We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay if your boozing all weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend decide to book a late room just for a spontaneous weekend in Bournemouth and as this hotel was the cheapest at the time we went ahead. We got to the hotel and the parking spaces were really tight behind the hotel so if you want to park the car park early or if your out late at night and drive back you won't get a space. We got into our room and it wasn't the cleanest of rooms, you could see that people had probably smoked in the room as the walls were marked and gone a funny colour. Very dated. But we worked out that the toilet wouldn't flush and was obviously faulty. We went down to the reception to ask to switch rooms and they replied "we have no rooms left, there's not a lot we can do" and I was appalled as a toilet is an essential and my girlfriend really needed the loo so I was furious that they didn't even seemed bothered to do anything. I explained that I wanted it fix by 6 as we were going shopping. Fortunately they kept to there promise but I don't understand how you can have rooms available and not check that the toilet doesn't work. Other than that it was just a bed to sleep on really as the walls were thin where you could here people shouting down the corridor and there was no fans or air con and in the summer it was so got we could barely get any sleep. It's great for a place to stay if your on a lads weekend or stag or hen do, but that's it. Probably pay more to stay at a cleaner nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P1anky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this hotel for just somewhere to "lay my head" after a night out.

The location was great as it was 2 minute walk from the clubs but the hotel was in a state!

The lobby was well presented but deceiving.

The rooms stunk of smoke and I was not made aware on booking that the rooms were smoking rooms. They were hot and stuffy and the windows wouldn't open far enough to let any air in.

The beds were clean, I can say that much.

The bathroom was filthy, the shower just about worked.

£3 per night charge for parking!!!!! The breakfast was nasty and tasteless.

If you want a cheapish hotel (I don't think £170 for a weekend is justified), close to the clubs then this is ideal. But if you want somewhere nice and up to date then avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Looking up what comments Tripadvisor had published about The Roundhouse, I decided to speak to the Management for their comments and had the assurance that whilst you can always have grumbles as some things don't always suit every customer, basically they did provide a service which they tried hard to back up with effort.
Hence our three day visit was towards the end of the first week of school Summer break a time when children and parents took advantage of the great weather by cramming every hotel to the brim.
But we managed to get a first floor, spacious double room, even it wasn't the most modern. But it was clean.The mattress on the double bed, nicely prepared, was as good as we have ever had, with four soft pillows.and duvet, bed-side lamps and side cabinets. a flat screen tv, large wardrobe and a couple of easy chairs. And it looked out to the side with double glazed windows that could be widened by the management if asked.
There was also a large bathroom with immediate very hot water,a bath and shower and ample towels
A spacious garage ran under and around the hotel which at £3-00 per 24 hours put the rest of Bournemouth's parking charges to shame.
The reception was to the left of the hotel's smart, open and welcoming entrance, with double lifts, whilst alongside there was a tv section joining up with entry to the bar and breakfast/dining room area, which had doors opening out onto the front patio garden next to the street. and, if needed, taxi rank
To sum up, the manager we dealt with, Mr Carlos Goncalves and receptionist Marie, were more than helpful and we will again use this ideally placed hotel the next time we are staying in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: speak to the management first and they will make every effort to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank jbce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel once and not coming back for sure! The rooms, cleanliness, staff and everything about this hotel is just horrible. Location - average for Bournemouth, you can stay in plenty of hotels in Bournemouth with much better location, amenities and prices! This is not the cheapest hotel either! Room was hot, with horrible bathroom, shower, ewwww.....the cigarettes smell was very strong in the room as well, could not open the window, which is disaster especially in hot summer! Bathroom floor is so old and filthy, and the noise is just unacceptable - could not sleep properly. The staff is trained under Britannia rules, everything costs money, early check-in, late check-out (even half an hour later), any extras, just everything costs you money in this hotel, not really good value at all plus this hotel is just so dark and filthy, not worth staying a night in there!!!! Not recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Vicky x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just back from a stay in The Roundhouse ( Caledonian Tour from Glasgow) and we found the hotel to be fine in most respects. A wee bit "tired" and in need of some TLC but perfectly suitable for our needs ( ie breakfast and sleeping). The breakfasts were really good with a buffet style service and the staff ( Spanish / Polish) were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and clean and as I said earlier were a bit "tired" but still perfectly acceptable. If you are looking for a 5 Star experience go elsewhere but for the money we paid I`d be more than happy to recommend The Roundhouse. We`ll be back again ! In closing a final word for the wonderful staff who really try their hardest to make your stay comfortable. 10 out of 10 to all involved. The Manager is so lucky to have such lovely staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not impressed by this hotel. I would not want to pay the hotel prices, when a coach party ,with included travel is cheaper than their rates. I came by National Holiday's who proved to be good value overall..
Get's very hot due to the hotel's design of being round.
The food is exceptable, but not healthy.
Basic room with old analogue TV converted to hotel network to receive channels.

Otherwise generally kept clean and polite staff

Room Tip: Definetly make sure you don't get a room on the" inner side" of the hotel; as due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I booked in for one night for work. The room was clean but worn. The bathroom was clean, tatty and worn out. A comfy bed though and a good breakfast. Desperately needs a facelift but for the money in that area its hard to beat.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £24 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing