We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Bath Hotel many times over the last decade. We arrived on the early May Bank Holiday Sunday having paid for an early check-in but the room was not availalble until after 2pm. Staffing levels were low and service very slow. We ordered sandwiches to be left in our room whilst we went to see a show at the Pavilion so we could eat later in the evening, but they were not delivered.
We had a couple of days of very good weather so were able to sunbathe in the lovely garden, but service was still slow,eg, it took 2 days to get extra pillows in our room. Breakfast was cold, poorly staffed and with poor quality. Stopped drinking the coffee and the orange juice was poor. Someone kept changing the settings on the toaster, so it was either black or just warm bread!
In summary, a resonable hotel with a very good location but only go on a good deal and do not expect the best of service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnL001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear JohnL001

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath hotel. I do apologise you found our quality of service to be poor. This matter has been brought to our General Manager who will be conducting further training to ensure better quality of service.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have appointed a new Head Chef to improve the quality of the food and we have a new Restaurant Manager to improve the service.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,911 - 1,917 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

No wfi available- the receptionist put me on to an 'expert', via telephone but wasted 20 minutes not being able to solve the problem.
Room was shabby and needed an upgrade and unless you are over 5 feet ten you can't reach the windows.

Breakfast was dreadful!!! Most of it cold; VERY cheap coffee [we changed to tea].
Dinner was poor; fish over cooked and had to be sent back [this was our guests' food!]. Restaurant service was DREADFUL; had our starters and they started to bring our main course before they had cleared the table and some had not finished the starters so when the food did arrive it was cold! The food at best was mediocre.

All this and no parking!

Room Tip: yes, use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bloodeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear bloodeagle

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath hotel. I am sorry you found the WIFI to be out of use but we do in fact offer the service. We do have a WIFI company, which supplies the hotel hence why the receptionist passed you through to them, as they would have needed to determine if in fact the problem was the WIFI or the computer.

I am sorry you did not find the hotel to be the same as it was 30 years ago. We are currently doing a multimillion-pound refurbishment on the hotel after years of lack of investment from the previous ownership.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have appointed a new Head Chef to improve the quality of the food and we have a new Restaurant Manager to improve the service. However we do have another restaurant which yourself and your partner could have dined in which is Oscar’s Restaurant. Oscar’s Restaurant is an a la carte restaurant.

We do in fact offer on site valet & secure parking at the charge of £20.00 a night.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

When we arrived we were immediately impressed by the location and the professional valet staff. Although it cost £20 a night to valet park it was worth it not to have to worry to keep feeding meters. Our room over looked the sea and the view was amazing. The hotel location is location - it is so central - ideal. Granted the hotel is a little tired and the furniture in the room was dated but that did just add to the charm of the place. Loved the fact you could bring your dog and would recommend the hotel. Our dining expereince was a little awful to be honest on the first night - I think we were just unlucky as it was bank holiday and the staff were awful - we actually thought we were staying at Fawlty Towers. Adam the Duty Manager did help sort out the situation but he was having a stressful day I think bought on by his staffs lack of understanding the English language. However, on the second night there was a new team on duty and they were much more on the ball.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - there is a lift and you won't have any creaky floor boards abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear sharon_farmer

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel, we are currently doing a multimillion-pound refurbishment on the hotel after years of lack of investment from the previous ownership.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have appointed a new Head Chef to improve the quality of the food and we have a new Restaurant Manager to improve the service.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is like a grand old damme. It's oozing in character but showing signs of it's age. Since it's change of ownership it appears to be lacking any investment and savings appear to be made by sacrificing service quality. The quality of food in the restaurant on any special offer deal is good but quantity is lacking.
The staff are all very helpful and try to make your stay enjoyable but don't expect a 4 star experience. If you get a discounted offer then enjoy the location, soak up the art deco style and take advantage of the leisure facilities you wont be dissapointed then.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel if you want absolute peace and quiet otherwise you will get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 956Jonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear 956Jonno

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath hotel and I am happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay. We are currently doing a multimillion-pound refurbishment on the hotel after years of lack of investment from the previous ownership.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Bath hotel over 20 times in the past, but never since they changed management. When it was a DeVere hotel, this was the place to stay in Bournemouth. Very grand, very attentive descrete service, fine dining, a bit of luxury on the south coast.

The same cannot be said now it is managed by Brittannia Hotels.

Whilst the hotel still has the great suites, which are very clean and comfortable, the hotel seems to have lost its glamour.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, when you can stop them. They are worked to the bone, rushing everywhere, very shortstaffed.

The main problem with the hotel is the food. Awful, just awful. BUT, I would still recommend taking a DBB break, as it is actually cheaper than booking room only!

Nice hotel, nice staff, great location, comfortable rooms, eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackfred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear jackfred_11

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and I am happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have appointed a new Head Chef to improve the quality of the food and we have a new Restaurant Manager to improve the service.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Royal Bath on around 10 occasions over a 20 year period.

We went on the May bank holiday in 2013 - our first visit under new owners Brittania. It was awful.

The hotel looks tired and is in serious need of a refurb. The lino floor tyles in the bathroom had come loose, and the carpet thread bear. The room wasn't very clean either.

We arrived too early for all rooms to be ready. One of the rooms was, so we put all the bags in the one room, got the room numbers for the other two and were told to present them at reception later in the day when the receptionist would give us the room cards. On arrival at the desk, one of the other rooms was ready, but the other we were told had been given to someone else as we had not checked in!!!!!! We advised the receptionist we had - at 11am - and given the room number! After a lot of faffing around, they gave us another room on the 5th floor. The bed had not been made up and room had not been cleaned so we had to wait around for this to be done (the receptionist actually went up and did it).

We then went to the restaurant for our evening meal. There were around 3 waiters in total and the food was all self service. No one came to take a drinks order. We had to ask three times to get a bottle of wine and when it did come out, the red wine was very cold.

There was an alternative restaurant where you could pay extra to dine in. We asked 3 people if possible for us to dine in there and were told 3 different things. One of which we discovered meant we should have dined in there anyhow as we were not on a groupon voucher! However, they could not accomodate an early enough time for us to get to the Pavillion Gardens in time to see a show, so we were given £17 back per person for the lack of an evening meal.

Breakfast was worse. There was no tea or coffee on the first morning. We asked but only got some off the waitress when we'd all finishing eating. On the second morning, it was self service for tea and coffee but they ran out of cups. We saw guests waiting for 10 minutes by the toasting machine, waiting for bread.

When we finally tried to check out, a lady told us there was no need to check out and just leave our cards on the reception desk. When asked how they would charge us for the drinks we'd had, and car parking, we were told it would all get sorted. We had to push to actually get a receipt, and when we did, we had to inform them that our car was in their valet car park which they didn't know.

What was supposed to have been a routine, pleasant holiday, turned in to a bit of a Faulty Towers experience that we will end up laughing about in years to come.

They are massively under staffed, and the staff who are there are under trained, and the former glory of the the DeVere run hotel has long gone I'm afraid.

The only thing it has going for it, is it's location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkywalkerDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear SkywalkerDerby,

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath hotel and I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had spoken to the General Manager at the time we could of rectified most of your issues you had during your stay.

We are currently doing a multimillion-pound refurbishment on the hotel after years of lack of investment from the previous ownership.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is ideally situated for both sea front, pier and shopping. It's imposing looking has a good indoor pool and gym. There are large comfortable lounges and a good size dining area for the buffet style meals. Food was plentiful and varied for breakfast, with the one omission being the fried slice which did not appear at all. Dinner had less choices but was tasty and plentiful. What did let it down was the staff who appeared to have little idea as to how to cope with a bus load as they were quite unused to this type of clientele having considered the hotel to be more upmarket. .They failed to put out the correct serving utensils. At one time they laid out butter portions which people were picking up with their fingers until we asked them for a fork. Urns of coffee and hot water for tea were put out, but there were sometimes no tea cups, no tea bags and the milk was some distance away. One evening a young man decided to serve the items on the buffet to each individual including the meat and vegetables so the next person had to wait until all choices for the first had been made. This rather defeated the idea of a buffet. One night they had no idea of the time and that the restaurant should have been open. These are only niggles and on the whole things sorted themselves out, probably due to the experiences of regular coach travellers.
Our room was a good size with plenty of storage, with a nice size bathroom, well furnished and clean and towels were changed regularly. My wife and I found the bed a little firm for our liking but I asked for and was given an extra blanket and slept better on top of the quilt covered by the blanket.
We both however enjoyed our stay and said we would be quite happy to stay there again, and I have recommended it to a friend who is shortly going to Bournemouth. It should however give up it aspirations to be a four star hotel and realise that coach parties will keep it in guests particularly out of season.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front with quite a busy road but we found the traffic noise no problem. I did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigunWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear bigunWellingborough

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have appointed a new Head Chef to improve the quality of the food and we have a new Restaurant Manager to improve the service.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath Hotel & Spa

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £29 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing