We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Bournemouth... so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Bournemouth... so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Have stayed here several times this year.

Like all hotels not everything is perfect everytime one visits. Having said that it is still my favourite place to stay in this part of the world.

Rooms - good to excellent

Service - excellent

Food - only eaten in the Brasserie - when the main restaurant was closed for a wedding. Sad to say the food that night was not good at all. Which encouraged me to venture outside the hotel for the rest of my stays.

Car Parking - Nice idea but £20 is a lot to pay per day when even the public car park over the road is significantly cheaper. If they charged an overnight rate instead of a flat 24 hour rate it would be better for a lot of visitors - especially business people.

Still, good clean rooms, lifts that work, hall porterage which is very helpful.... as were the reception staff.

I will happily stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - but beware this can cost a lot more during peak travel and holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    645
    577
    489
    608
See reviews for
387
1,380
80
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth Garden City
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's been a couple of years since I stayed here. Great hotel visually inside and out but it really does need a shed load of money spent on it to get the very tired facilities up to standard. Had some issues too. Bar staff not very polite and closed the service not long after 23h00 and no night porter drinks service for residents. Reception staff not very helpful nor trained to print off a draft bill so had to get 'help' at 07h30 on date of departure when you would think they would be expecting such enquiries. Room plumbing leaves much to be desired with leaking shower and iffy loo flush. Delivery truck at 05h55 outside my window with engine running and again at 06h15 on the next day. Steer clear of rooms 224 and 225 which overlook a very busy 24/7 road/roundabout.
Now for the good things. Car valet parking was very good if a bit expensive at £20/day. Colleague was denied kippers for first breakfast but staff organised them for the next two days.
Will not be staying here next time we are at a conference in Bournemouth in 2016.

Room Tip: Pick you room very carefully and check where the road is before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed this hotel recently as we were going to a concert at the BIC and compared to a few years ago it appears to be looking a bit shabby and in need of a makeover especially the main bar area. The bar staff were not very friendly and when we came in just before 11pm they were in the process of shutting the bar although it was still busy, when everyone came up to order a drink they were greeted with tuts and sighs and were told they were trying to clear up (apart from one of their friends who go served after 11.30pm without a fuss).
The buffet breakfast was ok and the hotel is handy for the beach and town but it has certainly lost some of its charm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at hotel again 2nd time in 10 months. Feels like coming home. I love this grand old dame
We stayed in sea facing balcony room. Room large and quiet, bed heavenly comfortable, room needs some updating and stains on carpets very noticeable. But what a view. I did not attend breakfast at all in five days, my husband said just adequate no more. Think it really could improve in this area. Wi fi in room but hard to log on if using apple product, best let reception as complicated. Porter same as last time, does a good job and remembers you. This hotel to me is special, but as said before could be great. Would stay again just for the view.

Room Tip: If staying and treating yourselves a room with balcony full sea view room 364.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

No WIFI
NO Bar after 11
filthy coffee cups in room
And I have only just arrived !!!!!

to be fair night porter is trying to sort things -but if you are on your way to lga try elsewhere. i intend to in morning

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Royal Bath is in a great position in central Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of the beach and town. The hotel feels a bit jaded, but the bedrooms have been refurbished and have comfortable beds and modern bathrooms with a decent shower. There is no air con and my room was very hot, not helped much by a small fan. Also the rooms do not have a safe. The breakfast buffet is nothing special but is included in the room price. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. Parking is an extortionate £20 per night but there is a car park up the road within a 5 minute walk which charges £4 for 24 hours. Residents have to pay extra to use the pool and gym and the pool is a bit small for swimming lengths. The promenade, beach and sea are within easy reach though and perfect for an early morning run. The terrace and garden are lovely. Despite a few small criticisms (above), I thought the hotel good value and its central location handy so would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like a long walk to your room ask for a room nearer the reception areas. It is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Would I stay again, would have to really consider it. This was booked as a surprise for my husband. When we arrived I was asked to pay in full which was odd as normally, having stayed in many hotels around the world, I'm asked to leave details of a credit/debit card so I can charge anything to the room and pay in full when leaving. I paid and assumed, don't ever assume, my card details would be held. We dined in the restaurant, dinner was lovely, staff were lovely, then I asked to charge the cost to my room. Total embarrassment when I was told I had no credit held against the room. I'd left my purse in the room, and my husband had to pay. Not what I'd planned. This weekend was supposed to be totally on me. I went to the reception desk and asked for the head office contact details, to which an email is being sent, and not one of the three people behind the desk asked if everything was ok. This area really lacks Customer Service. There is also a fee of £4 each to use the leisure facilities, this is new as again I've never come across this in any other hotel. So basically if you want to charge to your room make sure you tell them when checking in, as you won't be asked, and if you wish to use the leisure area be prepared to pay .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pinkonstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing