We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Stay away!”
Review of Mayfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfield Hotel
Ranked #96 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2011

stayed for 4 nights in Familiy room: Bad: room,bath/shower nor toilet NEVER got cleaned! Staff barely understand breakfast order. Cooked breakfast is only for tough stomacks! Hit and miss with milk for your coffee/tea facility in room. Owner never showes his face and does not live on premises. Used bath towels were taken off the rail in bathroom and left for fresh ones (all folded up) on bed again. Third bed was only camp bed. Good: room was big and spacious.
We cannot recommend this establishment to anyone. Please stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel is situated in 5 minutes of the rail station by walk. It is not a hotel 4* but we are welcomed well .Breakfast is superb, and it has a great location with easy access to the beach, whilst still really close to shops and restaurants.
my stay was lovely, the staff was lovely.... my room very clean !!!
This B&B is in the perfect place for a relaxing break.
i love bournemoth T. H

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tisha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

As soon as we walked through the door of this hotel, the first reaction of my wife (who booked it) was to say "i'm so sorry". My first reaction was laughter.

This hotel is the height of design, if the year is 1972. The light fittings hanging from the ceiling shaped as a bunch of grapes, the mirrors that looked like they'd come out of my great grandmother's house, and the wall paper. Oh my, the wallpaper. I don't believe you can buy the wallpaper they had on their walls from any shop in the UK, so you can only conclude that it hasn't been redecorated in the last 40 years. If Ikea got us all to 'chuck out your Chintz'' then this hotel may have rifled through the skips and put it all back in their hotel with interest!

We went with this hotel as it was reasonably priced, you could part nearby, and they stated they didn't accept Stag or Hen dos. Well, it was cheap, and we did part outside. The large "Hen Party" banners adorning the three other room doors on our floor, as well as the noise of 15 drunken women all coming back late at night suggested that the rule had been bypassed.

I am giving it more than 1 star, as it was cheap, made me and a lot of friends laugh at the photos. Maybe it should be advertised as a theme hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petesaysblimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgbutton, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

So, if a hotel decides to decorate using Picasso its "incredibly bad" and deserves a rating of 2 out of 5 because it dates before 1972!

Most people who have stayed at Mayfield Hotel have commented on the decoration as being endearing, warm and welcoming. They say that there is something about the decor that makes you feel good about staying at Mayfield. The decor grows on you and you leave the place with a positive smile.



As the new owner of Mayfield Hotel , since 2010, I have absolutely no plans whatsoever to change the decor. Indeed we like the pictures, this reviewer took, so much we are thinking about featuring them on our main website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The staff were very friendly, polite and welcoming. Our room for 3 adults was
clean and comfortable with en suite. Breakfast was great with full English.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0mainF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Good weekend away, comfortable,quiet and clean.
> Staff was friendly
> Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francis6302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Its was very great. The staff was very helpful and friendly about where to go and how to get places on a budget. The room was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy79200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed there with a friend and it was a very nice atmosphere and I liked the fact that the location is just perfect. Besides the English breakfast was delicious. The rooms are decorated very lovely and the emploees are very friendly.
I can absolutely recommend a stay in this nice hotel.#
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanne_rech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ingledene House
Ingledene House
#103 of 131 in Bournemouth
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#23 of 131 in Bournemouth
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#78 of 131 in Bournemouth
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Derby Manor
Derby Manor
#4 of 131 in Bournemouth
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Hotel

Address: 46 Frances Road | Knyveton Gardens, East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayfield Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing