We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyvern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyvern Hotel
Ranked #48 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights and though we had mixed weather we had a lovely stay,Dave and Vicky are very friendly and attentive owners .We went when the hotel was full because of the airshow but Dave runs the breakfast room very efficiently and a well cooked and plentiful breakfast was never far away.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
54
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Where to start, we had booked to stay for 5 nights here. We arrived later than we had stated still to be greeted by Vicky & Dave who made sure we had drinks and biscuits which were welcome after our long journey! There had been a slight mix up with our booking and the family room which slept 5 had been filled, Vicky had already rectified this via phone and had another room made up for my older daughter. This suited us as she had her own space. We had the offer of taking our luggage to our rooms. Both rooms were fresh and clean, the family room having en suite and tv/dvd. Ideal location with the beach being a 10 min walk and Boscome town center only 5-6 mins. Breakfast the next morning was fresh cooked by Vicky, it was delicious. Dave took our orders and tended to making sure we had more toast, topped up coffee and juice. It was all executed perfectly even though the hotel was full! The lounge area had a play house, wii console and lots of other things for the kids to play with. They even had a little guest fridge for milk and Sandwich bits which was a very good idea...Vicky even put our freezer packs in their freezer overnight. Our rooms were made up every day. I could go on but I will simply say nothing was too much trouble for Vicky and Dave, this is truely a fantastic family hotel !!

Thank you for a lovely stay and sorry for ordering all four types of egg every morning :)

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sezzoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We arrived at the wyvern to be greeted by Vicky who was very friendly and offered refreshments to the whole family, our room was at the very top of the hotel via 4 short flights of stairs the room was very clean and tidy with fresh towels and bedding which were changed on a daily basis, breakfast was delicious with a good range on the menu and was served by Dave & Vicky themselves both were on hand if we needed that extra slice of toast or a top up on tea/coffee. The weather was beautiful over the 4 days we stayed which was mostly spent walking along the beach which was within ten minutes walk from the hotel and again was very clean and welcoming. we visited a range of places the oceanarium being one of them which was a great experience for all of us. So if ever you find yourself having to stay anywhere while your in Bournemouth i can say without any doubt that The Wyvern Hotel is a highly recommended place for all your needs well done Dave & Vicky.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights, friendly welcome and a very enjoyable stay, we had the family room on the ground floor, very clean and fresh and homely. Can't fault the breakfast, amazing!! Breakfast tunes very good too! thank you David :) Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel or coming here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel and had an absolutely perfect stay. David and Vicky were incredibly welcoming and made us feel well and truly at home. The location was great as it was only 10 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes from the town. Breakfast was absolutely beautiful and we slept like babies both nights. We had literally no issues at all with the entire weekend, it was everything we could have hoped for and more.

Thank you so much for such a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the Wyvern Hotel during a recent visit to Bournemouth to see my mum. I was delighted by the friendly welcome and the bright and breezy room I was allocated. After a great night sleep I treated myself to a wonderful breakfast . All in all a great stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garytsmith2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyvernBournemouth, Owner at Wyvern Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you ever so much for these kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Can't praise this hotel enough. The owners were an absolute pleasure - flexible and accommodating. The room was spotless, the bed fresh, clean and I slept like a log.
The breakfast was particularly good and the hosting faultless.
If you are looking for a base to enjoy the Bournemouth area then this is definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#49 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#40 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsley Hotel
Kingsley Hotel
#24 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Winter Dene
The Winter Dene
#54 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#46 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amarillo
Amarillo
#42 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyvern Hotel

Property: Wyvern Hotel
Address: 24 Glen Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyvern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyvern is a warm & friendly family 4 star guesthouse catering for couples and families on vacation. Ideally situated between safe golden sands and Boscombe's historic Victorian shopping arcade. From the moment you step inside this privately owned hotel your hosts David & Victoria Brown will endeavor to make your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing