We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wont be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #62 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have just come back from this hotel, where do I start !!!! the food was good and the room was good but then it went downhill, we shifted from one table to another for our dinner, we were given a table and told we stay at that one for the rest of our holiday , that never happened as we where shifted from one table to another the whole of the stay, every time we sat down to our dinner we were told to shift as they were either reserved or it was for a different coach company ,we were left wandering with our dinner in our hands to various tables to try and find a seat, we were treated like 2nd class citizens !!! absolutly disgusting, and as for the entertainment we couldn't use the lounge as the public were coming in off the streets for a beer and taking up the seats in OUR lounge for the entertainment so NO room for us, Bingo was called whilst we were having our dinner at 8.30 pm as we were late eating due to not being able to find a table !!!! What a Fiasco!!!!!
never again, the only good thing was the room was decent and the food but was it worth it. NO there was only 2 ladies toilets downstairs for all the hotel and they were disgusting we wont be going back.

Room Tip: Dont use the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debrapaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

the room was dirty, the toilet cistern was playing up and made noises the whole time, the room was not cleaned properly while we were there, the food was mediocre. The bed made a terrible squeeking noise and was very uncomfortable, the pillows were wafer thin

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talc13, General Manager at Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Dear Mandy,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Roundhouse Hotel.
I am sorry to note that you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope that next time you stay at hotel that you contact the reception so that they may try to put right the problems during your time of your stay.

regards
Tony Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just returned from a one night stay. The place needs a major referb, I felt all the springs in the bed pressing into my back, the food was almost all out of a can. Most of the staff I talked hardly understood english. BUT it was in a good location short walk to the sea one way, and the shops the other.

Room Tip: rather noisy, the other guests and the road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talc13, General Manager at Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us recently, it shows we can not please everyone.
You can be assured that the food does not mainly come out of a can! I should know as I am signing the invoices for payment to our suppliers.
We could have changed the bed for you, as we have now had a delivery of new beds for those rooms that require changing and spares for all the families that have been booking recently.
The noise from the road may be loud if the windows are kept open, as we are are situated on one of the main hubs into Bournemouth, which as you have mentioned makes The Roundhouse Hotel ideal for the many shops, pubs and beach areas.
This is only for a few of the front rooms overlooking the grounds and seating area.

We do have many foreign staff employed, as they are the ones wanting to work and learn English. So we do encourage them to talk to guests when able, as they do want to learn and progress with their careers.

Regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Spent 5 days here with a bus tour from 15th - 20th - always read trip advisors comments so was a little concerned with some of the negative things said, however found the room we were given was clean and adequate. The bathroom was a bit patched up in places but in the main clean.

What really surprised and pleased me and others on the tour was the good selection and standard of the food. Lots of choice and well presented.

There was evening entertainment too on several of the nights. Would really recommend this hotel because considering what we paid was excellent value for money in a really nice well positioned place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nncarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talc13, General Manager at Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Mr Carr,

Thank you for your review of the Roundhouse Hotel and it's kind comments. We do aim to please and we hope to see you once again in the near future, either here or at one of the other 36 Britannia Hotels nationwide.

kind regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager
Roundhouse Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for one night as we were watching a show at the BIC.
This hotel is ideally located for all amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blossom_78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talc13, General Manager at Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Blossom,

Many thanks for your comments on your stay.
We are only a 15 minute walk or a 5 min drive to the BIC car park and the town centre. The Rounhouse Hotel also has easy access to the main routes in and out of Bournemouth, so if guests wishing to attend any of the numerous, excellant shows and concerts at the BIC as Blossom has said we are in a great location.

Tony Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

On arriving found the car park had plenty of room and has cctv 24hrs. The receptionist was very pleasent and helpful, went to the bar the staff ok but not alot cheerfulness going on, sat outside as it was a very hot weekend, nice, i know its on a busy roundabout but great if you like to people watch and took no notice of car noise.I went to the toilet in the reception area bad move, one was blocked to the brim with toilet paper i waited for a non resident to come out of the other and that was nearly as bad, i did report the problem but i never went back in so i dont know how long it took to sort it out. Our room was small but ok for the one night away, it was clean and smelt fresh, it is very tired and dated i know a referb is due, it was a warm night so not cold with no double glazing, The beer is not a bad price, never had a meal but there were good deals on offer, Then on to the beach short walk about 5-10 mins, if you have problems with walking get a cab right ouside the hotel as its a steep hill down but worse back, nice for us through, We enjoyed a walkabout and sat on the pier in a deckchair nice and relaxing, food on the pier £10.95 for fish and chips per person far to much money, we found a stall and had buger and chips and one drink for just over £8 for two. We slept ok at the hotel but the mattress was very bad you could feel the springs,we stayed in a club room last minute so that may have all that was left for one night in aug b&b £115 for two.No nosie in the hotel to keep us awake it was great, and the night porter was very friendly and happy on our return in the evening.Breakfast it may have been because we arrived just after 10am and the eggs had gone a little hard and the toast was soggy but the rest of my full english was fine and plenty of, my partner disliked the tinned mushrooms and his egg,Never saw much of the staff only when they were clearing tables,but no one spoke to us or even ask if we were residents so anyone off the street could have come in for breakfast without being checked,as the hotel is open to the general public.We wanted to go back to the beach after checking out and the girl said we can leave our car there which was good, we went down to the gardens and played crazy golf and the band was playing it was great and still as nice as i remember as a child (long time ago)Went back to the hotel to get the pass to leave the car park for free, friendly girl and happy but never asked if we enjoyed our stay, we did enjoy it and will return but only after the referb and im sure everything else will fall into place.

Room Tip: As its on a roundabout then dont get a room at the front if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilmay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talc13, General Manager at Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Dear April,

Thank you for the review you have recently posted concerning your stay at the Roundhouse Hotel.
We take all of our guests comments seriously and I discuss them with the Heads of Departments concerned and give praise to those that go that extra mile to make your stay a more enjoyable one.
It is a shame you did not have the fish and chips at the hotel as we have a offer of Fish,Chips and peas, with a pot of tea and bread and butter for only £5.50 per person or a large portion for only £6.50. Perhaps the view of the Bournemouth Bay is better than the cosmopolitan Lansdowne area??
I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bournemouth and to the Roundhouse Hotel and look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Good value hotel. Interesting bar entertainment in the evenings, if you like that sort of thing

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talc13, General Manager at Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments you have posted about the Roundhouse Hotel.
The hotel is in an ideal location for all that Bournemouth has to offer, not just during the summer months but all year round.
Our sister hotels, the Bournemouth Britannia and Heathlands Hotel, are also close at hand with further facilities available, including an indoor pool and entertainment in the evenings.

Kind regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £24 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing