We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get find, lovely B&B”
Review of The Fircliff

The Fircliff
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fircliff
Ranked #72 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Get find, lovely B&B”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We travelled to Bournemouth as the weather was lovely so had a trip to the seaside. We hadn't booked but found the Fircliff and our luck found that they had a cancellation. The room was at the top of the house with a double and single bed the room was bright and airy and clean. Kath the owner was friendly and helpful and we felt welcome straight away. We had a great night sleep, and the bed was lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with cereal and fruit yoghurts etc and also a full variety of hot food, full English etc. Thanks Kath for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Great restaurant on the same round called the edge, expensive but amazing food and service. Due to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birmingham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

my wife and I stayed at the fircliff in may and had a great weekend,rooms very comfortable and breakfast was perfect,kath was very helpful on where to visit to,deff going back.area not far from the beach,loved it,and the weather was brilliant wich allways helps

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I only stayed one night when visiting family in the area. We can wholeheartedly agree with earlier reviews. Our room was at the front and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was cooked to order freshly brewed coffee. Limited offroad parking is the only minor quibble

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Foidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have stayed several times in Bournemouth due to our son being at Uni.
We have at last found somewhere we would definitely return to.
Kath, the owner is most welcoming. Our room was perfect and so comfortable. Absolutely everything we needed. Very clean too.
Room 5 guests kitchen. How thoughtful.
Breakfast was delicious, cooked fresh for you.
Had lunch at The Edge restaurant at the end of the road.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After visiting this B&B I cannot work out why it is so low down on Trip Advisor's Bournemouth B&B rankings. For me it had almost everything. I booked at the last minute and got a spacious room at the top of the premises (see photo). Amongst the positives of the B&B it had:
- Good breakfasts.
- Guest kitchen with fridge and microwave (Unbelievably rare in a B&B - but very useful)
- Free wifi
- Quiet location
- Great service
- Close to beach
- Comfortable lounge

The B&B is also close to a bus route (yellow bus 2A & 2B) and is about a mile from the shops at Westbourne.

The only downside is the limited off road parking (4 spaces for 7 rooms) such that when I arrived I had to park 2 side roads away for a few hours.

Fircliff seems to have, not surprisingly, a huge amount of returning guests, so the main challenge might actually be booking free dates.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Fircliff overnight and cannot recommend it highly enough. Beautiful house, so tastefully decorated and really comfortable - you really are made to feel right at home. Excellent room with ensuite equipped with everything you need. Guests also can use their own kitchen area which is a great idea. Kath made us feel really welcome and cooks a wicked breakfast! Great location for the Chine and away from busy Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is our 3rd visit (July 2013) to this very, very nice guest house where you are always made to feel very welcome.

The standard of the rooms are very high in a guest house that feels more like a 5 star hotel! Breakfast is a great experience with everyone's tastes catered for 100%

The location is also great with a short walk to the beach or a short walk to Westbourne, not forgetting Bournemouth directly form the beach going left or Sandbanks to your right,

From Sandbanks you can get the chain-ferry to Studlands beach or jump on the bus at Sandbanks (which also goes on the chain-ferry) and onto Swanage,(this bus service is seasonal and is called the Breezer, number 50) plus you can also get it from just up the road from the Fircliff itself.

In short if you want a friendly, clean and very well located place to stay, you won't find a better place than The Fircliff Guest House, another great holiday as always...

Room Tip: There all very well presented, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alum Chine Beach House
Alum Chine Beach House
#85 of 132 in Bournemouth
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountbatten Court
Mountbatten Court
#35 of 132 in Bournemouth
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn in the Park
Inn in the Park
#46 of 50 in Poole
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fircliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fircliff

Property: The Fircliff
Address: 29 Studland Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fircliff 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing