We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

upon reading the very poor reviews for this hotel i was very pleasantly surprised. yes it is dated but the inside of the public areas of the hotel are well furnished & clean the rooms are a bit dated but roomy very clean with comfortable beds tea & coffee making facilities with biscuits, the bathroom was very clean with clean fluffy towels complimentary toiletries & a very hot shower. the rooms are not double glazed but we slept well & was not disturbed by noise even though we stayed over firday & saturday nights. The food was excellent, replenished often hot well cooked & tasty. the staff were very efficent, helpful & friendly. It is a very good budget hotel close to town with live entertainment. so worth the money & yes I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    130
    208
    156
    317
See reviews for
123
336
50
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

A big thank you to staff at this hotel for a great stay. Stays here for 5 nights on buisness.
Yes the hotel does need updating a bit but for under £30 a night with breakfast can't complain.
I would defiantly recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solo1Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed here recently for 2 nights because I had to work in Bournemouth- I would rather not work in Bournemouth than stay here again!
I felt that I was visitingthe 1970's set of Crossroads motel! The decor/quality within the rooms was poor and incredibly dated- Blutac stuck to the walls, stains on wood panelling, carpets, curtains and even lamp shades...and after visiting the Breakfast buffet on the first day (where in their defence the food was quite good!) we didnt visit again because of the rudeness of the staff, who ordered people to sit where they were told and then moaned about the lack of respect being shown to them! I have emailed a complaint to the hotel which has been acknowledged but feel that I have been given a standard 'thanks for pointing out the obvious' reply... and still waiting....

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robk1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Darlington, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just returned from Monday to Friday trip with National Holidays. The reception staff had all our keys ready for us as we got off the bus and with two lifts available it didn't take long to get to our room. 1st room we were offered was a 'smoking' room. As neither husband or I smokers and also due to health problems asked for change of room. Reception extremely helpful and swapped us from the 6th floor to the 5th floor on the outer circle. The room was a family room and smelled nice and clean. We had both a double and single bed. Adequate bathroom/shower etc but dated. The decor was newly painted, but over wallpaper which looked a bit obvious. The carpets ok ish but obviously not immaculately clean. The beds and bedclothes fresh and clean. Two arm chairs and ample clothes hanging space and drawers. The food was great. Good choice for all meals; always something you could eat. . Location good with sea front just a short walk away and a few small shops and a Witherspoons pub just round the corner. Happy hour for lager up until 9pm - only £1.30 per pint. for all of the nights we were there and also some entertainment either at our hotel or sister hotels almost next door. The staff were all lovely and helpful. What's to complain about - certainly not the price. Good value for what we paid. Hotel is a little tired and could do with a re-furbish but otherwise ok.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outercircle and fourth and fifth floor seem to be the best, unless you are a smoker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANNIEDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

the hand pump of sanitiser gel on the reception desk asking you to clean your hands before entering and leaving the restaurant, the total lack of acknowledgement when standing at reception, the suggestion of 'there is the door if you want to leave and good luck with your new booking' from a cigarette stinking so called duty manager, a bucket load of lies and unsatisfactory excuses ... were to name but a few of the first five minutes worth of impression this shambolic excuse of a hotel left with me .... good luck too anyone that decides to stay here

Room Tip: choose a room somewhere else, thats my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonessResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Roundhouse is a very Basic Hotel and too high Prices for this what they offering. Stayed there several times...........they are Excellent for Students,Stags & Hens because Hotel is locate right in the Town Center so if you are planning weekend it would be quiet night.
Adequate Sentence: You get what you paid for.

Extra charge 3.00 (per day) for Parking which is located inside around of the ROUNDhouse.

Staff always work very hard, they are very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Ask for Room away from Stags, Hens if there is any. Quiet Rooms - inside of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krak0vska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent staffs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we have just returned from a 4 day break at the roundhouse, we travelled with just go coach travel who are an excellent company to travel with,on arrival at the hotel our keys were waiting for us so we were able to go straight to our room on the fourth floor.the room was clean and quite spacious as was the bathroom which had a good shower and a bath and lashings of hot water, but on the down side the windows were not double glazed and as we were overlooking the main road the traffic noise was quite noticeful but bearable BUT this changed at night when the local nightlife wandered around outside shouting, bawling and swearing most of the night and well into the morning( on saturday the noise continued untill 4.15 am) double glazing is desperately needed in the rooms at the front of the hotel...even secondary double glazing on the inside of the windows would cut out the worst of the noise.
The food was very well cooked and tasty with no problems at the buffet and the seating was arranged so that each coach had their own tables allocated, the staff were all polite and quite efficient .The one thing that needs altering is the bar prices, for some reason there is a price reduction untll 9pm sunday to thursday when the draught beer is £2.30 a pint then it rises to an extortionate £3.30 a pint, On fridays and saturdays the price is £3.30 a pint all the time, which is rediculous when there is a Wetherspoons pub about 5 minutes walk away selling pints at under £2.00 a pint.If the noise problem was solved and the bar prices set at a reasonable level then we would be more than happy to return as we do to the many brittania hotels that we visit around the country.

Room Tip: avoid rooms at the front of the hotel due to excessive noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vondoenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing