We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashion Charm”
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Charm”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here for New Year and had a wonderful stay. The Hotel has an old fashion Charm along side modern amenities. We had a very relaxing time the lounge is massive and comfortable with good views of the gardens. All food was served to a really high standard. It is close to the beach and close to shops, everything is in walking distance. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: we did pay a little extra and had sea view with balcony. the rooms on the front of the hotel would o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemcgrath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the Victorian charm of the hotel welcoming. The heritage of the hotel and its period features draw many of our guests to stay with us and we aim to ensure that these historic elements of the property are kept as a highlight for our guests. We are very privileged to enjoy our cliff top location and be so central to all of Bournemouth amenities. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    661
    591
    507
    627
See reviews for
407
1,415
83
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the royal bath with 2 close friends on a sunday night as a surprise birthday gift. We booked through spa seekers which cost £250 for the three of us, including 2 course dinner, breakfast and a treatment each in the spa. Although there was a slight mix up with our accomadation the staff were very friendly and helpfull and we were upgraded to lovely connecting rooms with sea views and a balcony. I agree with the other comments that the menu in Oscars restaurant is limited and overpriced but the food we ate was excellent! Breakfast is self serve which personaly I love as you can be as greedy as you like! There was a huge variety of hot and cold food and lots of fruit and juices.The swimming pool and spa treatments were fab and it truly was a relaxing break that we had all wanted. As i don't stay in hotels very often i find it hard to a rate it badly as a night away is what you make it. I live in Bournemouth and i would definately recommend this hotel to friends, couples and families as it's got a brilliant location and i can imagine it being beautiful in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel staff provided you with a high standard of service. I will ensure that the team here at the hotel are aware of your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in near future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Have stayed here many times. It does need serious money spent to update it, but has many positives. The staff were particularly welcoming and efficient this time, the hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the food was good. Bar menu was very limited and menu in Oscars needs changing more frequently. Thought £20 a night too much for valet parking. I usually stay 4 to 7 nights so that adds up. Had a very pleasant relaxing stay and will be happy to return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms also avoid noise from road, but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvermc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you are a regular guest with us. We are particularly proud of the level of service our staff offer and it is an area that we continually work upon to maintain the high standard of service provided for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel for in the near future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel is situated right on the seafront with views over the bay. I booked with work and it was only £63 per night (you can pick up some bargain prices mid week off season). The room I had was supurb, well furnished, very large and overlooking the sea. The hotel is very well appointed, spotlesly clean as you'd expect and the staff were polite and helpful. Hotel facilities include free wifi in the public rooms, a gym & spa (extra payment) and bar & resturant. The hotel is quite large so you may have a bit of a walk to get to the bar/resturant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. It is always a delight to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay and found our hospitality offering to be of a high standard. Guest feedback is vital to our business and is always used to help us to continue to develop our product, service and facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here 2 days ago for a Friday evening, the rooms are very large but they are so dated and run down, run the bath and the water runs brown, and you need to dance under the shower to get wet!!. The customer service was very good, but the other disappointment was the breakfast, they offer a buffet service, but the scrambled eggs look like scrambled dog food, I was told the hotel had been upgraded, but from what I can see it is still run down. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast this is the place, but hotel it is not.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicky_elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at The Royal Bath Hotel. I am very sorry to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail to ensure that we are able to improve our hospitality offering for future guests. If you wish to contact me personally , please email Louise Berkhauer my Personal Assistant on louise.berkhauer@devere-hotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you in due course. Kind regards Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the de vere royal bath for 5 nights. We paid approx £170 per night for double room ( without breakfast) The room was dirty and dated, looks like it had not been cleaned for 2 weeks. The staff are lame and the over impression of the hotel is they want you to spend as much money as possible for little return. The end price of the stay was crazy we could of gone to hyatt in Egypt for the same price, I would strongly not recommend people to stay at this hotel its a big ripoff

Just can't understand how these hotels can go on charging big prices for poor quality

Steve

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at The Royal Bath Hotel. I am very sorry to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. Guest feedback is of vital importance to our business and all the comments we receive are continually reviewed and passed through the business so that as a team we can continually assess and review our service. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail to ensure that we are able to improve our hospitality offering to the best of our ability. If you wish to contact me personally please email Louise Berkhauer my Personal Assistant on louise.berkhauer@devere-hotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you in due course. Kind regards Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Quite expensive, great location but lots of issues;

1. Way too hot in rooms and through the hotel.

2. Room service food is rubbish.

3. Hotel parking is £20 per day. Little alternative.

4. Pool for kids is only available for selected times - health club members get priority??

Don't botter going here. Find something else for the same money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FilletSteakandChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. Feedback from our customers is vital to our business and is continually reviewed in order for us to improve our hospitality offering. The comments you have made regarding the heating within the hotel and our room service offering have been noted and will be reviewed to allow us to ensure we provide an outstanding hospitality experience for our guests. Unfortunately, we do have to allocate times when children are not allowed in the pool to allow our leisure club members to use the facilities for fitness purposes, which can be difficult if children are present. This is in no way meant to exclude families and is used to ensure that all of our guests are able to enjoy the pool area fairly. Valet parking is available on a first come first served basis at the hotel and we do have an NCP car park directly adjacent to the property which many of our guests use as an alternative. Guests are more than welcome to pull onto the forecourt area to unload baggage and then park their vehicle. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay; however do hope that you will consider The Royal Bath Hotel again in the future. Should you wish to discuss your feedback in more detail, please contact my Personal Assistant Louise Berkhauer via louise.berkhauer@devere-hotels.com. Kind regards Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing