We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand old Lady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Grand old Lady”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I opted for a Kingsize room with breakfast and evening meal £145 per room. Unfortunatly the resturant is not consistent with the food, with two out of three evening meals excellent sadly on the last night the food was unedible, and having pre paid could not refuse to pay. Breakfast was consistently good and value for money. Another problem is the lift which was often not working,
There was another lift much futher away but this meant going to one floor and then walking down the stairs to the floor my room was on, When I pointed this out to reception I was told the exercise was good for me. I complained to the manager who did not appear to take my complaint seriously. I understand there will be a new lift fitted in January, so if you visit before then be aware you might find yourself walking up 3 flights of stairs, not easy if you have mobility problems. That said this is a Grand Hotel under new management and with great promise. The location is a dream with an excellent spar and swimming pool. The staff made my stay special from the moment I arrived and was greeted by the door man Brett who like the other door man (sorry cannot remember his name) were incredibly helpful and polite as were all the staff who made my stay very special

Room Tip: you cannot go wrong which ever room you choose as there is a room to suit everyone's pocket, obv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brighton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    669
    606
    518
    644
See reviews for
421
1,445
84
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel and can honestly say we will never stay here again!! We stayed at the Royal Bath back in June 2012 and were left disappointed then but due to the previous enjoyable stays we had at this hotel we decided to give it one last chance. The floor boards in our bedroom were extremely noisy due to the fact that they creaked every time one of us moved, we could also hear the floor boards outside our room in the corridor. The cold tap in the bathroom produced hot water instead of cold and the room was freezing!!! On check out my partner mentioned the hot water coming from the cold tap to the receptionist to which she replied 'YES WE ARE AWARE OF THAT PROBLEM AND HOPEFULLY IT WILL BE FIXED WHEN WE HAVE THE REFURBISHMENT IN JANUARY'. Surely as paying customers we should have been made aware of this problem and at the very least offered bottled water to drink and use to clean our teeth!!!
The spa area was however spotless and the best part of the stay. Poor service in the bar in the evening with one bar being closed.
Never again, definitely not 4 star and desperately needs that refurbishment!!!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Crowthorne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The Royal Bath Hotel is a large traditional Seaside Hotel with good facilities including a nice pool/gym/spa area. We stayed for 2 nights and found the standard double room to be clean with a comfortable bed and nice pillows. It was a bit chilly on arrival but had two efficient heaters and soon warmed up. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the road so it was a bit noisy at times.
Breakfast was the usual hot buffet style of mass catering (average) along with bread selection, pastries and cereals.
Some rooms have sea views.
The Pavillion Theatre is just across the road, the town centre shops are about 5 mins walk and there are places to eat close by.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

10 of us spent 2 nights and days here at the beginning of November some of us had much better rooms than the others not sure how they allocate these as it was a group booking of 5 rooms for B&B, my Husband and I were very lucky to have a suite which was big enough for all 10 of us to enjoy a pre dinner drink in, however my sister and her husband had what they called a broom cupboard they had to climb over each other, so its hard to give full review with such extremes, I thought the hotel was excellent in a very good position and although a very old building it still had that grand feeling, the lounge resturants spa and terrace were lovely with huge windows overlooking the gardens and coast, it was a really nice place to spend time in a group because of the large lounge and terrace areas. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast had a huge choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This a comfortable well established hotel in a great location being only a minute from the seafront and an easy walk into main shopping area. There is a large comfortable lounge and a well equipped fitness centre which includes pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and gym. Our room was both spacious, and clean. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We had previously had a number of short break holidays at the hotel and we were unsure about the change in ownership. But apart from the more frenetic breakfast, we found standards were maintained and we had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Don’t be misled by its advertised 4 star rating. This hotel is to be avoided. Sadly, it has recently been taken over by Britannia Hotels, and the recent WHICH? report shows this group to be at the bottom of the list of customer ratings. Bournemouth is overwhelmed with modern, well maintained and properly staffed hotels (with free parking) so choose one of those.
Our problems included:
- The windows in our room were so painted in that they could only be opened or closed by a staff member
- Because there is usually only 1 receptionist on duty to receive guests, check out guests and answer guests' telephone calls, the phone calls go unanswered.
- Parking costs £20 a night. A concierge parks and delivers the cars but, due to understaffing, this can be a time consuming hassle. (The public car park immediately outside reception costs £12 a night).
- Our room had no heating controls, which – coupled with drafty windows – led to a chilly and noisy night’s lack of sleep.
- No dressing gowns provided for guests.
- We needed to make amendments to our booking before we arrived. It took me weeks before I could make phone contact with the hotel.
- A fortnight before we checked into the hotel, I wrote to the Group’s Chief Executive asking him for help with communicating with the hotel about our booking. No reply was received and the hotel manager informed be that the Group has set itself a 28 day target of answering guests letters.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Paying by cash we removed the £3 charge for use of a credit card, regardless of type. The room was tired but had a delightful sea view (we asked for the view on the requests section of the booking) and all of the facilities you could want. The ensuite was clean and well equipped with bath robes, toiletries and the like. We did not make use of the room service. There is still a Victorian feel about the body of the hotel and the labyrinth of corridors is quirky, listen carefully to the instructions on how to find the room. Breakfast was self service, although the drinks were served. The choice of fayre was extensive, from full English to croissant and pastries. Most at the tables seemed to take full advantage of the help yourself for the portion sizes, including me! We also spent a bit of time in the lounge reading the papers provided. Valet parking of the car was £20 extra, it looked possible to park down the road in an unsupervised car park. We got a deal and the all-in price was £69, very good value we think. It was possible to extend the stay for another day with a 15% reduction, which we could not do but would have taken advantage of had our plans allowed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath Hotel & Spa

Property: Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Bath Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing