We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Held our ladies weekend here for a second year what an incredible event. Staff great (and friendly), food good and well presented with a good choice. Hotel small yes but we felt this added to its charm. Will cater for any requirments if you are having a function here to ensure it goes well which it will. Very well done

Room Tip: Have stayed here three time now in differnt rooms and all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldbill30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    116
    40
    12
    13
See reviews for
28
108
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at the Mayfair hotel . The hotel where even as a driver you are treated as a guest . Excellent good, great staff, always recommend to others . To Alan and all the staff THANK YOU . See you at Easter .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Booked in for a 2night stay as attending a function. Its ideally located with plenty of parking, the food and service is very good. The hotel its self is very dated when you look at the decor, fixtures and fittings throughout. But its the bedroom that let us down. I have never had such a restless, noisey and painful attempt at a night's sleep in all my life ..the pitiful excuse of a mattress that is in room 5 is older then I am .. you feel every metal spring digging into you, then with every movement you try to avoid making, the noise (creaking) the bed makes just speaks volumes as to how old it really is. The hotels attempt at making our second night's stay more comfortable was to place a folded duvet on top of the mattress to try an give a cushioned affect ( which failed ) and to top it all off when pure exhaustion takes hold the traffic noise kicks in. Room 5 faces the main road and the windows fail in keeping out any of the road noise or noise from passers by. Its a shame because with a few changes this could be a gorgeous hotel. It's just a shame it spoilt what should have been a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We visited this hotel as a couple in a large group for Sunday lunch. Although being a large party we were split between two rooms the actual meal was very good, especially given that we had a limited choice of food which we ordered in the restaurant. The food itself was good with reasonable portion sizes and came hot to the table which is not always the case when in a large group! Service was excellent and the seating arrangement comfortable even if it did seem odd to be seated in same restaurant as "residents". The hotel can certainly be recommended for a very good Sunday Lunch at a ver reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Cannot advise on quality of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is smart, clean and comfortable. The ground floor (reception, restaurant, bar and lounge areas) has relatively modern decor. We stayed on a Tuesday, off season, so the hotel was very quiet. The reception wasn't always manned, I believe there was 1 or 2 members of staff who jumped between receptionist and bar/restaurant duties. No inconvenience really.

We got a very good deal, I think the only catch was we were put in the last room on the top floor, tucked away in a corner, where there was no lift access. I think they assumed that because we're young, we wouldn't mind climbing the last flight of stairs.

The room itself was clean, warm enough, and for the money, we certainly couldn't complain. The bedsheets were pristine, the bed itself very comfortable, and while the furnishings were slightly dated, the bed had a modern look. The bathroom was adequate, nothing fancy, no complaints. One good thing about being tucked away, was no-one in the next room, and we were far away from any noise from the streets. There was a small flatscreen TV with free view channels. Despite being on the top floor, the free wifi worked fine, if a little on the slow side.

Breakfast in the morning was good value and tasty, consisting of a buffet for continental options, and table service for toast, tea/coffee and a cooked, English breakfast.

Location-wise, the hotel was a 10-minute walk from Bournemouth pier (east), and further 10-minute walk from the bars, restaurants and so on. It was a nice night, and we wanted to explore on foot anyway, so 20 minutes to the action was no bother at all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for five nights on a business trip. From the time myself and colleagues arrive we were well looked after. We were on a full board basis and the quality of the food and selection was excellent. Some reviews say the fittings are dated, the rooms were immaculate on arrival and kept that way throughout my stay. All in all a good location and no complaints from me.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MJPGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Hotel is very pleasant. The Evening meals were excellent, Tasty & well presented. The rooms were comfortable & clean but they are a little tired & need refurbishment. The Staff were very attentive & couldn't do enough for you, especially when it came to the Ladies Festival.
My only complaints would be:

The Bar was under stocked as our party ran out of certain drinks

The cooked breakfast was small & the sausage was cheap, disgusting & tiny. There was plenty of continental Breakfast options but I prefer a good cooked Breakfast.

We were harassed to check out promptly. Which considering 50 of us had been partying in the hotel all night till the early hours spending our money with them on food & drink . a later check out & breakfast should be Standard I feel, Especially to allow for excess alcohol to clear from the guests systems.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piccadilly
Hotel Piccadilly
#48 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Property: The Mayfair Hotel
Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing