We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what we wanted”
Review of Bourne Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourne Hall Hotel
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for what we wanted”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited Bournemouth for a stag do in a group of 13, staying at the Bourne Hall for 2 nights. We didn't spent much time there, but when we did we thought it was great.

Rooms were ok, shower, toilet etc worked. Rooms at the rear have a sea view. Breakfast wasn't great.

Staff were all really friendly and as Brummies felt right at home.

Would happily return for something similar, but not for a romantic weekend away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    78
    64
    41
    57
See reviews for
41
99
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N E Lincs
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I took a group of 29 on a walking holiday staying at this hotel. OK, so the rooms are in need of some decoration/refurbishment but the current owners have not been here so long. We found the staff and management to be exceedingly helpful. They agreed to all our requests re seating arrangements at meals. They did everything they good when two of our party needed medical assistance. They deal with coach tours very efficiently.
The food was in the main very good. There was an adequate choice and plenty of it. The cooked breakfast was excellent - nothing greasy here.
Our room (304) was on the third floor with a lovely view and it was quite spacious with a bath and shower over the bath. Shower was very good except when we all arrived back together and the water pressure was noticeably lower than usual. It wasn't a problem.
This hotel is ideally placed for the centre of Bournemouth and we felt that, given the overall price of our holiday, it was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NElincsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was really happy with my experience at the Bourne Hall Hotel. We booked two twin rooms at a bargain price (especially considering it was in school holiday time), paying a little extra for breakfast to be included. The hotel was spacious, the staff were welcoming and friendly, and everywhere was very clean. It's not amazingly modern or trendy, but I found the rooms pleasant nonetheless, and considering the price I was very pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was lovely and I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Apart from it's location, the Bourne Hall Hotel has absolutely nothing to offer.
We had a 2 night stay here at the end of March.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly smile from the receptionist but we should have known it wasn't going to be a positive experience when we were handed the keys to room 101.
After climbing the dirty and threadbare stairs to the first floor, we opened the door to a room which was less than basic.
The headboard was hanging off the wall and we were greeted by a panoramic view of the rear car park or should I say - The piece of waste ground behind the hotel.
We didn't expect to see herds of wildebeest sweeping across the plains of the Serengeti or the Hanging Gardens of Babylon from our window , but some tarmac on the car park would have been a start !
For our comfort, the Hotel had kindly made sure the bathroom didn't get too hot and the towels didn't get too dry by ensuring the heated towel rail stayed freezing cold at all times !!
They also did their bit for the environment by making sure the light over the mirror didn't use too much power ! This was achieved by making sure it didn't work !!
The bed was rock hard and could be likened to sleeping on a pile of crazy paving !!
The 'Entertainment System' in the room (with it's tablet size TV screen) was a real experience !!
From the bed, the onscreen menu was only visible via high power binoculars and I could get better sound quality from my mobile phone.
A three course meal was included in our 2 Night stay so we were hopeful that things would improve.
We walked into the empty restaurant / bar and seated ourselves at one of only 4 tables.
Immediately, member of staff appeared and rushed over to our table, and then continued to stand over us until we gave him our order from the sparse menu. I kept turning the Menu around thinking there must be a page missing !!
(A drink with our forthcoming meal would have been nice but nothing was offered)
We went for the most exotic choice --- Soup, Sausage and Mash and Ice Cream.
(Packet Soup, Instant Mash and cheap Ice Cream)
Drinks not forthcoming - I eventually walked over to the bar which was full of contractors relaxing after a full days work in dirty work wear and waited 10 minutes to be served ( taking that time to soak up the ambience !! ) or was that the aroma of workman !!!
The only positive thing to say about the food here was that luckily the portions were small.
The second night, we gave the Bourne Hall Hotel dining experience a miss and went into town for a meal.
We didn't see many other guests when we were in the hotel so didn't get the chance to join the escape committee.
This Hotel should be avoided unless you enjoy a challenge.
The best part of our 2 day break was checking out !!
If you do find yourself at this hotel remember to wipe your feet on the way out !!
A bit grubby and a big disappointment !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank waddesdonjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

When staying at this 'hotel' you must take into account the fact that a double room with breakfast is £47 per night or £23.50 per person.....it is cheap. If you want an overnight stay and you are not too fussy on the type of accommodation then this may suit you. My wife and I will NOT return.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

very good value with this budget hotel. all of family who run this hotel were very helpful and friendly the hotel is slowly being refurbished and every where was clean. the bedroom was a good size and the bed comfortable. the breakfast and evening meal were very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here by myself earlier in the week. First of all, I stayed here due to a good price and reasonable reviews on here.

I checked in with no problems, the receptionist was very friendly and I was checked in within minutes.

I was staying in a single room which was very basic as I expected. The room was clean and had a nice view of the water.

My only slight gripes with the room were:

It was slightly dated
The shower lacked any power whatsoever and was either stone cold or boiling
The toilet was some form of electrical toilet (explained on the wall what couldn't and couldn't be disposed of) It made a massive noise when flushed and wasn't very good.

Overall I had a pleasant sleep on a reasonable bed. I didn't have breakfast or even so much as a drink in the bar but all the facilities in that department looked fine.

I would use the hotel again if it was at the same cheap rate, any more expensive and I'd stay in better, newer facilities.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cralph17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Hotel
Address: 14 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bourne Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bourne Hall Hotel: comfort and style with a very warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bourne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Bournemouth
Hotel Bourne Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing