We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at The Royal Bath in Bournmouth on BH Monday in May, it is a huge building and an old one, it felt a little tired in places and in need of some time and money spent on it.
The Car park was £20 a night so we didn't bother, the garden was nice, the restaurant was large and the buffet food was fine but again not fantastic, the wine came to our table open and the corked just wedged in the top?

Overall just fine.

Room Tip: Parking in the secure parking is way to expensive @ £20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arras41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

They want cash payment upfront.
Odd to ask for payment before letting you even see the room but when you see it, you find out why! Both windows were broken and so was one of the blinds. You also discover that it counts as a ‘suite’ if there is a small partition between the telly and the sofa so the bed is the only place to sit to watch! Absolutely no natural light either which is a real shame at such a high price.
The real con is that they charge 2% on any cards whether credit or debit. With such high prices that really is fleecing poor tourists. Unless everyone pays cash…?
There are enough hotels in Bournemouth - avoid this one!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SELondonCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The rooms are bright, airy, well appointed and comfortable. Very obliging staff - the restaurant manager kept the restaurant open for breakfast when he realised people thought it was Sunday hours on bank holiday. All in all - splendid value.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I decided to stay here one evening as I thought it was suppose to be a really top hotel. Being mid week I thought I had bagged myself a bargain at £59 a night (room only) I called the hotel before arrival, had to call 3 times to get through.... The receptionist who didn't speak very good English and I didn't think had a particularly good manner either told me the car park was £20!!! The bargain deal I thought I had got was slowly slipping away.... I found the car park next door was £12.50 for 24 hours so parked there, walking into the hotel to check in I had a brief look about the main areas and it looked nice. I went to the check in desk to check in and think I must have seen the same lady that had answered the phone to me, again not very customer service focused!! I was asked to pay immediately, she then informed there was £2 charge for credit cards! On approaching my room I struggled to get the card to work in the door, a nice steward was passing and helped me open the door and was very polite with me (he was the best thing about the hotel) the room was very dated!! Needs to come into twentieth century. The bed was comfortable however the lamps in the room didn't work only the main light making it a tad frustrating to have to get up and walk to the door to turn the light out, the walls were also very thin, I could hear people walking by and talking very clearly. I wouldn't stay again, theres plenty of nicer hotels with great service in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nattavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location. Near beach, parking and BIC. Had to wait more than 1 hr to have prepaid hotels.com reservation sorted out. Sand on floor in room for 3 days, despite complaint first day. Hotel is shabby and worn. Old furniture. Old bed. Poorly cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geir_Alesund_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bad Bits:- Tired, expensive, some of the hot buffet wasn't hot, no free parking
Good Bits- Location, Location, Location. Valet parking although £20 per night was simple and a good addition. Helpful staff, Breakfast had plenty of room and tea and coffee service was great (served in thermos jugs which were kept on your table), We got their at 9am to park car, and as room was not used previous night were allowed to check in immediately- that kind of bespoke service made a real difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geesus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

2 nights stay was very pleasent,our sea veiw room was clean and plenty of space, food OK... hotel is starting to need a make over but apart from that all ok.The hotel does have very nice gardens and you can access the beach from them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcIngram26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath Hotel & Spa

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £29 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing