We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langtry Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, hampshire
Level Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Special place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed at the Langtry Manor for one night mid week and booked it for my boyfriend for our anniversary as a surprise.
I absolutely loved it there!
The staff were very welcoming and we had someone help with our bags to our room.
We had booked the Gold Cup room which was in the lodge over the road and it had a gorgeous four poster bed and a double Jacuzzi in the room, gorgeous bathroom with heated floor and mounted TV.. as we had told them it was our anniversary they had left a rose and chocolates on the bed which was a lovely touch!
The Jacuzzi was lovely, takes a while to fill up as its Huge but really nice once its full, very relaxing.
Tea and coffee in the room and also a mini bar if it was needed.
We also had a three course meal in the restaurant which was very nice, we had some cocktails in the bar where our order was taken and then we were seated in the restaurant once our food was ready, we don’t really like fine dining but this wasn’t too much at all, it was really enjoyable. Beautifully cooked!
We also had a meringue nest with a sparkler bought out for our anniversary which was again a really nice touch.
Breakfast was amazing, really nicely cooked with toast and cereal as well.
I would definitely return again as its in a brilliant location and the room was gorgeous, I would love to stay in the Kings suite next time just to see what its like.
If you want to stay somewhere a bit different, very special and experience excellent service then Langtry is the place!
Thank you Langtry!

Room Tip: We booked the Gold cup which was gorgeous :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1986Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Aah we are so glad you chose Langtry Manor for your special anniversary, we love to be part of these occasions and spoil guests with those extra little touches. The Gold Cup is perfect for romance ;-) and we are delighted to see that you would like to come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    186
    49
    21
    29
See reviews for
78
614
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Went for the weekend mainly to try the Edwardian banquet.

Had a room in the Lodge which was nicely decorated but not very large. Our only complaint was the state of the wall by the bath which looked like someone had been rubbing bogeys on the wall. Could blame the cleaners but probably should blame ignorant guests.

Otherwise was looked after wonderfully food was good, particurly breakfast and Edwardian evening good fun.

Not cheap but you get the service you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The Edwardian Banquet is certainly a fun night and Chef is happy to see that you enjoyed the food. I was concerned to read your comments about cleanliness as our team work very hard to maintain our high standards. On further investigation it may be the variations in the natural stone tiles. We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a nice character hotel. It is a listed building, that was the former home of Lillie Langtry, consort of the then Prince of Wales. Loads of deep carpet and creeky bannisters, walls covered in memorabilia. Breakfasts are very good and staff are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel if you fancy something different from a generic modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our stay at our lovely historic hotel, it certainly oozes character doesn't it?! We pride ourselves on being a unique place to stay with our luxurious accommodation and scrummy food and we think our exquisite customer service makes us stand out from the generic hotels in town. Thank you for kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you're looking for somewhere really special to enjoy a little rest and relaxation in Bournemouth then The Langtry Manor is defintely the place to go. It's like taking a step back in time when you walk throught he doors at the Langtry. We have stayed there twice now, once in the main hotel, and once in the Lodge across the street. Both rooms were beautifully decorated with the addition of rich luxurious bed linens. Located close enough to walk to the cliff top at Eastcliff, and about a 5 minute journey in the car to the city centre, it's the perfect location. They have a stunning restaurant, again with beautiful decor and delectible food - breakfast of smoke haddock and poached eggs... just delicious. Tons of character and steeped in history. Just fabulous. Definitely recommend a few nights here when you're feeling like something a little extra special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieT402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Wow, thank you for such a lovely review. Our whole ethos is to be somewhere special for someone special, and your review title gave me a warm glow! We are thrilled that you have enjoyed the Langtry Manor experience on all of your visits and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas & had a fab experience. Although we had one of the smaller rooms there was swimming on the service or quality.
The place is steeped in history & justifiably they play up to the Royal connections. The Edwardian dinner on Saturdays is a treat.
Check out the Kings room & take time to look around the intriguing Langtry memorabilia.
This is definitely one to visit.
Enjoy ! We did

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed the ambiance and character of the old place, it is a lovely building. My brother Miles will be delighted that you enjoyed our museum area and all the Lillie Langtry memorabilia, he's been collecting for years! The Edwardian Banquet is definitely something unique and not for the diet conscious with 6 courses of scrummy food! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our second time here. Stayed in the Gold cup room both times. Fantastic double jacuzzi in room. My wife was following a vegan diret and the restaurant easily accommodated her needs - including soya milk at breakfast. The staff are great. Nothing was too much trouble.
Top tip: If you have stayed before book via the hotel direct. Discount available for repeat customers that doesn't show on the usual interweb sites!

Room Tip: Its worth asking the receptionist to explain the various options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
It was so lovely to welcome you back to the hotel for a second visit, The Gold Cup is a gorgeous room to return to. We are always happy to cater for guests with special dietary needs, Chef is well used to vegans and vegetarians as there are quite a few on the staff! Love your top tip too - we certainly do reward our returning guests ;-) We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rdd visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

The room was very nice and especially so as we had a spa bath. The staff were very accommodating and the breakfasts were especially good - they had a large choice that was very high quality fresh produce which really made it for us. We even enjoyed a few light lunches and room service which was very tasty and quite reasonable for such high quality meals.
Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short due to a family emergency but we really did enjoy the hotel service and food. Our only downside would be that we found the bed very hard which meant we didn't sleep quite as well as we had hoped but other than this I would recommend this lovely hotel that is situated just off the main town centre which meant it was quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a spa bath room -it's so worth it if you want a relaxing soak after a day sight seein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Hi

We are so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us, and sorry that the bed was too hard for you. Mattresses are a very personal thing, and that is why we have a selection of mattress toppers on hand so you can get the perfect night's sleep. Simply mention this to our friendly Reception team on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing