We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Arrived with a party on a Tinsel and Turkey coach tour. What a disappointment. The festive atmosphere was nil. Yes, we had a buffet turkey dinner - no decorations, music, fun! After dinner there was bingo and a quiz, this was the entertainment EVERY night. Our last night there was supposed to be a New Years Eve party - bingo and a quiz again. The dining room was more like a canteen, soul less. The bar area where everyone was supposed to sit during the evening was freezing cold, we were told that the system had broken down and that they were waiting for word from HQ as to what to do about it! The food, on the whole, was good although unimaginitive and could have been hotter. On the plus side, the room was nice - warm and cosy. The shower also was good. Not a hotel I'd hurry back to though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamelabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

after i mess about trying to get a room here, i really wish i didn't, i was working over night so the hotel was purely to rest for a couple of hours, but trust me you don't want to stay here for long.

very out of date and everything is just falling apart, very hot inside and the noise is really bad as well, i have not much to say but for what i experience i would not stay here unless it was necessary.

and this is for the managers, please don't put carpets on a desk or a room table, carpets are for the floor. (its not very hygienic), this place could do with a renovation or at list the room i was. but thanks the sheets are white.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morenito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Where to start really with this review but first of all I will say the staff at the hotel were fine throughout. First night our hotel room was cold and the radiator did not work. Breakfast next morning was very good in terms of selection but why oh why do we have to have air conditioning on in winter meaning one had to eat quickly before the food was cold. Second night we didn’t take kindly to being woken up about 3,00am by drunken youths on the same floor as us who didn’t shut up for an hour or so which didn’t at all make for a good night’s rest. All in all and even though the price was very good for a two night stay we will not being staying with this hotel chain in the future and will pay a little more for a few home comforts like HEATING.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steveb540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just spent a night at this poor excuse for a hotel with my wife and a party of friends after attending a football match. My first impression was that it was looking rather tired and in need of refurbishment but on the plus side the location was good for the town centre pubs, restaurants and clubs, probably a good job as last orders at the bar were called at 10:15 on Saturday night ! Sunday morning my wife and I took a stroll down to the sea front, on our return we found our locked room had been entered and our packed bags gone through, both our I pods, my wife's watch and earrings had gone. there was no sign of forced entry. On reporting this at the main desk we got no help, the girl at the desk said we must have left the door open which I know we didn't because we both checked it as we left, she was also very quick to say the domestic staff didn't start until later. On contacting the police we found this had happened on a number of occasions recently, in fact they were at the hotel earlier that morning investigating one that happened the day before.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, the security is none existent, the décor is tatty and the staff are rude and unhelpful, the breakfast was lukewarm which just about sums up the place!

Room Tip: try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for one night on a stag weekend, but was not responsible for the choice of hotel. Having checked the reviews I was not expecting very much. As has been mentioned in other reviews the hotel is in desperate need of modonisation the room had antiquainted furniture which was damaged and the general decor of the room was very seventies. It was the lack of cleanliness that concerned me, the bathroom was superficially clean but when you looked closer there was dirt and grime and alarmingly there was blood on the tiles. The bedding although fresh and I think bleached clean was old and had some nasty stains on the sheets. A previous guess had obviously thrown up against one of the walls (beyond the hotels control), but the huge stain on the wall was pretty revolting. On the upside the staff were friendly and polite, the parking was dirt cheap at £3.00 and the location was excellent. It did not spoil our night as we were out until the early hours then fell in to a druken slumber. However this not the place for a romatic stay or family weekend.

Room Tip: Wait until its been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is possibly the worst Hotel I have ever stopped at!
Checking in time: 3.00pm, which is later than normal
The room: Dirty Marks/Stains on upholstery / Bedding etc, (according to fellow guests, this was the same in all the other occupied rooms on Floor 4)
The Hotel Bar: Closing at 10.30 on a Sat night!
The Breakfast: The cooked Breakfast, Tepid/warm, the Tea, Stewed and luke warm.
Then there's the non existent security:!
A couple had their room entered (not broken into) and when talking to the Police, found that this had happened the previous 2 days !. The Hotel staff at the Main desk attitude was "Their is only 1 Key to each Room, so couldn't have had the Door opened without breaking in" Err.. How do the maids get in to clean the rooms / change the bedding ???
Staff Attitude: Atrocious.. See above.
The Door locks are the old fashioned Key types, and are very lose, the main Room door doesn't "close too" without having to physically pull it closed.
Over all review: I would recommend you DONT visit this Hotel, until they have had a major refurbishment, put in security measures and either changed the Management or the current can prove they have been on training course's dated after 24.11.2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked by a friend for a one night stay. I wouldn't have booked this hotel but he chose it and paid in advance for the two double rooms.

The location was excellent for the centre of Bournmouth and it had its own car park within/beneath it. However, The reception and bar area set the scene: cold, dated and depressing.

Climbing the stairs to the fifth floor (lift was available) didn't increase our confidence either. Dated and grubby décor throughout. Basic room with limited facilities but again grubby and in need of redecoration. Bedsheets appeared clean though (a positive) and the window opened slightly to permit airflow.

Large bleached patch from a previous vomit stain on the carpet (size of a dinner plate) didn't really set the scene for a fun stay. Battered furniture and a grubby en suite with a poor shower.

However, the worst was to come. Our one night stay was like freshers week at a student digs. Late night teenagers returning from the nightclubs between 0300 and 0630 continued the partying in the corridors with shouting and screaming throughout the night. This wasn't just returning noisily to the rooms, this was party time in the corridor. The low cost of this hotel is perfect for the teenage reveller on a low-cost trip to the city - so if you're not in this demographic, avoid this hotel.

Depressing and definitely to be avoided.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Rochester-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing