We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst experience of my life”
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the worst experience of my life”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Here is a copy of the e-mail I sent but received no responce. About sums it up.

Dear Sirs,

Just wasted celebrating new years at your Royal Bath Hotel in Bournemouth.
We were a group of ten, five rooms two of them being suits

We have never experienced such a shabby, unorganised Hotel such as this.

We checked in and received a drink that was branded as a Bucks Fizz which tasted of out of date orange juice, we were taken to our so called suit (room 167) which was a very poor excuse for a room let alone a suit. The furnishing was something that my grandmother would have thrown out whilst the bathroom was so small only one person could enter at a time, as for going to the toilet you would have to manoeuvre or reveres in whilst avoiding the tot towel rail the shower was nonexistent and the mixer tap would not mix whilst the hot water temperature was hotter than the tea you served.

The curtains would not block out the twenty four hour lighting for the pool entrance which in fact was closed most of the time.

We visited our friends suit (No.45) which they were complaining of being tired but compared to our room was a palace, room to move around the lounge, fridge, water provided and bath robes all of which should be in any room but you show that these items are only provided with a suit. None of these items were in our room, when we asked for the robes and water we were told that there were not available until the following day and that water would be brought up with a charge.

We asked to change rooms but your so called manager advised that you were fully booked. I understand that your hotel has five suits three of them are actual original suits and the other two have been bodged to make so called suits one of them being our room.

Breakfast and lunch looked and smelt like school dinners, we wanted to check out the same day but we were committed with our friends so stayed a night and had new years eve at the hotel where we were told that we could not have a table of ten in your restaurant as we were not a group booking, we informed them that we were but there response was that we had paid separately so could only have five tables of two.

The food was served cold and was sent back with no apology and returned nuked by a microwave which again was inedible, so that was two nights we had not eaten, luckily we pre-empted this and had a good lunch in the town.

We spent most of the evening in the reception lounge with sofas so tired we were almost sitting on the floor, we had to translate and show the barman what the liquors we were ordering looked like and even had to get behind the bar to reach the bottles.

We had asked a couple of employees what was happening within the Hotel and no one seemed to know, they only knew what their personal roll was.

I can assure you quite a lot of your guests were very unhappy and like us would steer well away from your so called Hotels.

By the end of a disasterace new year we checked out on new year's day one day early, I couldn't be bothered to argue with the receptionist about a refund as it was apparent she nor anyone ells in the Hotel had the power to make any decisions as there were a couple of guest complaining abbot windows not working the pool being closed etc on new year's day and to cap it all there was no maid service on new year's day? The whole idea of taking a brake is to pamper and enjoy yourself.

We left on the morning of new years day having smelt the so called brunch being served which looked like dried up food from the day before.

Our friends had to stay the duration as they were going on from there but when they did leave one of the cars parked with yourselves was damaged. That about caps in all.

I am sure I have missed most of the problems at this Hotel but it has taken me this long to calm down and express our disappointment, this is the only word I can use without being rude.

I have never commented on any of our trips before in my life but this was just a totally unacceptable and a rip off.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    650
    582
    490
    609
See reviews for
390
1,388
81
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very disappointed booked this stay for husbands 50th birthday, small but clean room which is fine but to look out of the window you needed to climb onto a chair then we overlooked the roof, room above very noisy dragging furniture about until late into the night, Buffet dinner not very good my husband is a vegetarian not much there for him, salad and pasta all not very warm. Its such a shame because the staff were very nice hotel looked great from the outside and great location. Shame because I would not recommend staying here and I certainly wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locks Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from a stay at this hotel, and it was not a great experience. The hotel is in need of a good refurbishment. I'm sure in its heyday, it was very impressive, however, its been sadly neglected. Our room was tiny, reasonably clean, but certainly not 4 star. The buffet dinner wasn't good, I wish we gone out and eaten. The service was appalling, we weren't even shown to our table. Just told ' to find a table'. Breakfast wasn't much better, long queues, cold food, and we had to had to wait for certain items as they had run out. Thank goodness for a gorgeous sunny day yesterday and a great walk on the beach. Parking is also an issue at the hotel, you pay an extra £20 to park, if there's a space available! Unfortunately there wasn't one for us, and we had to drive around looking for a car park that wasn't full. So if like us, you're not familiar with the area, check out car parks before you arrive. Thankfully this was a groupon deal, so it wasn't a great expense. However, had we paid full price, we would have been furious. I would not recommend staying at this hotel and certainly wouldn't stay there again. Shame because the building itself and the location near the beach is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booked a two night stay at this hotel but it was so bad we only stayed for one night and lost the money parking has already been mentioned but the reception staff were very shabby in dress and nature when we got to the room it was very tired looking and in need of a deep clean but had a great view and so we thought ok only to realise no heating I phoned down to reception only to be told there was no maintenance person but we could have a heater delivered to the room Gary who is the only bright spark in this place duly brought us a heater, later we went down for a drink into the cold dark miserable lounge but decided NO and went out to a local Italian (fantastic place called Enzee) which cheered us up a little the final straw was breakfast NO orange juice when I asked for some was told No and when I started to eat breakfast the sausage was rancid I spoke to other guest who had left the sausages as they felt they were off also this is possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in and left that afternoon with no goodbye have a safe journey mentioned by reception I am sure there are a lot better hotels in Bournemouth and hope to find one at a later date.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penleen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

had a wonderful stay recently when visiting family. Had booked a D,B&B with access to leisure facilities. Room great with sea view, wonderful buffet dinner in the evening and breakfast as well. Family came and joined us in the large lounge area for the evening and we did not feel overheard or crowded while we caught up on the year. The only reason I haven't given it a 5 rating was the leisure facilities let us down. They had a large pool, jacuzzi, steam, sauna etc and it would have been great arriving later in the day to use for longer. When we went down at 5.40 excepting it be open until 8pm we were told it was closing at 6 due to staff shortages. We were not alone in being disappointed at the early closing time. Also the car park is expensive £20 to have it parked underground at the hotel for the night yikes!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMoore40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

the hotel has been taken over by a new group and being regular visitors to the hotel we have noticed (with sadness} its decline due to lack of bookings the oscar restaurant is closed (this restaurant was the most romantic place we have been) We stayed on a saturday night and although there were around 20 of us in the bar area they pulled the shutters down at 11.30pm there is a lovely after hours late bar opposite oscars restaurant but sadly that is closed as well i did find the staff very friendly and efficient and you will not find a better location. we will continue to stay at this hotel but its a real shame hows its changed

Room Tip: room 61 is very quiet and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife and son on a pre-booked Twixmas break 27-30 December, dinner, bed and breakfast. We paid for a sea view room, the twin beds were comfortable and the room was warm. Our son had a ground floor double, which had no heating but he is young and it did not concern him. As already reviewed by others the cooked breakfast food tastes insipid, and is mostly cold, and the 'hot' buffet style dinner 'package' that we paid for for three nights was dreadful (cold, undercooked, stodgy), basically like school dinners, so we did not eat there after the first evening, and received a very ungenerous refund for the meals we did not take. Best things were the comfortable beds and the leisure facilities (pool). Worst were the food, and some reception staff who could not be bothered.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing