We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff, will be booking again”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff, will be booking again”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Great customer service, clean comfortable family room for my husband myself and my 16 month old. Plenty of space for us to put the travel cot up and still move around. Bed was comfy. So glad we opted for half board, breakfast was lovely and dinner was equally as nice. They made a real fuss of my daughter, nothing was too much trouble. Prepared us packed lunches for our last day there. left car theere all day after checking out with no extra charge. Even with it being the weekend of the airshow. Will definitely be booking there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    122
    42
    12
    14
See reviews for
28
114
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Myself and my girlfriend booked this hotel,(standard double room) for just 1 night at £75 on the Friday of a bank holiday weekend.
The room itself was clean and up to date ,though a little smaller than I had hoped for and the bed was comfortable enough.
The staff were friendly and helpful,and absolutely no problem with parking we were even allowed to leave the car there throughout the following day at no charge which was great. And the wifi works fine.
On the downside,the room (35) was very hot and we had to keep the windows open throughout the night-why more hotels don't install a/c I've no idea.
We were at the top so had to use the lift frequently,but I wouldn't recommend this if your either claustrophobic or a salad dodger. And the last thing is the shower head,it looks like a frying pan and never stayed in place because of its weight-complete waste of time(though it is still possible to have a decent shower.we skipped breakfast at £7.50 pp,go to wetherspoons instead at £3.15 pp
On the whole I would recommend this hotel,but for no more than a night or 2.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

coach trip to mayfair hotel was excellent value for money food excellent staff well trained and the best weve encountered reckon the hotel chains could benefit by training their staff to this standard thanks to celsio our lookalike ronaldo keep up the good work anne and margaret

Room Tip: room 17quiet and plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here once!

I were suppose to be staying at another hotel but they had over booked! (heathcliffe) so asked me if i would mind going around the corner and checking in here, they had supposedly already negotiated the same special rate that i received within there group every week, so off we went and upon arival were met with a bemused receptionist! no we dont have any special rates she said so we ended up re-negotiating again.
If the deal had been good i would have stayed again and again...........but it wasnt!
and an easy 2 mins walk
The rooms are quite nice and there is a small bar with quite nice decor and comfy seating area.

It is close to the center and a 2 minute walk.

The breakfast is so small i dont think a mouse would pass wind after it! a small egg, 1 slice of toast, a spoon of beans and a half rasher of bacon ( unless it were a small pig it came from )

There also seems to be a few coach trips here and the car park is small when its taken up by coaches!

However if you can skip breakfast its fair to say that the rooms are better than average for Bournemouth, its a shame breakfast spoilt the overall stay.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darenrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were invited to a family get together in Bournemouth, so we needed a hotel. Being August, not much was available, but the Mayfair was in our budget.

To summarise: for the budget, good value. We paid under £120 for the room at fairly short notice.

Our room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. We were made very welcome upon arrival. All staff we encountered were friendly and polite. The breakfast was great value at £7.50 a head. And, the communal areas were very tidy and comfy. A round of 4 drinks for £11 is great value for money.

But...first, a peculiarity...I was telephoned by the hotel at 5pm on our day of check-in asking if I was still staying with them. I'd paid for the room in full up front. So why telephone? The cynic in me said an opportunity to re-sell our room arose. Anyway...I confirmed we would be there around 6pm.

My observation with our room was that its very tired. Champagne bathroom suite probably dating from the late Eighties? Needed replacing, taps losing their chrome, bath surround cracked. The bed was a bit jumped in, a very noisy mattress made for a bit of a disturbed night. A new bathroom suite, a freshen up of the room, a new bed and more contemporary furniture would give the hotel another star.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Pleasant hotel with friendly receptionist and waiters. Good size room, excellent lighting, very clean. Food was good and service fine, only criticism is that you do not expect to be served a Guinness from a can by the waiter, at the dining table!, and selection of beers poor.
We had a room at the front which is directly onto the very busy main road, so wish we had asked for a room at the rear.

Room Tip: If at front of hotel and weather hot - ie windows open - take ear plugs for nighttime
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greypowerKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Got a last minute booking for a couple of days. The hotel was full, as were many hotels in Bournemouth as this was the start of the school hols. Receptionist very pleasant and helpful but sadly the dining room staff were not up to her standards of service. Partner and I did not receive meals at the same time, and the staff gave the impression that we were just numbers. On Saturday night there was a private party in the ballroom, and we were not informed of this, and could not go to sleep until after midnight when it finished. I know that it is extra income to the hotel, but as paying guests we felt that we were being side lined. Room clean enough, but bed not comfortable. Have stayed here once before, but this time standards have dropped.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108David50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
585 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Property: The Mayfair Hotel
Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing