We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip To Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I spent two nights in the Royal Bath Hotel during business trip to the area. The Hotel is a grand old building, the typical Seaside venue from the past. It is however up to date with the facilities, the decor is modern without taking anything away from its heritage and the general condition is very good. My room was very good, big, bright and spacious. The bed was comfortable, there was plenty of storage space and I was fortunate enough to have a balcony with a great view of Bournemouth.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
The staff were in the main helpful throughout my stay.
To improve the level of service I would suggest the hotel invest in written directions to rooms if possible. I was told my room was on the 2nd floor when in fact it was on the third and due to the nature of the building (large and sprawling) it took me the best part of 25 minutes to locate it.
I also required room service on both nights due to work commitments. This is where the service deteriorated significantly. On the 1st night I had to wait 15 minutes at the bar to order due to staff workload,this was okay and my order was delivered on time by a lovely staff member. On the second night I was told that they could not accommodate my request for room service as they were too busy and were very dismissive of me (different staff this night). I inquired in the restaurant and found a very helpful member of staff who personally took care of my order and delivered it to my room himself. If all staff were as customer focused as this gentleman then my rating for the hotel would be higher than average. Maybe travelers expectations can be managed in a more professional manner. Do not offer something if your staff can choose not to fulfill the requests.
Also look out for car parking. It can be very frustrating as you may end up using expensive public car parks close by.
In summary - A great old Coastal hotel, lovely building, room was great, service either exceptional or very poor.

Room Tip: If your budget runs to a room with a sea view, get one......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryR847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,413 - 1,419 of 3,007 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The building still shows signs of former grandeur. The location is fantastic: right on the beach and right in the very heart of Bournemouth tourist centre just across from the main shopping area. Unfortunately, this is where the positives stop. Service is non existent. Some team members are still friendly enough trying to do their best but struggle because they cannot cope. Others have clearly given up making any effort. Long queues at reception at all times of day. No waiting service neither in the lounge bar nor the garden area. Long queues again at the bar. Hotel no longer provides any concierge services. Nobody is available to give any advice on local restaurants, activities or to make any bookings. The newly decorated rooms are OK but not air conditioned. All other rooms are beyond tired. Looking more closely at the toilet rim makes you want to reach for the immodium. Using the swimming pool is now charged extra. A stamp on your guest card is supposed to allow you to charge it to your room. Spa reception does not accept that. Breakfast is terrible. The breakfast restaurant now feels more like a canteen. Limited choice of dubious quality poorly presented. Parking is a panic as the few car parking spaces are quickly gone - what then? Finding a public car park in the city centre... This hotel could be the pride of Bournemouth...Some photographs in the lobby suggest it was at some stage....almost tragic what happened.

Room Tip: Newly decorated with sea view and balcony/terrace. Don't go for the four poster. They are tiny a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here over 4 years ago when this property was still a DeVerre and it was great, even though it was dated. We recently stayed one night Tuesday 29th July 2014 and we booked a twin room. On arrival we waited in a queue for over 15mins whilst the one woman on check in went slowly through the location of the guests room in poor and broken English. By the time we got to the front of the queue, we were told our room would be ready at 3pm and to leave our luggage. We were given a check in slip with a room number.

We returned at approx 5pm to an utter shambles in reception, again waiting over 15mins in a queue, it was evident there were issues with room bookings as one lady was told next to us, they only had rooms with no windows and air conditioning left available. We proceeded to our room and upon opening the door we found guests already checked in and enjoying themselves. We excused ourselves and went embarrassed back to the reception. We were then told again in broken English that there were no rooms left and we would have to have separate rooms with no windows and air conditioning as this was all that was available. We were not alone, there were a few guests in the same predicament.

The deputy manager that helped us was great, he eventually sorted it out for us to have the previous room we had booked, however, this was only after they offered a 10% discount for our having to stay in a room with no air con and windows and we told them absolutely not.

Eventually we were given keys and on way to our room we noticed a half eaten pizza in box outside a room. We then arrived at our room, the deputy manager advising he would give us a bottle of wine for our trouble. The rest of the stay was uneventful, until checking out the following day, to find the pizza box and pizza still there and similar room issues happening again, receptionists unclear about how to handle the situation and lots of unhappy guests.

This is a real shame, this property has so much potential and a fab location, it has deteriorated so much and so far from what it was, very, very disappointed and will be complaining direct to Britannia hotels.

Positives:
Beds were comfortable
Bathroom was ok with towels and hot water shower
Room was fine and good value for money

Negatives:
Poor reception staff
Poor communication
Badly in need of a revamp in all areas
Poor customer service
Poor systems and planning

Room Tip: Don't book, book elsewhere, the marriott would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Leanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

this hotel is great location to all facilities and beachfront. unfortunatly from the moment we checked in service was very slow and unorganised to the point of checkin us in to a room that already been given away, the place is very outdated and unclean by which a pizza box with food still in was left couple doors down from out room for over 24hours. will not be going again unless its ungraded

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toria871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on half board basis. On arrival check in was easy, but was shocked at the £20 per night car park fee. Requested for bath robes, which never arrived.

Room was adequate but there was no fridge or aircon available.

Breakfast was ok however, dinner was terrible as there was hardly any vegetarian option, besides carrots.

On the positive nite, location was ideal and staff were very helpful and courteous.

Would stay again on a B&B basis only.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank OsinghGhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely double room. Clean tidy and spacious.views of beach. Staff friendly.Park in Upper Hinton Road cheaper and only a 2 minute walk. Beach on door step and town centre . restaurants.cinema.shops.beach.all close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2012travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as 2 couples weekend just gone. Checkin was very slow, with a lot of customers in front of us having problems with bookings not being found. While waiting a porter told us the call it 'The Royal laugh' because of all the cockups made! The communication between departments is bad, reception and housekeeping just don't speak to each other or share info.
Our main complaint is the lack of Aircon. The whole hotel is extremely hot especially on the hot weekend, but the room was unbearable. Being a club room it just had 2 windows that opened slightly. We requested a fan and at one point was told a porter was bringing them up, but they never appeared and reception said they had no knowledge of our request!
Breakfast was a buffet and was fine. The gardens are lovely and the location is spot on, yards from the beach and pier and short stroll into town to bars restaurants and clubs. Feel the parking should be free for residents but we used the public carpark next door for £30 for 3 days. Also feel the spa should be free to residents instead of £4 to use pool/sauna/jacuzzi. All treatments were fully booked so I recomend booking in advance.
Overall ok... Bit dated and could do with an overhaul but would have been fine if had Aircon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samrossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath Hotel & Spa

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Bath Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing