We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen better days”
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I got a voucher deal for this place for a pre Christmas break with my mother. For what we paid it was acceptable, but had we paid the advertised price I would have been seriously unimpressed! Main points:

Good
- Location excellent
- Lovely sea view
- Main areas of hotel attractive and well kept
- Food was good, especially breakfast

Bad
- £20 additional charge for car parking
- Extra charge for towels in the spa
- Jacuzzi and steam room not working when we visited, and spa overall not warm or very nice, especially showers
- 5 am fire alarm went off, no acknowledgement of this or apology
- Service overall pretty poor

It is a beautiful building and the main areas were lovely, but despite the hotel being almost empty we had been put in a room in what was clearly the down market wing - the actual room was nice but the (long) corridors and stairs leading to it were a total maze, poorly signed and got shabbier the further into the hotel you got. The spa could be lovely but it was barely functioning, shabby and poorly heated during our visit. Extra charges for towels and parking felt like a rip off and not in line with the standard of hotel we had been expecting. This place could be lovely but it needs to up its standards and is in dire need of some TLC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    650
    582
    491
    609
See reviews for
391
1,388
81
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
poole
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent a night at Royal bath hotel on a cheap night break .
for the price an excellent choice - our room, cosy double was perfectly adequate and actually not as small as expected but I guess only double bed. great sea view was a pleasant surprise.
staff were all very professional and well trained. major let down was the quality of food and drinks. the breakfast restaurant and main bar are still lovely locations if in need of some re decoration.
However, a 4 star hotel cannot continue to serve the food they do if they want to retain customers. A watered down or squash like orange juice, tea served in a flask - stewed and watery. the buffet breakfast was tinned fruits and hot breakfast was watery mushrooms, poor quality sausages and bacon etc etc. really not good enough for a 4 star hotel and if I was a business customer I would not return. Why do hotels not understand how important food is?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have stayed here before Britannia took over the hotel when is was a good place to take a short break, but not anymore....Check in was laughable. After driving two hours you are met with a woman who is "in training" which meant she just stood there and couldn't do anything.My partner and I stayed for 2 nights 13/14th December. The room was tired and shabby. Clean, comfortable bed though. The pool area was run down and the overall Spa amenities were poor to say the least. There was little in the way of service at the bar of an evening. One over worked young foreign woman who did her best. The breakfast service has gone way down. On Sunday morning the sausages were inedible and would have given me food poisoning, I could not eat them. Tea and Coffee are served in plastic flasks, the really cheap sort, and their contents are of a similar standard.

I will never return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Shabby rooms, staff do not care and are unhelpful. Pool area dirty and sauna etc not working. Dirty crockery left for hours plus in Lounge Bar, No room service available and had not been for 10 days. Receptionist said in poor English "I know not why that is", Lounge Bar staff could not order food on my account because Reception had not swiped my credit card. I said this was not my fault as I was not asked for it. Her reply "It is not my fault either". Direct quote from arrogant member of staff. Generally shabby and staff very unhelpful.

Room Tip: Inspect room first before paying.Visit Spa and Lounge Bar before paying. Speak to guests there befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We grabbed a Groupon deal for one night, we have stayed at this hotel previously prior to the 'Brittania Group' now owning it. Nothing has changed regarding the hotel itself but the staff are definately better and much more accomadating. Gary the valet was so friendly and helpful, and under such pressure at peak change over times. The hotel in its day must have been spectacular and could be again, but knowing the 'Britannia Group' it will stay very basic and under staffed. Thats their business plan and it works for them, albeit a shame to see it turned into another bargin basement hotel. Brittania please make it your flagship hotel and bring back the glamour!

Other points are that the buffet was inedible due to the fact that there were so few people staying at the hotel that the food was sitting under heat lamps for hours prioir to being eaten.

For what we paid i think it was fair, yes I'd return but it won't be our first choice, it needs bringing into the 21st century and yet bringing back the glamour and style of days gone by.

Oh the parking charges are far too expensive!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights end November. No water, no internet, no heating and windows jammed open!

Our room was very small so we aked for a larger one, but told all same size, but our friends whom we suggested hotel to came for one night and their room was twice the size!

Nothing could be charged to the room and had to be paid in cash on the spot, even the £20 per day for parking.

When we complained we were told there were no complaint forms, the manager was unavailable and we were given a false email address for customer services.

In the latest correspondence, the manager has responded not by answering our issues, but saying they cannot find our booking, even though we gave them them the reference number, dates and room number.

A hotel to be truly avoided if you want a relaxed enjoyable time. Years ago the hotel was very good, but now it's downhill all the way!!

Room Tip: Don't accept what the receptionist says, that the rooms are all of the same size and quality. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara and Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing