We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great value”
Review of Wyvern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyvern Hotel
Ranked #51 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely people, great value”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just returned from our 'last minute' one night stay at The Wyvern Hotel which we only booked the night before. What a gem! We received a very warm welcome from Vicky & Dave who supplied us with drinks and biscuits within 5 mins of us arriving. Although we had no special requests we got the feeling that nothing would have been too much trouble for them.

Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet even though it was located on the ground floor.
There was a generous supply of items on the tea tray in our room (most hotels usually only give you enough milk for 2 cups and we could have had 8!). Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice!

It was a short 10min walk down to Boscombe beach which which had beautiful golden sands. There is also a Harvester restaurant where we went for our evening meal.

Bournemouth Town was approx. 1.5miles up the coast.

Just three really really minor negative points (just because I'm a bit of a compulsive obsessive)... The poor goldfish in reception could do with a cleaner, bigger tank and, there was a vase of flowers on the reception desk that were well past their prime (probably better to have no flowers at all rather than a bunch of dead ones!). Last thing. just me being anal but it's a bugbear of mine ... a piece of paper is provided in the room for you to use at your will .... it has the heading 'Wyvern Stationary'. It's StationEry.

All in all - A lovely place with lovely people. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryCatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
55
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were genuinely delighted by the warm welcome we received for our one night stay at the Wyvern Hotel which had been chosen for its close location to Bournemouth FC. The room was comfortable, clean and well decorated. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and constant top ups of coffee/tea if desired. We would definitely recommend this Hotel to any visitors to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightyRoyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were looking for a good value family Band B in Bournemouth for a one night stay. This was perfect. Vicky and Dave were very attentive and gave us a great recommendation for an evening meal. The hotel is spotless and the room was spacious and very comfortable. The children made use of the Wii in the lounge and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was great and Vicky was very accommodating when we said we needed to eat early.

I would highly recommend the Wyvern for a good value comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were only in Bournemouth for one night on this occasion visiting our son at his new house (which they've yet to move into so no beds there!) so just wanted a conveniently located B&B; my wife came up with The Wyvern based on a postcode search. And what a lucky find ..... we were greeted by possibly the friendliest and most welcoming proprietors we'd ever met or could hope to meet. Vicky and David were most helpful with carrying bags, offering tea or coffee there and then, giving us a map of the locality and getting the registration formalities cleared quickly and painlessly. After checking in we were straight back in the car back to our son's place and only returned to the Wyvern about 10 p.m. into our most comfortable and well-equipped room; the décor and cleanliness throughout the hotel couldn't be faulted and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. In the morning we both had the 'full English' which was quickly produced and extremely tasty; there were cereals and continental items available too if required and the coffee was also excellent. We were almost sorry that we were only there for one night but we'll certainly see about renewing our acquaintance with the Wyvern and its excellent proprietors should the need arise. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and was very quiet (on a Saturday night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a lovely place to stay, I only booked for one night and was sorry I couldn't stay longer. Such a warm welcome when we arrived, with tea and biscuits. Vicky and Dave are really nice and so friendly. I took my little grandson and he loved all the toys and playhouse in the lounge. The full English breakfast was excellent, and I definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Or rather ....we will be coming back for more.
We had originally only booked two nights whilst attending a gig at the nearby 02 Academy, but we stayed an extra night as we enjoyed the Wyvern so much.
The owners Vicky and Dave are extremely friendly and welcoming and the "Full English" is very tasty,there is alsoContinental style Breakfast available .
The Wyvern is nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with a warm welcoming atmosphere.
There are 2 private Parking spaces , but also plenty of free parking directly outside the Hotel in the well-lit street.
The Wyvern is an easy 10 minute stroll in either direction towards The Pier and beach or to Boscombe main shopping area where the 02 Academy is also based.
The Hotel is good for all kinds of guests, music lovers attending the 02, surfers using the Man-made surfing Reef just off the Coast, Families,older couples , anyone who likes a friendly welcome, good service, comfy beds , spotlessly clean ,hot showers , a large tasty breakfast and close to all amenities but within a quiet street.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1CLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyvernBournemouth, Owner at Wyvern Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi Paula & Denise, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward too welcoming you back. When you return you'll be pleased to know we have 2 car parks. The main one has 5 bays and is on the front left hand side. Hope the weather is great for you at the Larmer Tree festival in July. Best Wishes Vicky & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having read the reviews before staying we knew this was going to be a good place to stay and we were not disappointed. Vicky and David were the perfect hosts and were always on hand to offer advice on the area - The room we stayed in was large, bright and very clean - the bed was v comfy and the area was quiet so we had 2 nights good sleep. The breakfasts were lovely - high quality ingredients and lots of choice.

It is a quiet area but that was perfect for us - the beach is gorgeous and a 5 mins walk away with Bournemouth about 30 mins along the beach. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in Bournemouth and a few local tot he B & B. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine_duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyvernBournemouth, Owner at Wyvern Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It really does make us so happy to know that people have enjoyed their stay. Vicky & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#41 of 132 in Bournemouth
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#101 of 132 in Bournemouth
13 reviews
2.0 mi away
Liza Inn
Liza Inn
#47 of 132 in Bournemouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingsley Hotel
Kingsley Hotel
#24 of 132 in Bournemouth
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Urban Beach Hotel
The Urban Beach Hotel
#14 of 132 in Bournemouth
459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#90 of 132 in Bournemouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyvern Hotel

Property: Wyvern Hotel
Address: 24 Glen Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyvern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyvern is a warm & friendly family 4 star guesthouse catering for couples and families on vacation. Ideally situated between safe golden sands and Boscombe's historic Victorian shopping arcade. From the moment you step inside this privately owned hotel your hosts David & Victoria Brown will endeavor to make your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing