We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a mixed bag, but good overall.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Bath

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Bath
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southmpton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A bit of a mixed bag, but good overall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a rather nice old building in a fantastic location. We stayed for two nights in July 2014. It has some lovely grounds which are well maintained with some great sea views. It's literally 100 yards down the hill to the pier.

The staff were always helpful if a little slow at times, (we waited half an hour to be offered a drink in the restaurant on the second night) but after that the food came quickly and was perfectly OK. The bar area and restaurant both had a pleasant relaxed feel and were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was a standard Buffett and was quite nice.


Our room was of a reasonable size with a great sea view and was clean and tidy. The decor was a little tired and there were signs of water damage to the ceiling, but nothing problematic. In fact we really liked the room in spite of it's few imperfections. There was a fan, which was essential given the fact that it was 30 degrees on both days we stayed and the hotel does not have air conditioning.

The spa was nice, clean and well laid out. Although it did irk a bit having to pay £4 each to have a swim.

In spite of an overall lovely stay we do have a few criticisms. Firstly, only one of our key cards worked and we say two (seperate) other guests who couldn't get into their rooms at all, although this must have been resolved quickly as they were not still waiting when we went back out. Also, on our second night the lift broke down in our part of the building, not too much of a problem on the second floor but had we been on the fourth it would have been more of an issue. The last real gripe is the outrageous £20 per night car parking charge. I know there is a carp ark next door for £12.50 per night, but still, this is obscene.

In summary slightly tired friendly hotel in a fantastic location. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    641
    570
    486
    600
See reviews for
382
1,366
79
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This used to be the flag ship hotel in Bournemouth, but now it is just poor!!.......it looks like nothing has been upgraded or decorated in decades, the staff are rude and ill informed, and when we went to reception this morning we had to queue behind a line of people complaining about a whole host of problems. Our rooms were in the 'East Wing'.........which is miles from reception, through a staircase, many corridors, doors, steps...and indeed hidden away. One of our rooms had no window and was absolutely steaming hot. I am shocked that they are getting away with this............................trading on past history.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAbraxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my daughter arrived in the hotel at 19:40 the reception check us in just handed the room key with out explaining wheres the room are.

Finally we found the room its in the last corner of hotel. Its a very small room and very warm. They don't have Air conditioning in the room either electric fan. We don't sleep that night.
Next morning we ask for a room move. Thanks they move us, almost same type of room but theres a big window and more light coming in the room.
Breakfast is normal not a big selection, croissant was stone hard even next day they don't have a fresh one and thats only what my daughter eat.
They Front office staff are not so helpful, but all around was ok. I will stay here Because its near the beach.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Travelling as a couple, we booked the Royal Bath using a Wowcher promotion which cost £110 and was definitely not worth the money spent. Upon arrival we discovered that parking was £20 for 24 hours and instead chose to park at a local car park for substantially less. We then checked in and were given verbal instructions on how to reach the room, then when we started to walk the wrong way were shouted at by the porter in an ignorant manner - it would have been much more helpful if we had been shown to our room or at least be led in the right direction but nevertheless we eventually managed to find our way round the confusing layout, experiencing the many creaky floorboards along the way!

We weren't informed of the restaurant opening hours at reception so had a look in the book and headed down as it was nearly closing time, albeit only 8pm on a weekend. The selection of food was good at both dinner and breakfast so no complaints here, although it is definitely set to cater for those on the many coach trips that stay here. The next morning we headed to the spa after checking out at the early time of 10am, as our deal included 2 spa treatments and access to the facilities. I opted for a manicure and I had my usually long nails filed right down to the skin, although only 2 fingers on each hand were left like this and the other 3 nails long. I was absolutely horrified at the result, so much so I was brought to tears. We then left swiftly after so didn't use the other facilities.

Overall, I would not recommend the hotel to anyone looking to have an enjoyable stay in Bournemouth. The rooms are dated and rickety, the floorboards throughout the hotel creak something chronic, the staff are ignorant and generally not bothered (probably down to low morale from the poor management) and the hidden costs are a bit of a nasty surprise. There are plenty other central hotels in addition to some just a few miles out of Bournemouth that would result in a much better experience for a slightly higher price than what we paid. Steer clear!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed overnight at this hotel with my husband on his birthday weekend. Initial impressions were good, check in was fine, our room was very spacious and looked OK although the bathroom was very tired, so initially we thought it was OK. Our rate included dinner at a reasonable price, so we decided to eat in the restaurant. The service was slow, tables weren't cleared very quickly and we had to wait ages for an ice bucket; the food average at best, kept warm under heat lamps.

Later in the evening we came to the conclusion that our room must have been directly above the restaurant, we could hear music all night. I was not at happy to be woken at 7am on the Sunday morning to hearing the radio blaring out from the restaurant below. With no possibility of getting back to sleep I phoned reception and asked them to turn it down. Unfortunately I difficulty getting the receptionist to under this. After about 15 mins somebody did manage to reduce the volume to a more acceptable level, I could still hear it, but it didn't sound like it was coming from right outside our door anymore.

Parking is expensive at the hotel, (£20 per day) but we were already aware of this before arrival, so used a car park next door which was much cheaper.

Overall we were disappointed, given the location it could be really nice, if it were spruced up a bit and the food was improved. Just don't get a first floor room.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the first floor. Too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had reserved and paid for two rooms. The pictures on the websites are nothing like the hotel. No AC with the temps quite warm, one room without windows, rooms so small, nothing updated, tiny wardrobe that was filled with an ironing board and a fan with no room for clothes, staff not extremely friendly, parking very very expensive and quite understaffed. We had reservations and we had to leave within an hour of checking into the hotel because it was that terrible.
THE worst hotel I have ever seen. We paid full price for a clean, nice and safe place to stay which was not at all what this hotel offered.
We could not use or stay in our room after we saw its condition but No refund was offered.

Room Tip: Marriott Hotel - very nice, safe, good location, clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this hotel last week for our Wedding Anniversary which be booked through Britannia Central Reservations which is the group the Royal Bath belongs to.

On arrival we found that we could not enter the hotel car park only to find out from reception that the car park costs £20 per day!!! which we had not been informed about. On complaining about this we had been told Central Reservation should have told us about this and that we could use any of the nearby public car parks as an alternative which cost less. As it happens a very kind person mentioned a nearby council car park that costs only £4 per day! It does have a slight hill to reach it so would recommend unloading luggage at hotel first. The Central Car Park is across the road up the 'Upper Hinton Road' and is monitored 24/7.

My second complaint is that to use the Spa, the hotel actually charges residents £4 per day per person to do so which is unbelievable and again not mentioned when booking! First hotel I have been to that charges residents to use its leisure facilities!!

Our room was small but very clean and modern, a mini fridge would be the only addition that i would recommend to the hotel.

Staff all seemed very helpful and courteous, though I did feel that the receptionists had to refer many of the questions from customers to a manager rather than have the power to handle them themselves.

Breakfast at the hotel was of very good quality and a good selection of both continental and full English available.

All in all we had a great stay, but I would urge the hotel to try and address the matters mentioned to further improve the customer experience and reduce and improve the comments left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing