We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded beauty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Faded beauty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location. Near beach, parking and BIC. Had to wait more than 1 hr to have prepaid hotels.com reservation sorted out. Sand on floor in room for 3 days, despite complaint first day. Hotel is shabby and worn. Old furniture. Old bed. Poorly cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geir_Alesund_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    640
    570
    486
    600
See reviews for
382
1,365
79
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bad Bits:- Tired, expensive, some of the hot buffet wasn't hot, no free parking
Good Bits- Location, Location, Location. Valet parking although £20 per night was simple and a good addition. Helpful staff, Breakfast had plenty of room and tea and coffee service was great (served in thermos jugs which were kept on your table), We got their at 9am to park car, and as room was not used previous night were allowed to check in immediately- that kind of bespoke service made a real difference.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geesus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

2 nights stay was very pleasent,our sea veiw room was clean and plenty of space, food OK... hotel is starting to need a make over but apart from that all ok.The hotel does have very nice gardens and you can access the beach from them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcIngram26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Royal bath hotel for a short break to Bournemouth.You couldnt ask for a better location.Beach to your right and shops /theatre /cinema to your left.We paid around £80 for the room and £20.00 parking a day (in hotel carpark).We thought the hotel itself was like going back in time.It was grand with a nice comfotable bar,carpet and furnishings with a couple of decent restaurants,a spa and garden room.We thought our room was dissappointing .It was facing a brick wall and was small.The bedlinen was clean but the bathroom was dusty.The staff were all very pleasant and welcoming.We had a great time but would upgrade to a better room if we stayed again.Price was a bit steep for the room we were allocated.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queencharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a short break. The hotel is shabby and needs refurbishing. Our sea view room had old furniture and a tired bathroom. The sea view was more theoretical than practical being at an acute angle and through dirty windows.
The buffet breakfast and dinner were very poor and cold. The overall impression was that the very cheapest ingredients were being used. I can't think of a single reason to recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the week on a conference and I have to say I was quite apprehensive. Yes this is a very old hotel which first opened its doors in 1838 and it is by no means at its best and much of it creaks and groans, but it does have character. The communal areas are clean and tidy and are well maintained and the breakfast was pretty standard fare for a hotel. I was impressed by the staff who were always pleasant and did have a 'can do' attitude. Special mention for Richard and Ernest who despite having been on for 14 hours kept our private function bar open for an extra half hour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ianandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I expected a much better service for the price but I was disappointed. The rooms are old and rusty, no remote control for the TV.. Breakfast was not up to standard. No free car park in the hotel or the area and the nearby paring is over priced.. Never go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kezankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing