We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B”
Review of The Fircliff

The Fircliff
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fircliff
Ranked #73 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I only stayed one night when visiting family in the area. We can wholeheartedly agree with earlier reviews. Our room was at the front and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was cooked to order freshly brewed coffee. Limited offroad parking is the only minor quibble

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Foidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have stayed several times in Bournemouth due to our son being at Uni.
We have at last found somewhere we would definitely return to.
Kath, the owner is most welcoming. Our room was perfect and so comfortable. Absolutely everything we needed. Very clean too.
Room 5 guests kitchen. How thoughtful.
Breakfast was delicious, cooked fresh for you.
Had lunch at The Edge restaurant at the end of the road.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After visiting this B&B I cannot work out why it is so low down on Trip Advisor's Bournemouth B&B rankings. For me it had almost everything. I booked at the last minute and got a spacious room at the top of the premises (see photo). Amongst the positives of the B&B it had:
- Good breakfasts.
- Guest kitchen with fridge and microwave (Unbelievably rare in a B&B - but very useful)
- Free wifi
- Quiet location
- Great service
- Close to beach
- Comfortable lounge

The B&B is also close to a bus route (yellow bus 2A & 2B) and is about a mile from the shops at Westbourne.

The only downside is the limited off road parking (4 spaces for 7 rooms) such that when I arrived I had to park 2 side roads away for a few hours.

Fircliff seems to have, not surprisingly, a huge amount of returning guests, so the main challenge might actually be booking free dates.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Fircliff overnight and cannot recommend it highly enough. Beautiful house, so tastefully decorated and really comfortable - you really are made to feel right at home. Excellent room with ensuite equipped with everything you need. Guests also can use their own kitchen area which is a great idea. Kath made us feel really welcome and cooks a wicked breakfast! Great location for the Chine and away from busy Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is our 3rd visit (July 2013) to this very, very nice guest house where you are always made to feel very welcome.

The standard of the rooms are very high in a guest house that feels more like a 5 star hotel! Breakfast is a great experience with everyone's tastes catered for 100%

The location is also great with a short walk to the beach or a short walk to Westbourne, not forgetting Bournemouth directly form the beach going left or Sandbanks to your right,

From Sandbanks you can get the chain-ferry to Studlands beach or jump on the bus at Sandbanks (which also goes on the chain-ferry) and onto Swanage,(this bus service is seasonal and is called the Breezer, number 50) plus you can also get it from just up the road from the Fircliff itself.

In short if you want a friendly, clean and very well located place to stay, you won't find a better place than The Fircliff Guest House, another great holiday as always...

Room Tip: There all very well presented, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Fircliff guest house on the 6th of July for one night, The hotel was very comfortable and homely, Kath and Ian were great host, We loved our room on the top floor,it was very spacious and the shower was great after a long day at the beach.The breakfast in the morning was lovely and there was plenty of choice. Location wise this hotel is fantastic for the beach as it is only a 2min walk , what a fantastic weekend we had and thanks to Kath and Ian for hosting us. Faultless and highly recommended.

Steve & Nadia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were in Bournemouth for work, and had a great stay at the Fircliff. Large, neat rooms, and Ian and Kath were very helpful. Tip: ask them to direct you to their favourite curry restaurant nearby! Get up early one morning and take a walk down the "Chine" to the beach, even if the weather is not great, it is very peaceful with lovely trees.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alum Chine Beach House
Alum Chine Beach House
#81 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountbatten Court
Mountbatten Court
#34 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fircliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fircliff

Property: The Fircliff
Address: 29 Studland Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fircliff 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing