We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE GIVES 100% SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marsham Court Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marsham Court Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
verwood
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE GIVES 100% SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

On Saturday 28th of Jan I worked as a Toastmaster for a Masonic Lodge. The staff as always gave 100% service to the guests and I must say everyone who I spoke to during the event said it was a great place. This was the 25th visit by the Lodge to the hotel and that must mean 'they get it right'. The banquet meal was superb and the serving staff worked very hard to ensure the meal was presented as fast and as hot as possible. This hotel is always busy so if you are searching for a function venue in Bournemouth, do go along and see the managers who I know will make you welcome, then decide for yourself.

Room Tip: book early to get the dates you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear keyboardbrian,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
The function for the lodge went extremely well again and we have several masonic lodges, who attend throughout the year that have been coming for well over 15 years.
I believe they come back for the good food, great service and the friendly professional relationship we have with each of our organisers.
We will see you again keyboardbrian!!!!
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    367
    143
    34
    28
See reviews for
157
376
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just returned from our annual weekend here, we had a sea view room (which cost's extra) on the second floor, from which the view is partly obscured by some very large trees, you only get a side sea view looking towards the west beach, and over Russell Coates Museum which is opposite the hotel.
The room itself is quite comfortable with a 26in flat screen tv, free safe, iron & board, large bed,etc etc, a fully tiled bathroom but not much shelf space, but we found the room a little on the cold side, which did not trouble us to much, but others may find it too cold, as other reviews have already mentioned, there is a large car park to the rear of the hotel some of which is under cover,
Now for the meals, breakfast is of buffet style with everything is available tea,coffee,toast, cereals,eggs,bacon, etc etc,
Now for the evening meals you get a choice of three main dishes, but the downfall here is that the vegetables are limited to one dish between THREE people, ( we don't know if this is common practice) but you find that there is only FIVE very small roast potatoes, so this means that two people can have TWO and one is left with ONE, I now supect that the management is now going to reply to this and say that we shoiuld have asked for more, but where are the brains of the staff to let this happen in the first place?
The hotel is a short walk downhill to all of the attractions that Bournemouth has to offer, we found the reception,restaurant, and bar staff all very helpful
Would we return the answer to this is yes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jontey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear jontey,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
You are right in your statement, you only have to ask and the staff will be more than happy to serve you more vegetables. We have several guests who mention the amount of vegetables that are wasted, so this we believe works well for us.
Unfortunately we are not allowed to trim the trees as they are not on our property, however if you ask for a room with a bay window in future the reception staff will do there utmost to allocate you one of these that are situated in the middle of the hotel and are not obscured by the trees.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We visited the hotel as part of a group holiday. The entrance is modern, clean and stylish but not exactly to our taste - we prefer traditional. The bedroom was clean well equipped and well serviced. The staff were always attentive and helpful. The only downside was the restaurant. The food was good but the décor is not very inspiring. The service the first night was slow and disappointing although the subsequent three nights was much improved. We were also not impressed with being shunted into a side room for the last dinner and breakfast so the hotel could use the restaurant for a main function. Whilst we understand the need to do this type of thing the food quality deteriorated being served "cool" due to segregation from the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank topcat8566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear topcat8566,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
As a large hotel we very often take functions within our main restaurant; however I am sorry that you felt as if you were shunted into a side room. The Dorset & Bay Suites are very often used for house restaurant when large functions are being held within the hotel. The room is also not segregated from the kitchen as it has direct access.
The restaurant was being used as the dance group had private use of the Ballroom that week and that particular function has been coming to us for years and only had to move rooms due to the date change of the Dance Championships. We tried our best to suit all parties concerned.
I am sorry to hear that the food was cool and I will speak to our kitchen and restaurant team to improve on this for the future.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Although our stay was not terrible, since the hotel changed from being Marsham Court to Days, we feel that some standards have definately gone down. In the restaurant, not once did any of the staff ask if everything was OK. Extra sauce/gravy was not offered until our meals were almost finished and no sorbet course any more :(
We were supposed to have chocolate mints with our coffee after dinner but none were supplied until the last night as apparently they had been forgotten.......not good enough Days!!
New Year entertainment has still not changed so we definately won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbirdthebowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear jbirdthebowler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much this year as in the past.
The hotel was franchised in September 2011; however it is the same family that own and operate it.
I am sorry that you felt our standards had slipped and I will indeed bring up the chocolate mints with my management team. Extra gravy is always available upon request; however not normally offered. In regards to the soup and sorbet course, the consensus of most guests where that 4 courses plus coffee was just too much for people to then go a dance straight afterwards. The company therefore made a decision to reduce the menu to 3 courses plus coffee.
We do try wherever possible to change the entertainment for Christmas and New Year by asking guests to complete an Entertainment questionnaire. The Entertainment you had on your Twixmas package was organised by your group and not by the hotel.
The New Year entertainment, for which you did not attend was booked by the hotel due to the majority of guest requests made last year. We have however changed quiet a lot for next year based on the comments of our guests that attended this year and the overall majority. I can therefore only assume that you did not book for this due to the fact the Entertainment was the same.
I am sorry that we have not been able to offer you the service that you have come to expect from us on this occasion but hope that we will be able to restore your faith in us in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

we stayed here on a dancing holiday run by Kingshill holidays.We were welcomed by pleasant staff who soon gave us our room and details like parking,plenty of space,where and what time meals where and the bar of course!!Our room was very nice and overlooked the museum and the beach,wow!! although the roof of the museum was being repaired at the time we still had a good view of the ferry going in /out of Poole harbour,great.The bed was very comfy,nice linen and the onsuite bathroom very clean and enough room for two.We showered and changed ready for dinner which was in good time to allow us to enjoy our meal,nicely cooked and served with a smile.Overall our 4night stay at the hotel was very enjoyable,their staff very helpful,its fairly close to the sea front/beach,downhill but of course uphill back maybe not for the elderly,but if you use the back entrance its possible to get into town and the shops on a more level walking area.The falcilties at the hotel are fine with a small unheated pool which I tried all good,with sunloungers as well.So to sum up an ideal hotel well located,nice views,lovely walks,towards Boscombe etc,ps wife enjoyed the museum(not my thing!! and hopefully we`ll be returning this autumn,always ask for a seaview room,thanks

Room Tip: ask for seaview at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear rodWisbech,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Days Hotel Bournemouth.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your dance holiday with us. We do several specialised interest groups throughout the year and look forward to welcoming Kingshill again this year.
You will be pleased to know that work on the museum roof has now been completed and our sea views have been reinstated.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the Autumn.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

room very good although bathroom small. safe in the wardrobe at no extra charge. good car parking (free) but difficult access to rooms at far end of the hotel i.e. even if you go in the lift to the correct floor (away from the lifts) long passage with four stairs up then down about 10 and up again another 10 stairs

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank junem139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear junem139,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Days Hotel Bournemouth.
We have several rooms that are level walk from the lift and would be happy to accommodate your requirements. Please make us aware at the time of booking and we will do our utmost to provide the requirements you would like.
Please know that your feedback is important to us as it will help us to improve our services to make your stay more pleasant in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have anything you wish to discuss.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

In mitigation our stay at this hotel coincided with the appalling weather along the south coast. However the window both rattled and leaked ( plastic bucket and paper towels were provided) - as result very little sleep was gained. Of further concern was that this room was not on any list for attention.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Peter B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay. All our rooms are on a rolling maintenance scheme and are checked every 3 months for remedial work to be done if required.
In regards to the windows, we have been in discussions with the local council for over 10 years, trying to change the windows, but without much luck due to being in a conservation area; however we finally received planning permission to change them in December and we are hoping to start work shortly in changing our front facing windows.
We try our best to improve on guests experiences and rely on feedback such as yours to do this.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to change your opinion of us in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsham Court Hotel

Property: Marsham Court Hotel
Address: 3 Russell Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Marsham Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#25 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsham Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marsham Court Hotel Bournemouth is a privately owned Hotel and run by the same family for 30 years. The hotel has an on going refurbishment programme for bedrooms and bathrooms, with an extensive refurbishment in 2011 of the foyer and bar. We boast some of the best sea views in Bournemouth across to the Isle of Wight, Sandbanks, Swanage and Isle of Purbeck. So why not come in and try for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Marsham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsham Court Bournemouth
Hotel Marsham Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing