We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I only stayed for two nights but Clarice was very friendly and service was excellent including offer of drinks and coffees when we arrived and when we departed. Cafe Promenade was also fantastic! I should add that Clarice`s knowledge of the city's tourist locations, which she highlighted on a map, was very helpful and the tour she gave my husband and I in the hotel made our trip even better. We cant wait to come back!!!!
Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIDGE26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments about the team, in particular Clarisse in our bar. Clarisse won team member of the month in April as voted by her colleagues so it is fantastic to hear that her efforts have now been regonised by guests.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,564 - 2,570 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I decided to go away for a short break to experience a little bit of sun, sea and 4 star luxury. Instead we got the sun and sea, but not so much of the 4 star experience.

Negatives:
Having arrived at 12 we were a little disappointed that the hotel checking time was 3:00pm. Most hotels have an earlier check in time which we assumed was industry standard.

When we did finally check in, we were disappointed that we were not escorted to our rooms, but instead with a point of a finger and some brief directions had to make our own way.

Our door failed to open on several occasions and we were told there was a problem with the lock ' which happens often'. This was very frustrating as we had to constantly make trips to the reception to have our cards reactivated.

We felt that one thing the hotel could add to improve first impressions, would be to have useful information in the room e.g. a brochure outlining where to find extra pillows, breakfast times, hotel services etc etc. Other De Vere's hotels do this and we find it very useful. Perhaps a call from reception to find out if we were enjoying our stay. Just little things to make us feel at home.

The rooms could do with a revamp as we found the floors were very creeky and the furniture and bedding a little worn. We also felt the pillows were very small and uncomfortable to sleep on.


Positives:
Positives about the hotel was that the staff were very friendly and welcoming. It was very pleasant to walk down hall ways and have staff say "hello". We felt that was a lovely touch. We also give a thumbs up to room service who were always happy to bring soya milk to our room when needed.

The gym was a lovely treat and we felt the equipment was of a high standard and provided for an excellent work out!! The free copies of newspapers were also another positive touch. The hotel is also very close to the beach, in fact it had a prime position and was only a 1 minute walk away. This was great and allowed for early morning strolls to the beach.

The hotel gardens were well kept and inviting and made for great pictures too.
We enjoyed breakfast, there was a satisfactory selection of food.

Conclusion:

We would love to return to Bournemouth because of the variety of activities such as art exhibitions, hot air balloon, lovely beach, firework display, miniature golf, cinema, dining and very beautiful park. It really is a place full of treats.

We are still undecided as to whether we would stay at the Royal Bath hotel again, only because we felt it did not offer us a 4* star service. New furniture and small personalized touches may persuade to reconsider a second stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_n_M1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Thank you so very much for taking the time to feedback about your recent stay, yur review is very honest and frank and the points you have raised are all very constructive and can assist us in moving the business forward. Unfortuantely the commetns regarding the check in time of 3pm is a company standard and we shall look at how we communicate this to our guests more effectively. I am deligthed that our room service team were accomodating with your particular request for soya milk and that you were able to spend time here to relax in our Royal Club and use the gym. We have thought about your comments regarding the personalised service offerings and this is something we have been striving for so we will keep our focus on this with each department. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Our room looked as it has not been touched since the 60's, the service was poor at best. The whole hotel apart form the pool area needs a complete overhall. A 4 star hotel with no air conditioning? The food was terrible but a good Prezzo across the road thou. Don't bother with room service as you need to call then at least twice and then wait an age. After paying £280 a night then been asked £20 on top for parking is a liitle OTT. At very best a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Dear TA65 thank you for taking the time to feedback to us after your recent stay; however due to the level of your disappointment I am concerned that this was not addressed whilst you were still here in the hotel so we could have resolved this for you, in particular with regards to the food as we pride ourselves on our menus and I am sorry to learn that your dining experience was so very poor that you felt a highstreet chain would serve a better offering as this is not indicative of our usual high quality standards, also you have mentioned the level of service and standard of your room, it would be really useful to have more of an insight into your experience so we can resolve this for you and ensure that we move forward. If you have the time to contact my PA Kerry at: kerry.mcdonagh@devere-hotels.com I would welcome the opportunity to investigate this respond to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I booked this for my parents staying on DBB basis. I went for the day to visit them and I saw the disappointment on their faces straight away. The room was really basic and dated. They had been asked to pay the £20 car parking fee which I had pre-paid along with the accommodation and dinner as it was a present for them. The Dinner was really small portions and not great quality food, the service was awful three different waiters came to take their order. Would not recommend or return. Dinner menu was not available until 6:30pm when service started!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duff15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Duff15, I am sorry that your parents didn’t enjoy their stay. As I am sure you would agree the best way to help resolve genuine issues is at the time so we can correct any shortfalls there may be. Unfortunately that wasn’t the case. We do have a selection of dining outlets open all day should our parents have wished to dine sooner, our Beachside Restaurant is open from 9am all day, our bars are open from 8am all day serving food indoors and out, room service is also available all day, it is only the fine dining restaurant that is not open to 6.30pm. should you wish to discuss this further with me please contact my PA at kerry.mcdonagh@devere-hotels.com or 01202 555 555. Kind Regards Paul Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We chose the Royal Bath to stay overnight to celebrate my wifes birthday, as we first met there 39 years ago, and it did not let us down.Starting with a swim in the leisure suite,a very nice meal in the restaurant followed by a very pleasant evening in the bar, it was all top class.After a good nights sleep in our sea view room it was down for a superb breakfast with everything you could want and all very fresh.We had a walk round the gardens after that and both felt that we should return soon.Well done The Royal Bath

Room Tip: Try the second floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyval74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

You absolutely should come back soon, we would be delighted to welcome you back. A real pleasure to read your postitive feedback and to learn that you and your wfie met here 39 years ago and that the Royal Bath holds such fond memories for you, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Friends and I recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights as we were on a leisure break playing golf in the area. The staff were particularly courteous and pleasant. The food in Oskars restaurant was delicious and again the staff were particularly attentive. The beds offered a wonderful nights sleep, they were large and very comfortable. We could walk directly from the hotel onto the beach, via a small access route and so some rooms had excellent views of the coast. We even found time to use the swimming pool and steam room which was just right. I would use this venue again. Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your recent stay with us at the Royal Bath hotel and I shall pass your feedback onto our chefs and restuarant team in particular. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The service was awful from start to finish. The location was great. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DASMTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your recent stay, I am sincerely disappointed to learn of your concerns about the level of service you have noted as I have a dedicated team that strive to deliver a high level of service to all of our guests and your exerience is not indicative of our usual service offerings. Would you be so kind to email my PA Kerry: kerry.mcdonagh@devere-hotels.com to be more specific as to the areas of your concern as this will allow us to use your valued feedback to move forwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath Hotel & Spa

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Bath Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing