We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Best Location”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value & Best Location”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very Central location, Perfect for Bus Routes, Great value for money, Warming, Welcoming and extremely helpful staff (especially Carol - we were in the area searching for a new home and she was only too happy to advise us with our every question!). Would recommend staying in this hotel to anyone and would definitely visit again. We took a discounted price from a price comparison site and the standard of the hotel was great for the price we paid. Only downside was an extremely squeaky bed and floorboards so walking around and rolling over disturbed our sleep temporarily (and perhaps people next door) but it really wasn't anything to worry about. Bed was somewhat uncomfortable but not unbearable - we compromised and swapped sides each night so one could have the good side! :). We had a big spacious room too.The location is paramount to this hotel and I'm sure its success because you can literally step outside and take a bus to the centre in 3 mins, the sea front in 2 and once in the centre you can go anywhere from Poole all the way across to Christchurch. Use this hotel if you wish to travel via bus everywhere. (p.s. get the yellow card, we paid £16 each for a week and it was a bargain!). The only slight quirk (which we found amusing more than anything) was the toilet paper ration! We started out the week with 1 roll on and 2 fresh rolls waiting, which declined until on the final day we didn't have any loo roll top ups at all! Haha. We didn't eat at this hotel as we felt the price was a bit above what we could afford but there is a plethora of cheap restaurants only minutes away in the centre. Would like to say thank you very much for a more than adequate stay :) Recommend room number 5 :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLouiseGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    117
    41
    12
    13
See reviews for
28
108
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
oswestry
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stay here with my family, a 4 years old and my wife and the room was very clean and spacious. the hotel its got a car park and the location is very good as you can walk any where beach is just ten minutes so on that weekend really have a good fun.

i only pay for the room and as I can tell it was really good place to stay,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morenito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
730 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I attended a private luncheon function this afternoon. Excellent, good food, good value, good company and excellent service. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I am sure we will return again. The only downside is the limited parking, however double parking with our own party solved any problem. Some of the lounge/bar furniture was a little worn though comfortable, the toilets were immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

If you like clean, modern no frills hotels like Premier, Holiday Inn and Marriott then forget this place, as you will be sorely disappointed. If there wasn't such demand for accommodation in Bournemouth I am sure this hotel would be cheaper and / or empty. Poorly decorated, shabby decor, this is more B&B. check in 2pm, out by 10am and breakfast in an hour and a half window between 8 and 9.30am! It isn't cheap, in fact it is more expensive than a Premier. Staff were friendly but not very efficient. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank write2car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Great customer service, clean comfortable family room for my husband myself and my 16 month old. Plenty of space for us to put the travel cot up and still move around. Bed was comfy. So glad we opted for half board, breakfast was lovely and dinner was equally as nice. They made a real fuss of my daughter, nothing was too much trouble. Prepared us packed lunches for our last day there. left car theere all day after checking out with no extra charge. Even with it being the weekend of the airshow. Will definitely be booking there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Myself and my girlfriend booked this hotel,(standard double room) for just 1 night at £75 on the Friday of a bank holiday weekend.
The room itself was clean and up to date ,though a little smaller than I had hoped for and the bed was comfortable enough.
The staff were friendly and helpful,and absolutely no problem with parking we were even allowed to leave the car there throughout the following day at no charge which was great. And the wifi works fine.
On the downside,the room (35) was very hot and we had to keep the windows open throughout the night-why more hotels don't install a/c I've no idea.
We were at the top so had to use the lift frequently,but I wouldn't recommend this if your either claustrophobic or a salad dodger. And the last thing is the shower head,it looks like a frying pan and never stayed in place because of its weight-complete waste of time(though it is still possible to have a decent shower.we skipped breakfast at £7.50 pp,go to wetherspoons instead at £3.15 pp
On the whole I would recommend this hotel,but for no more than a night or 2.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

coach trip to mayfair hotel was excellent value for money food excellent staff well trained and the best weve encountered reckon the hotel chains could benefit by training their staff to this standard thanks to celsio our lookalike ronaldo keep up the good work anne and margaret

Room Tip: room 17quiet and plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piccadilly
Hotel Piccadilly
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Property: The Mayfair Hotel
Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing