We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing low-budget asian-fusion food”

Bournemouth Noodle Bar
Ranked #229 of 764 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Asian, International
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing low-budget asian-fusion food”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just got back from this very nice, simply-appointed restaurant. Exceptionally located close to the station and the Wessex Way, we went in for an easy-going lunch among friends. Nice and cosy atmosphere, a few quite spacious tables, very clean all together.
We were presented with a large menu, plenty of choices for hot-pots and a large choice of cold and hot noodles, in a fusion of Chinese, Korean and Japanese recipes. A slightly reduced choice of maki/hosomaki, but when the very kind and willing-to-help waiter brought us our choice of sushi we tasted a selection of very good food, freshly made and prepared with extreme attention to detail. A nice choice of hot and cold teas, all the typical Asian beers served in iced glasses (a very important detail for us!), and we didn't have to wait a long time to taste our delicious meal. We left very satisfied with our experience, and considering the extremely cheap bill we were presented with at the end of our lunch, we will DEFINITELY come back again !! Keep up the good work !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clem_Chicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty oriental food”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had dinner here and was pleasantly surprised. You wouldn't immediately notice the place but I think that adds to its charm because inside it's spotless with a modern, contemporary look. The food itself was excellent - I asked for spicy food and had the hot sour seafood soup and the Malaysian noodles (with some smaller dishes), all of it very good. The service was good too.

Will certainly come back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“will never go in again”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Went in at 15.30 with 2 and 3 years old boys with toys.asked to not play the train on table as it will scratch it.and if we can hurry up when making order as they like to go home soon.excuse me,the sign at door is OPEN and business hours from 12.00-22.00.
How rude he(the man from kitchen) asked us hurry up as we never told they will close early when we walk in.
Then we asked’do u prefer us to leave’?...he said ’if u dont mind’.
So we just left as there is no way we go in paying for meal and get this attitude.we were recommended by a friend ,so this will out first and last.and will never recommend anyone go in there.what a horrible place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liveindorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sshhh! Don't tell anyone!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

What a gem! It's over the road from the train station and off to the left a bit - 2 minutes walk from halfrauds. Scruffy and nondescript from the outside but inside it's another story. Plainly set, full tables and brilliant food.

Forget about chinese food being stodgy and full of msg or that Japanese food is difficult to eat - this place has none of it. We started with karaage chicken (i've been telling everyone it's bukakke chicken for years and getting away with it) and teriyaki chicken. Then it was two big bowls of noodles, lovely tea - a brilliant lunch.

The food is more asian than anything. There is sushi, japanese, noodles, chinese - all sorts. The western palate may find it a little bland because it's just food that's been cooked and not messed around with. Anglosized asian food is what you're used to, this is not it. Just really good, tasty treats. Great!

Defo worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A little hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Love this little place. Friendly service and delicious sushi. Always go on a regular basis. They have a huge variety of food to choose from. Japanese and Chinese, so I find it most convenient when I want both kind of food at the same time, in one place.

Helpful?
Thank Murg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bournemouth Noodle Bar also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Bournemouth Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing