We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very plesant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandy Bay Guest House
Ranked #34 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“very plesant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

really had a wonderful two night stay when we arrived we was made to feel very welcomed room was clean and comftable
We would definitely return next time we come to Bournemouth.
great location to get around

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deco1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night in May when we were visiting a friend who lives in Blandford Forum. We opted to stay in Bournemouth because we wanted to visit Beaulieu on the way and the Tank Museum before meeting our friend, & Bournemouth is very conveniently located for losts of attractions.

We arrived at about 4pm an were greeted by Howard (the owner) & the doggy Milo. Howard and Milo were very friendly, we were given a map of Bournemouth and a summary of the nearby area. I am sure if we had asked Howard would have told us more. He also offered to recommend places to eat. We were shown the breakfast room and the area outside where guests can smoke (we don't smoke, but it was good to see that these guests had been considered).

There is limited parking on the property.

Our room was on the top floor, it was clean and a decent size. The bed and linen were comfortable and both of us had a very good night's sleep.

There are tea and coffee making facilities (not cheap tea/coffee, but name brand) in the room along with wifi and digital tv. We really appreciated this. The wifi was strong and consistent and we were able to watch a film on Nextflix and a programme on SkyGo.

The bathroom was small, but had everything you need in a bathroom. It was bigger than the last 4* hotel we stayed in while in London. It was clean. The water pressure isn't great, but it does the job, so wasn't an issue.

The breakfast was served from 8-9am. It was very nice, with tea served in bone china cups and teapots, and cereals avaliable in addition to the English breakfast. The breakfast and tea were hot.

Milo was very well behaved and made me smile everytime I saw him. He didn't come into the breakfast room when guests were eating.

We would certainly stay again. It was such a shame my hubby had to go to work the next day, otherwise we would have taken advantage of the discount for staying more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJDDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

we had a great stay weather not great but the owners were very knolageable in what was on things to do, had a map on arrival of area, room was clean and comftable they addapted to me needs health and food they were very helpfull and friendly and had a great loveable dog. Great stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Myself and my partner had a really nice stay at Sandy Bay. The owners were really friendly and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. We would definitely return next time we come to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanN1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

really had a wonderful two night stay when we arrived we was made to feel very welcomed both howard and Sharon was so friendly and welcoming both lovely people and they had a little dog milo who was so well behaved and friendly :) the room was great lovely queen sized bed and had everything you needed in the room with lovely tea and coffee and biscuits which is a added bonus :) the breakfast in the morning was lovely really filling and tasty. the location is great howard showed us on a map where to go to the local shops and a walk down to Bournemouth which we did. we both really enjoyed our stay would defiantly stay again and we recommend people to stay here. thank you so much for our lovely stay Leanne and chris

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leannestill36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived on Saturday the 3rd of May and stayed until the Monday. Sharon greeted us and was incredibly friendly. We felt instantly welcome. The breakfast was excellent, none of this greasy business, and were more than happy to cater if you preferred different foods or drinks.

Overall Great service, excellent room condition. All in all a great stay.

:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45George_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We received a lovely welcome even though it was very late at night. The hotel was lovely and clean, room was big and comfortable. Lovely breakfast and Howard was happy to show us on a map where we needed to go. They both were happy to have a chat without feeling rushed. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EmmaSimon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#47 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#23 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#14 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#42 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#70 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#49 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bay Guest House

Property: Sandy Bay Guest House
Address: 3 Westby Road | Bournemouth, Bournemouth BH5 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Bay offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation in a clean, friendly Guest House with five bedrooms and en-suite facilities. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Howard and Sharon, who can ensure a hospitable and comfortable stay, all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing