We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we thought”
Review of Bourne Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bourne Hall Hotel
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After reading some of the reviews we we're a bit dubious . We came to stay 2 nights for my husbands 60th , they we're very welcoming and could not do enough for us . Yes the rooms are dated but spotlessly clean . The food was lovely full breakfast and 3 course dinners and for what we paid was more than adequate .It was so close to everything shops pier beach park etc etc and would definitely go back again .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jillybob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Positives = Good location and staff were helpful and polite

Negatives = No snooker table despite being advertised on the website. Dated in general. Mysterious, rather dubious 'stains' on tiles in bathroom and on bedding. Could hear conversation and other noises clearly in room next door.

Mixed bag really but you get what you pay for I suppose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for the weekend of the airshow and the hotel was perfectly adequate. The room was a bit dated but clean, breakfast was good. The parking was useful behind the hotel. Great location to get to all the highlights of Bournemouth especially the BIC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

arrived on friday 30th aug for 1 night,parked, checking in was ok,room was average,room 307,shower was a mixer type and totally useless,toilet was not secure to the floor,bad maintenance,next morning breakfast was ok,checked out and as i was reversing out,my wife noticed a screw from the hotels car park go in my tyre,which they charge £5 per day to stay,spoke to hotel manager,tried to remove screw but decided to find a tyre place,i told him there was more nails down by my car and he said it was the maintenance not clearing up,spent 1 hour finding a tyre place and £25repair bill,i emailed the hotel and asked if they would pay for the puncture due to poor housekeeping,the manager emailed back and said there were no more nails in carpark ,funny that,also he said car park is checked daily,really,not what i saw of it,anyway based on this and poor maintenance we will not be going back here again,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

On arriving at reception was greeted politely, we had room 3 which was located just across from reception, room was big and bed linen looked spotless, bathroom was clean ish! Location was excellent just a short walk to the beach, staff very friendly and breakfast was very good! Would I recommend this hotel! Yes needs updating but a lovely family hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kira2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have to say I was dreading this hotel after reading the latest reviews. My boyfriend booked this through a KGB deal. Bed, breakfast and 3 course evening meal for 2 for two nights. I psyched myself up and was prepared for the worst!
We arrived at 7.55pm after being held up on the M25 for hours! We were greeted and checked in efficiently. I had a little moan about paying the parking fee as it says free complimentary parking on the website but was shown that it isn't actually their website! Also thought we were out of luck for the evening meal as we were so late (it's from 5pm - 8pm) but they took our order and while we unpacked in our room the chef kindly cooked our dinner. Although the menu is quite basic, what they did offer was cooked well, nicely presented and plentiful.
Our room, 101, was situated at the back, overlooking the car park and decking. Nice and quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Fresh and hot it offered a full english, cereal, fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast.
One of the owners came over and spoke every time we were downstairs. He has recently taken over with his brother and have inherited a tired looking hotel. They are gradually redecorating and improving the hotel and this was evident in the dining room. Our room wasn't one that had been redecorated or refurbished but it was very clean and tidy.
Please don't brush this hotel aside. My boyfriend and I are in our late 40's so are a quite fussy where we eat and sleep and have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookiegirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I had booked a two day stay at Bourne Hall Hotel through KGB. It was with some trepidation that we set off to the hotel after reading some of the very poor reports given by visitors on Trip Advisor. We decided we would go with an open mind.
The hotel is situated in a pleasant area of Bournemouth, convenient to walk into town, and only one street back from the sea cliffs. There is plenty of parking space. The parking is free, except on Friday and Saturday night, when the charge is £5.00 per night. Booking in was very simple. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The small lift took us up to the first floor, where we had asked for a twin bedded room. There are areas of the hotel that could be said to be a little tired. The carpet on the stairs was frayed on the tread, and several windows in the hotel required painting.
The bedroom was quite adequate. The linen and towels were pristine white and the room was very clean. All the services worked; shower, TV, lights etc.The mattresses were a little tired, but this did not stop us getting a good night’s sleep. Our room looked over a side road, but there was a little road noise from the main road, but not enough to cause us any problems.
Our KGB deal was for D,B&B for two nights. The evening meal was very basic. The main course consisted of a choice of quiche, ham eggs and chips, fish and chips, adequate but not exciting. Breakfast was much better. Full English help yourself buffet. The quality was equal to many 4 star hotels we have been in. The meals were served quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: We had room 108 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Hotel

Address: 14 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bourne Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bourne Hall Hotel: comfort and style with a very warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Bournemouth
Hotel Bourne Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing