We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customers fault!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Customers fault!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

The Royal bath .... Should drop the royal as it is an insult to the queen. Do not stay here and expect the best. You will get 3 star
The food is the worst and I think you'll get better at the local greasy spoon
However what do we want for £54 half board? Our constant pursuit for cheap cheap.
The spa facilities are good, which was their only saving grace. Real pity for this historic hotel. If you are not using the spa then I suggest you stay at the premier inn

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyattbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear hyattbabe
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    640
    570
    486
    600
See reviews for
382
1,365
79
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new forest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Having been a frequent visitor to Bournemouth since a child I had wished I could stay at The Royal Bath hotel. Well last weekend that wish came true, and sadly I was disappointed. It all started at checkin we arrived just prior to 3pm, and was 4th in the queue on my arrival at the desk the receptionist went through the procedures and then said the room wasn't available yet I had also paid for overnight parking and she informed me if we waited outside the door a porter would collect our car. As she had also told me to wait in the lounge and somebody would let us know when our was ready I left my husband to wait for the porter; some 10mins later my husband came in to tell me there was not any room in the hotel carpark, and he had to find a space in a public park ( thankfully it wasn't raining ). I then joined the queue to receive my refund (5th in queue ) for the parking fee, and was told the room still wasn't ready,and to come back to the desk later. At 4pm my husband queued, and was finally given a key.
There was a time when the Royal Bath was the most prestigious hotel in Bournemouth sadly now it needs a large dose of T L C the bedroom was of a good size, but the decor tired and as we were on the ground floor I felt the lack of a curtain ( although the bottom half of the window was frosted) disconcerning.
On the upside our evening meal, and breakfast were good, however that didn't make up for the poor customer service and room

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabethCalmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear elizabethCalmore

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after many years of lack of investment by the De vere group and refurbishments have already started. However I am sure you can appreciate this does take time.

I am sorry to hear that you found our Reception team rude and unhelpful and we shall do an investigation in to this as we do not tolerate bad customer service from our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to the Royal Bath again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I booked a two day stay for £151 which included a valentines meal, breakfast on both days and a bottle of champagne with chocolates in the room. We had been a little worried by all the bad reviews on this site but I really don't know what people expect.This is a victorian hotel which was very clean and a little worn in places. Upon arrival we booked in and the concierge was extremely helpful. I had decided to park on Eastcliff Road, which is the next turning on the right of the hotel as you go up the hill. It is only £3.00 for eight hours parking. The parking hours are from 9am to 5pm and if you purchase a ticket which takes you over 5pm the time will carry on the following morning. (much better than paying £12 per day during the week and £20 at weekends) The room we were given (132) was clean and tidy if a tad small. The only thing that let it down was the lack of storage. For some reason they are updating and have removed the bedside drawer units and replaced them with two glass tables with one shelf which made the room look untidy once you had put all your bits and bobs on them. The champagne and chocolates were in the room waiting for us. The spa was clean and tidy. The staff in there very helpful. All the facilites were working and its a great place to relax. One small issue was the fact that people think its acceptable to wander through the hotel in wet towels and bare feet which is more a customer problem. The valentines meal was ok but we waited nearly an hour for our main course. The waitress apologised and explained there had been a mix up with the tables. The food was not of the quality that I was expecting. Breakfast on the following morning was excellent. Its buffet style and everything was labelled. There was a vast choice of food and the staff regularly checked that it was well stocked. Overall I enjoyed the stay. Value for money. They seem to have had some teething troubles after the takeover working hard to put those right. I think people like to complain about the smallest issues. Surely its better to be thankful for what you have. You certainly could not get a hotel in a better position. Bournemouth itself is very good and the weather we had was excellent so all in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkiwheaton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear vikkiwheaton4

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. I will put a copy of your review on our staff bulletin board for all our staff to see your lovely comments.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to the Royal Bath again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful historical building, we have stayed before when it was a devere hotel , what a shame a budget hotel group have taken it over with no idea how to service good paying guests who won't return due to incompetent staff and some of the worse food we have ever experienced in any hotel, our rooms were 90 minutes late , the rooms were fine we had 2 adjoining rooms with a private lobby on the 3rd floor with balconies over looking the best view in Bournemouth. There is no communication between booking and the restaurant, we pre paid for wine at the time of booking, trying to get this and explain this to the staff was impossible, every time we mentioned anything we were asked if we were on a groupon deal which we weren't and why this had any relevance to our experience at the hotel I don't understand. Basically this hotel is in a prime location and the executive rooms are fine, book room only, the food is awful, the leisure facilities are good, the building is charming and we had a great weekend , our rooms were great and the location perfect , the hotel group will not be able to keep up the reputation of what was once an amazing hotel, the standards have been lowered considerably and they are happy to attract a different clientele with all there cheap budget deals , such a shame

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear mick b

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after years of lack of investment by the De Vere group and refurbishments have already started.

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us, however if you had spoken with the duty manager about the problems you were experiencing we could of rectified the situation.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel.We had been previously when The Royal Bath was owned by DeVere and had a fantastic stay which is why we returned.Unfortunately this beautiful building is now tired and shabby,the rooms are dirty and showers completely useless.The staff although quite pleasant are all foreign and don't understand what you are asking which caused complications and took ages to check in.The standard of food is poor and the dining room staff are unorganised,slow,untidy and again foreign so do not understand what you ask.We returned home very sad that such a once first class Hotel has been so badly neglected.Shame on Brittania.

Room Tip: Stayed at cleaner Premier Inns so would not pay more than they are charging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Rachel J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after years of lack of investment by the De vere group and refurbishments have already started.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Me and my fiancee stayed here for one night before travelling back home. We thought for £120 we would get a good room but when I walked into the room I was instantly dissapointed. The part of the hotel we was sent off to turned into what looked cheap nasty wing with a horrible jumpy elevator. Our room had a huge crack in the cealing through the light/fan which made me scared the thing could come down on us and the bathroom looked old and nasty with rust. Not at all impressed for the price we payed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zcs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Zoe S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. As you know we have been taken over by Britannia Hotels, they intend to invest a large amount of money into the property after many years of lack of investment by the De Vere group and refurbishments have already started. However I am sure you can appreciate this does take time. However if you had spoken with the Duty Manager about your dissatisfaction about the room we could of rectified the situation by moving you to a different room.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

A small group of us visited this afternoon for tea and cake after a visit to the Russell Cotes. We were shocked to find the 3 staff members behaving rudely and thoroughly unhelpful. We asked what cakes were available. The first answer was 'I don't know, I'll check.. there is Victoria Sponge' .. when we went to order we were bemused to be told that the cake was chocolate only. Then we were informed that no Earl Grey tea was available and that we were unable to order cake as there was NONE available!! One of our group bravely ordered a cream tea. The dried up scones arrived with a mountain of jam and a bit of cream .... but..... NO TEA AT ALL! By this time we were so amused that we were all laughing at the total ineptitude. We asked where our friend's tea was only to be growled at by the grumpy waiter who aggressively pointed at some stewed vacuum flasks clearly left over since breakfast. ABSOLUTELY DIABOLICAL and really rather funny if it wasnt so sad :-D

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MiniKingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear MiniKingman

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Royal Bath Hotel. We appreciate guest's comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear that yourself and your group did not enjoy afternoon tea with us and found our staff to be rude. We have appointed a new bar manager to make sure the running of the bar area and bar food run smoothly.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and again I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations but we hope you will allow us to rectify your impression you hold of the Royal Bath Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing