We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, not great value”
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very average, not great value”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel has a great location. Right by the beach, easily accessible.
The staff, from the car valet, restaurant staff and reception all really nice and helpful.
The rooms are decent, classic, not out of this world, but good enough and we had a really spacious bathroom.
What lets this place down is the food. The breakfast was below average in my opinion and I didn't think much about the dinner. This is a shame, because with all the other positives going for it as mentioned, this drags it down. If they just improved this, it would justify the hotels past reputation / revive former glories that I hear of.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haricotrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    661
    591
    507
    627
See reviews for
407
1,415
83
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frizington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

what a great place to stay, this was our first time here, you could not fault it. the bedrooms brilliant, the meals where perfect, I would stay there again, just a stones throw from the beach and shops. we had great time.

Room Tip: any one going to Bournemouth I would stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've stayed at luxury hotels and god forbidden american budget motels. When staying in the latter, they're bad, but that's reflected in the price. This hotel however was nearly as bad as those motels, except you pay a premium for the horror. By that logic this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The quickest way to describe this hotel is 'tired'. Large parts of the hotel have clearly not been touched since the 1980's and are ugly, dated and falling apart. On check in staff were rude and unhelpful all with an attitude of 'checking you in is a large inconvenience for me'. The porter was In fact very pose any and helpful but was the only redeeming feature the entire 3 day stay. We were put in one of the furthest out rooms which took an eternity to walk to and trips in lifts more befitting a tiny service lift. On our corridor the wallpaper was dated and torn all over, before finally reaching our room and finding the door did not close properly. The room (375) again was dated and tired, befitting a cheap seafront bnb, not a '4 star' hotel. The headboard for the bed had parts falling off leaving several nails exposed, just what I want by my head as I sleep. Continuing the scene, the bathroom was another cheap scene from 1980. The hotel spa was also intensely disappointing. Design award from 1988 on the door sets the tone well. At breakfast the staff were again rude as if 'you shouldn't be here go away' was their motto. Awful. Avoid avoid avoid avoid. This hotel. Plenty of hotels in Bournemouth and Poole, how this place is not out of business I will never understand. At a push a premier inn would be more comfortable more luxurious and cheaper. Never stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnaireTreloar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

two of us went on a special deal, which included use of the spa and spa treatment. The staff were really friendly and helpful . The room was very clean, with extras such as tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries, extra pillows. The location is fabulous: there is a beautiful garden with access to the clifftop and easy access to the beach. The spa has a small pool, sauna and steam room and jacuzzi, all of which was very clean. The evening meal was adequate : breakfast was better with fresh fruit, croissant etc. For what we paid, this was excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 245heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

When given keys to your room the last thing you want to happen is for another guest to be given access to your room. That is exactly what happened at the Royal Bath in Bournemouth. Having booked-in and bags deposited in the room we left for a look round the town. While returning an hour later because of rain we found someone else opening the door to our room. They were just arriving. Had it not been for the rain we would have been unaware unless (or until) we found something missing.
The excuse at reception – I should have given you room 810 not 801. Not good enough!
By the way, these rooms are tiny. 801 is by a margin the smallest hotel room I have been in, and the view is a grotty inner courtyard. The double bed did not feel full size, but anything larger would not fit. The hotel generally is dated. The pool is nice in contrast.
My advice is to cross the road to the Premier Inn where you know what you are getting. It is far better than the Royal Bath, most probably better value, and most probably more secure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We read a lot of bad reviews int consideration before booking a weekend stay at the Royal Bath Hotel in March 2014 - and we were please not to come across or notice any of the other patrons complaints.
This is our feedback:

Service - Good, willing and helpful. Telephone customer services were also very accommodating.

Price - very good value (considering this is/was a grand hotel, exceptional location and facilities)

Overall hotel condition - Good considering its size and running costs. Everything seemed to be in good repair - nothing noticeably falling down or a hazard.

Lounge bar area - grant and spacious

Our Room (a Double King) - Well lit, spacious. Although very basic electrical devices provided (Argos mini travel iron that didn't work and hair dryer - bring your own if you can).
Bathroom was a bit pokey and no window for natural light or ventilation...but didn't spend too much time in there.

Food - we eat in the buffet hall, which was nice and big, good view of hotel gardens - Food was reasonable and plentiful.

Nice extras - Swimming pool, jacuzzi, garden, sunset and beach views and access

Conclusion: would definitely stay there again for the right price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank przion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Check in was our first clue to a poor experience, being made to wait while the staff had a good old chit, chat. Then room 217 was given to us, being that they could see I was disabled this was an awful choice, top floor, this took a lift journey, two small flights of stairs, and a very long walk with our luggage (no offer of assistance was given). We then asked to be moved to a more appropriate room only to be told to come all the way back to reception get a new key card for a room on the forts floor by the elevator. This would have been fantastic had we not opened the door to the room to find it already occupied. Another trip to reception to advise them of their error to be given a room on the second floor at the end of a very long corridor. On entering the room, after battling with the door and hurting my wrist (the door takes two people to open it, one to turn the handle, the other to use their shoulder to physically barge the door open) we found we had been put in the broom cupboard (not literally but that's what it felt like).

We tried several times to call reception to book an evening meal but ended up having to go down to the restaurant, wonder round and find someone and book a table. The meal was awful my 10 year old nephew would have made a better meal and he can't cook.

We tried several times to ring the leisure club and ended up just trying to find it and take a chance on being able to use the facilities straight away to find we had to pay an additional £10 to use the pool.

Parking cost us £12.50 for one night.

A very expensive, disappointing, uncomfortable, miserable experience and one that will not be repeated. This can not be a 4 star hotel as stated on line, I think it would struggle to get a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBags1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing