We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed just this weekend for a Sat night. £50 included breakfast, a bottle of wine, buffet dinner. There is no free drinks except water served in the evening. Staff are generally ok, acceptable. Can't expect too much afterall it is a very cheap deal via their web site! We enjoyed the spacious room, and large bathroom, very clean everywhere, deco and hotel itself is very outdated with single glaze windows. Luckily we are in March, but we felt a bit cold at night because the radiator was not on all night or in the preferred hours that when we needed the most i.e. between 9.30pm to 12am or 7am in the morning! There was no radiator in the bathroom but it does come with a nice large bath tub.

We would hear our next doors quite clearly and separated by x2 others doors to our left and right neighbour which felt a bit weird. So you go inside your room, there are actually x4 doors, first one on the left is your left neighbour's room (they are constantly locked), then it's our room, opposite is the bathroom, then is your other neighbour's door (also locked), but we all have our own entrance to our room.... So there were quite many doors and multiple levels within one level. I was wondering that it won't be good for young children, elderly or disabled to visit this hotel due to the various steps up and down within one level. It's a bit weird. It's all because of the round shape of the hotel.

The evening buffet was a bit of a let down in terms of taste and food selection, the desserts were constantly gone very quickly and did not replaced for next customers. No drinks except tab water as mentioned earlier. And it feels more like a giant canteen with all kind of people sitting and dinning together right next to each other. Very little privacy and food was very average - although quite plenty there.

I would say it is a fair deal for how much it costs. You get what you paid for and I accepted it is not the top quality. I didn't sleep through the night because of the noises from streets, wind and youngsters getting drunk and making noises above the floor to us and all sort. So if you want a good night sleep and a light sleeper then you have to be aware!

Car parking facility was £3.00 a day paid in advance, which was not bad and it's only less than 0.25 miles - much less.... a few minutes walk away from the front of the sea side. So with these points in mind, I think it's a bargain overall.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 318. If you have problems in walking and mobility, this hotel is not suitable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Overall, a nice budget hotel, let down by very poor standards of housekeeping and maintenance in the bedrooms. I arrived to find that my rooms skirting boards where thick with dust, not having been cleaned in months. The carpet was also badly stained and the general decoration very tatty. That said, for £30 a night DBB you can't really expect anything more. The communal areas of the hotel are very clean, and the standard of catering is basic but good. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for one nite 4 people we shared a room as all girls and family. Walked into the hotel booked a room was a bit dated but just what we needed . Only complaint would be the got water was not hot but I'm sure that can be fixed. Hotel is always being cleaned which is nice to see like I said there a bit tired the rooms. Breakfast was fab walk around buffet. Cereal full English, porrige. Fruit, continental ect cost me £50 for the 4 of us for bed and breakfast. Fab price will defo use again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charitydingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Close to town, bars, clubs and beach!
Great if your on a budget or just here for a night on town! Rooms and hotel very dated, not the cleanest! No remote to the very old tv, carpets don't meat wall and wallpaper ripped off in places!! Shower and bathroom terrible! Price is represented in this, we had a great weekend as we did a last min getaway for a few drinks in town, but I wouldn't pay over £50 for it!!
The breakfast buffet was good!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Packs1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

just spent a great weekend at the roundhouse. During the coldest weekend this year the bedroom was really warm - heating on all night. Food was excellent, really good choice and as much to eat as you wanted. Bed was very comfy and room clean. Bar area was a bit cold but it would have been really hard to heat given the temperature outside. Staff were all very friendly. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I took advantage of a "sale" week, so had a one night stay - Dinner, Bed & Breakfast plus a bottle of wine, all for £27. The food was fine, with a good choice - not high quality, but still enjoyable and as it was self service the quanties were faultless. The wine was actually rather good. Free parking was a real bonus. The room was dated but clean, the staff very helpful and the hotel warm. I can see that it is something of a coach party hotel, but hey given the price the value is remarkable. My room looked into the cental roof area, so dull. A good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottsinwested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

this hotel is a little tired and needs upgrading but that did not spoil our 5 day break with national holidays.our room was very clean,the bathroom was very warm due to a heated towel rail but there were problems with the central heating throughout the hotel.we were given an electric heater which did the job when switched on.the public areas ie the reception and restaurant were very cold throughout our stay.these problems were put aside though as the food at breakfast and evening meal was superb.all meals were buffet style and there was something for everyone with lots of choice always available.would certainly return.

Room Tip: even numbers faced several roads so were a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing