We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

My friends and I booked a one night bargain break and the day before departure I read several reviews and wondered what on earth had we done. But I can honestly say we had a wonderful time, the room was a nice size and clean with the normal hotel facilities, we had an English tea on arrival, a lovely evening meal and a vast choice for breakfast. The staff were all friendly and helpful, yes the eggs and bacon could have been hotter, and yes we did have to wait a little while for one main dish, and yes the staff could have spoken better English, but it is the management who should be addressing these things and not the fault of those on the front line who went out of their way to do what they could. If you want 5 star luxury you must be prepared to pay for it! I would like to thank Michelle and her colleague in the Spa who, although young, showed such skill, professionalism and maturity, they are a great asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will put a copy of your review on our staff bulletin board for all our staff to see your nice comments.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to the Royal Bath again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    645
    576
    489
    608
See reviews for
387
1,379
80
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I visited this hotel on the weekend of 2 February 2013 for a conference. The hotel is grand in stature and style; it is clear that it used to be a De Vere hotel (when that meant something)! The ballroom and other associated rooms used were magnificent, and kept clean.

Some improvements needed include air-conditioning in the smaller meetings rooms, some updated furniture in some rooms, but overall the food needs to be massively improved as it was a big let-down on the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback.

As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after years of lack of investment by the De vere group and refurbishments have already started.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

This trip was for my dads 65 th birthday and he booked it in July 2012 for feb 2013. He checked 8 times between these times that the valet parking, childrens beds etc was all in place as there was 10 of us including 4 children. Upon arrival, myself and husband and child pulled up to the pillars for the parking and had to sit on a roundabout in the middle of the road waiting for someone to park our car. Eventually that did and check in was relatively smooth. The staff said to leave the case downstairs and they would bring it up. On arriving at the room, there was no child's bed. I rang reception and finally got through and they said they'd sort it, I also chased our case as we had been here about half an hour now. After an hour (my parents were already here and waiting for us in a bar) I chased again for the 3rd time, still no case and no bed. Eventually my husband went to get the case himself as it was left in reception. When we had it, the staff rang the room to say they were going to bring it up shortly! Lying. We left to meet my dad as it was his birthday, when we got back an hour later the bed was thankfully there. When my brother arrived the staff didn't have record of his pre paid valet parking and there was a mix up there too. Evening meal was poor with a set menu and no option for children, portions were so tiny that 3 of them didn't make one normal size meal. Very bad quality meat and pre heated. Breakfast was very salty and poor quality sausages. On the Saturday night (my dads actual birthday meal) I chased the decorations we had arranged (in october and january I rang from home) for the table for the 3rd time, Melissa on reception on the Friday said it was all sorted and the hotel manager on the Saturday afternoon said he had no record of it but agreed to get some and do the table nicely. The meal again was poor and the haggis was more like cheap stuffing.puddings were very poor and help yourself and generally just poor quality food. Dad had arranged champagne for the table and they took forever getting it. The bar service was extremely poor, waiting 25 minutes to be served when only 2 people At the bar. There was no communication between the staff and two people had sent and paid for surprise gifts for my dad and both were sent to the wrong place at the wrong time with no note who they were from, the staff had no idea so dad can't thank those involved. This hotel is an absolute disgrace and ruined what should have been an amazing weekend for my family, not surprisingly it has lost a star and I'm sure it will lose more. My nieces were swimming in the pool and asked to stop playing loudly as spa customers complained. Why invite children to the hotel?? My mum received a minuscule discount not reflecting the damage caused in any way. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Having checked with the hotel 8 times to make sure there was a childrens bed in our room, there wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW77191264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after years of lack of investment by the De vere group and refurbishments have already started.

I am sorry for the lack of porterage while you were checking in, unfortunately the hotel was full that evening and with road works outside the hotel the intake of cars for the porters was high and I am sure you can appreciate there is only so much they can do at one time. However this does not excuse your luggage taking so long to get to you.

We did have a record of the table decorations for the birthday dinner as a member of sales went and purchased the items ( which was complimentary as we did not charge for the decorations) so I do not know why the duty manager has said this.

In regards to our spa facilities we do like to cater for those of all ages and we have to take into account other guest's feelings, so if the the spa staff get a compliant about the noise level then we have to follow through and ask that noise level decreases this does not mean that they have to stop playing.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay with my daughter. The hotel room was very large with lovely bay windows and a huge bathroom. The staff were very helpful and food at breakfast plentiful and tasty - lots of choice. The position of the hotel is fantastic for the town and the beach. We also had a couple of treatments in the Spa and the therapists were lovely too. Overall a fantastic stay. If you fancy a gorgeous meal and dance to a live band why not pop down the road to 1812.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for sea views and our room 131 had a large bay window with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 for a weekend break. Weather, shopping, beach, Bournemouth itself all great. Not so this hotel. It's long past its best. We had a double sea view room, could just about see the sea. There was a balcony big enough for one person with one chair. Just as well it was winter and we didn't want to subathe! Room itself was clean but dated. There is an iron and board but the iron was useless, might as well have put husband's shirt under a heavy book. Shower was more of dribble and there are gaps around the French doors making the room draughty.

We ate in Oscar's Restaurant the first night. Staff reasonably friendly but service was poor. We were given the wrong starters, which we sent back, and the rib eye steak was tough and gristly. The coffee we ordered at the end was lukewarm and so bitter it was undrinkable. We had to send this back also. I've never had to send coffee back to a restaurant or hotel kitchen before (I'm in my 60s). The waitress couldn't seem to understand what the problem was although she declined our offer to try it for herself.

As far as the breakfast was concerned, all of the produce seemed to be of the cheapest , supermarket economy type, quality including the bread, marmade, jam, etc. If you want tea or coffee the staff pour you one cup from thermos jugs and it was invariably lukewarm and of the same poor quality as the restaurant and also the tea and coffee provided in the room.

We felt the £20 per night parking charge was exorbitant, particularly as we saw the car park when we needed to collect something from the car, and it was pretty dire, Dank and dark with poorly lit stairs. We actually felt sorry for the car! However, I must say the concierge was the friendliest of all the staff we met.

Overall this hotel is way past its best and something needs to be done quickly if it's going to retain any custom. There is a Premier Inn just across the road and we felt we would have been better off staying there, both financially and for comfort and service.

PS If you like seafood try Westbeach, just past the pier on the seafront.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after years of lack of investment by the De vere group and refurbishments have already started. However if we were made aware at the time of the problem you had with the shower we would of sent maintenance up straight away to rectify the issue. I do apologise if you felt the restaurant staff were disorganised, if you We do have to charge for the car park as it is valet and secured parking with CCTV however guest's can park in either NCP car parks which are located near the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I have now seen a lot of the reviews posted for the hotel and would somewhat disagree, we as a couple visited the hotel for the first time in September 2012 as a treat for my 50'th birhday and if we had taken note of the reviews posted we probabley wouldn't have gone. However we did, and how glad we were we had a brilliant time the staff were attentive and extremely friendly and hard working, special mention to Brett who parked our car etc. (just need to treat them how you would like to be treated).

We have now returned on group-on and found that to be an amazing deal you can't go wrong and the staff where just the same absolutley excellent, okay the hotel may need a little bit of TLC but who goes away for a relaxing break to take pictures of paint peeling off banisters it's all about other things !!.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had stayed in the Royal Bath a few times. It was the best hotel in Bournemouth. However that was before its takeover by Britannia hotel group. What a shame! Food was poor - quantity over quality. Any nice frills have gone to save money. It's a great travelodge and if that's what u want then great but it was such a shame to see cobwebs, mass catering, slamming of doors, no toiletries, having to pay for a towel in the pool (doubt the pool will be open for long as they will see it as an expense).

It's such a wonderful location and was so fantastic before the takeover. Felt sorry for the building and for what it once was.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minime31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Bath Hotel, we do appreciate guest feedback and comments. The charge for the pool towel has always been a £1 even when it was aDe Vere Hotel and when asked we do urge guests when booking to bring their own swimming towel so they don't have to pay for hirer. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after years of lack of investment by the De vere group and refurbishments have already started.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing