We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 September 2012

the hand pump of sanitiser gel on the reception desk asking you to clean your hands before entering and leaving the restaurant, the total lack of acknowledgement when standing at reception, the suggestion of 'there is the door if you want to leave and good luck with your new booking' from a cigarette stinking so called duty manager, a bucket load of lies and unsatisfactory excuses ... were to name but a few of the first five minutes worth of impression this shambolic excuse of a hotel left with me .... good luck too anyone that decides to stay here

Room Tip: choose a room somewhere else, thats my tip
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonessResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Roundhouse is a very Basic Hotel and too high Prices for this what they offering. Stayed there several times...........they are Excellent for Students,Stags & Hens because Hotel is locate right in the Town Center so if you are planning weekend it would be quiet night.
Adequate Sentence: You get what you paid for.

Extra charge 3.00 (per day) for Parking which is located inside around of the ROUNDhouse.

Staff always work very hard, they are very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Ask for Room away from Stags, Hens if there is any. Quiet Rooms - inside of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krak0vska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we have just returned from a 4 day break at the roundhouse, we travelled with just go coach travel who are an excellent company to travel with,on arrival at the hotel our keys were waiting for us so we were able to go straight to our room on the fourth floor.the room was clean and quite spacious as was the bathroom which had a good shower and a bath and lashings of hot water, but on the down side the windows were not double glazed and as we were overlooking the main road the traffic noise was quite noticeful but bearable BUT this changed at night when the local nightlife wandered around outside shouting, bawling and swearing most of the night and well into the morning( on saturday the noise continued untill 4.15 am) double glazing is desperately needed in the rooms at the front of the hotel...even secondary double glazing on the inside of the windows would cut out the worst of the noise.
The food was very well cooked and tasty with no problems at the buffet and the seating was arranged so that each coach had their own tables allocated, the staff were all polite and quite efficient .The one thing that needs altering is the bar prices, for some reason there is a price reduction untll 9pm sunday to thursday when the draught beer is £2.30 a pint then it rises to an extortionate £3.30 a pint, On fridays and saturdays the price is £3.30 a pint all the time, which is rediculous when there is a Wetherspoons pub about 5 minutes walk away selling pints at under £2.00 a pint.If the noise problem was solved and the bar prices set at a reasonable level then we would be more than happy to return as we do to the many brittania hotels that we visit around the country.

Room Tip: avoid rooms at the front of the hotel due to excessive noise levels
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vondoenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times now as part of a Golfbreaks package with three others.Yes, the hotel is old and shabby in parts and could do with being refurbished but those complaining reviewers should think hard and take into consideration the cost, its a cheap, very cheap hotel and this is reflected by the old adddage" you pays yours money etc"
Since last year the Round House has introduced a £3 daily charge for parking, why, because non-residents were pakring there and then walking into town. saying that its only a 20min walk to either the beach or main shops so its offers a good central location.
The hotel is very popular with coach companies, especially northeners and the scottish and this is where a lot of problems eminate from .Despite being given allocated seating and meal times they all ignore this and arrive en-mass and sit where ever they like. They also have big apetites, some enjoying two mains and even three sweet s.So if there a shortage of food then blame them and not the management. They are also sloppy with serving themselves.The food was buffet style and was very good at both breakfast and dinner and was constantly being topped up. Waiters also kept themselves busy clearing tables. Our two bedrooms were not the best that we had stayed in elsewhere but were neat, clean and tidy. The bathroom was spotless and would have met with my wife's approval. Plently of hot water and a very good shower.Beds were on the hard side and there was some traffic noise from the main road roundabout outside (hence the name of the hotel) All in all its a good average hotel for a brieif stay but beware the northeners !

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, don't unpack and then complain speak nicely to the charming rec...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Dont stay in this hotel we just got back from it the wallpaper is peeling off the walls the paint work is all chipped handle falling off the bathroom door plus the main door into bedroom had aload of masking tape on covering a hole of some sort.There was damp patches in the bathroom and it was bloody freezing in it.The bath had a stain in it the whole time we where there.I really think they should do a compelete make over on this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel because Just Go had offered this for only £115 for 4 days so we took a chance and came back again, we went there exactly one year ago, interesting to find that after a year of bad reviews this hotel hadn't changes one bit, the same shocking stampede for the buffet,same disorganised chaos for the tables , our dinner was for 7.15 pm that was very late for us hardly had time to eat it before the entertainment came on , Saturday night there was no entertainment at all and the bar was almost empty, nothing to stay in for.
Room was ok but would I go again ,I don't think so, nothing to come back for.

Room Tip: OK if you are desperate for a few days away , good for children as the beach is near.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrapaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

After paying £78.00 for myself for one miserable night, I left in the morning feel quite depressed!
The bed was worn out, sun streamed in through thin white curtains, walls paper thin, shower was just a trickle and bath too old and dirty to even think about entering. Bathroom made one feel queasy just being in it. Breakfast had a lot of deep fried stuff - no fresh bread just old toast. Tea from a flask , I could go on. If someone offered me a free nights stay here with dinner thrown in I would not endure it. The hotel is not fit for the purpose it is intended and why coach tour operators continue to bring their unsuspecting package guests to this place is beyond me.Its almost cruelty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £29 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing