1!!!!our bags they said could be kept in a room while we went for a walk on our check out day. Thank you again if your reading this.
Oh hang I forgot Howard offered to take my friend home who lived in the south east London how kind is that and he meant it.
So if the question was asked would we go back we really liked Bournemouth and wouldn't look for any other place to stay than here THANKS AGAIN FROM ALL SIX OF US.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark limerick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We received a very friendly welcome. This being a guest house rather than a hotel didn't have a hotel's facilities eg. guest lounge, bar etc. but we didn't expect it. The room was plenty large enough and clean. The complimentary breakfast was superb - full English with cafetiere coffee. Well worth staying at for a guest house

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Group of us stayed here for one night, the owners are so very much down to earth, friendly & so helpful. Rooms are lovely & clean & I will definitely be go back! I felt at home, I highly recommend this guest house & looking forward to my next stay. :)))

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and Howard and Sharon are very helpful and kind , the room was lovely , a BIG breakfast in the morning that sets u up for the day ,and its 5 mins from the shop's and 10 mins from the seafront ,in the near future will be going back again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#44 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#29 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#50 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#19 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#72 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Guest House

Property: Sandy Bay Guest House
Address: 3 Westby Road | Bournemouth, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Bay offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation in a clean, friendly Guest House with five bedrooms and en-suite facilities. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Howard and Sharon, who can ensure a hospitable and comfortable stay, all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing