We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stay at The Mayfair every year as part of a large group; it is a lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make us welcome and accommodate our needs. We thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for The Mayfair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but it was lovely. We made a last minute decision to visit Bournemouth and we booked The mayfair due to its availability and the good reviews here on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We booked a family room and had breakfast and dinner included for £120 for me and my husband and two kids (6yrs and 2yrs).

The staff were all pleasant and helpful and proved they had fantastic customer service. From the receptionist, to the breakfast waiters, everyone was polite and eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Dinner was lovely we had salmon and potatoes and a selection of veg. Breakfast was also a relaxed setting and you had the option of continental or a full cooked breakfast.

At night it was a bit rowdy as we had a hen party who were also residing at the hotel when we were there and they did wake us up. But I guess I can forgive that. The location was great it was only 5 minutes away from the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetness428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Cannot beat location, friendly staff and EXCELLENTLY presented delicious food. Easy walk to seafront. Bus stop right outside the door. Room decor a little tired but the rest more than makes up for this. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veekayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Found it a perfect location as it is only minutes of a walk away from the beach and town centre. I've noticed many complain about the downhill walk to the beach from the hotel but it honestly is not bad at all as Bournemouth in general has quiet a few up and downhill walks. The hotel itself was a cute little place, parking was easy and though the rooms could probably do with bit more updating overall we was pleased with the cleanlinesses. If you're looking for somewhere to stay which isn't to far from beach/shops/bars/restaurants and comes at a decent price then I would definitely recommend Mayfair!! Also there are very good transportation links if need be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandyR689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed a few days for a singing Convention. All quite clean and resonably comfortable. The food and service were particularly nice, especially the evening meal. Beds a bit hard and slighly dog-eared here and there but generally quite tidy. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at The Mayfair with our Dancing Group (56 of us) We had a great time. The hotel is lovely, very clean tidy and comfortable. Also the staff are really great. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the hotel is really ideal for our type of holiday. We had use of their ballroom and music equipment each evening. The dance floor is really nice. The food was absolutely fantastic, always hot, tasty, and plenty of it. Congratulations to the chef. The hotel is in a really good position, not far from the beach or shops, and there is a bus stop right outside which was lovely for us pensioners with bus passes. Well done Alan, please pass on our thanks to all your lovely staff. We shall definately be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but if you don't like using the small lift then there are quite a few...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed recently over the weekend! Modern decor in bar and restaurant and rooms are consistent with traditional Bournemouth settings! All staff there to help and cooked breakfast is definitely one to tick on the options list! Room was clean although flooring in bathroom was a bit dated! Loved the shower. Quite noisy by the road but I'm a heavy sleeper so didn't bother me! One odd thing was the walls giving me static shocks! Overall stay was brilliant and nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#57 of 67 in Bournemouth
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 67 in Bournemouth
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing