We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear oh dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear oh dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival the hotel couldn't find my reservation so I had to wait 45 minutes for them to find it, in that time I heard guest after guest complain on everything from a room with no windows to leaking taps and refusing to eat in the hotel as their experience was so bad. The staff seem utterly clueless and the maintenance staff seem to have gone awol. Charging to use a credit or debit card is a disgrace. My room near the pool stinks of chlorine and is the size of a stamp. On my way out to dinner I could hear the shouting between the reception staff and yet another unhappy guest halfway down the corridor. This was once a beautiful hotel now it's just poorly run and shabby, what a shame.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IHGtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    645
    577
    489
    608
See reviews for
387
1,380
80
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaview, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Husband and I had 4 nights at the Royal Bath to unwind following our daughters wedding. We had a problem with the windows not closing when we arrived and were immediately moved to a new room which had views over the gardens and to the sea. Clean room, good breakfast, helpful staff, yes its a bit tired round the edges but for the price we paid we had no complaints at all. Good position for getting around Bournemouth

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook the gardens and sea. Front bedrooms overlook the road and its busy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

my partner and I recently spent a romantic break at the royal bath hotel in Bournemouth , the hotel has that old warm feeling about it and nice touches like when you park outside the porter will collect your bags and take them into the hotel for you while you go and check in , nice touch , the room we had was very nice with a sea view , the food was amazing , so I decided to treat my partner to a spa day a full body massage , nails all the trimmings , before she had her treatment we used the pool , seam room and hot tub , this is where things started to go wrong , first the pool we felt was on the cold side so was the hot tub , I went to see the leisure manager was like talking to a wall , all he said was no body else has complained I felt this fell on deaf ears , I get the feeling all he wanted to do was to get back to talking to his staff , so it was now time for my partners treatment , all I could think about was please please be good , well the look on my partners face said it all , she said it was one of the best massages she has ever has well it must have been good because she fell asleep , the therapist whos name is Claire was outstanding in every way she looked the part very very professional explained everything to my partner every part of the treatment very polite, I must say we will return to the royal bath, but only for myself to have a massage from Claire , she is a credit to the hotel , as for the leisure manager he could with a course on talking to people .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My boyfriend decided to book us a hotel room which he required to have a balcony attached to as well. When we got to the hotel, however, we searched for the room for around half an hour as there were no clear directions to it. As when we had found it, the room was tiny, had no balcony which we required for another £20 on top of the price we were normally expected to pay. No hair dryer like it said it'd have in the brochure on the desk, and also having to fill up the kettle with water from the bath as there was no proper drinking water provided. I felt disappointed and let down because what we originally wanted never became the reality we expected and we were left with a mediocre room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amycharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited this hospital on a deal that included a mini manicure or facial, bottle of wine, afternoon tea, buffet dinner, breakfast and overnight stay. It was a lovely hotel and the food was great. Excellent value for the money we paid. Great location, our room had a sea view. Would love to go again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairladyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islington London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before, the rooms are large and quite old fashioned but lovely and the room we stayed in had the sea view the sound of the sea at night was really lovely. The staff are pleasant and the bed was really comfortable, breakfast was self service but really nice food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view higher up in the hotel 3 4 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squizzer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel expecting a 4 star service ,very disappointed should have been 1 star rating .staff had a take it or leave it attitude ,hotel living in the past as Oscar Wilde was the last celebrity guest to stay here and he said ,even then 'either the wallpaper goes or I go '
The parking was very expensive at the hotel , best park next door for £12.50 24 hrs, The swimming pool looks like it should be closed down and the hotel will charge you for the use and use of towels if you dare enter. The hotel could be good ,as in good location but needs complete revamp . Book at you peril.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brightonpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing