We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Just stayed in the Langtry manor what a lovely hotel with nice staff. The rooms are beautifully decorated. They also welcome dogs (i have a boxer) i i didn't want to come home and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Langtry Manor, we appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    189
    50
    21
    29
See reviews for
78
622
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel is beautiful, we upgraded to a four poster with jacuzzi bath and it was well worth it. Our weather wasnt great so it was lovely to relax in a large stylish room and soak away the stress in bubbles. The staff are very attentive and helpful, the only disappointment was the restaurant as it did not live up to our expectations (well presented but not much of it!)
We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and soaking in the jacuzzi! Sorry to hear that the restaurant did not live up to your high expectations, we shall certainly make sure you do on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at Langtry Manor. The hotel is a refreshing change from the usual modern and characterless rooms found in most mid-range hotels with a lovely mix of traditional design and modern comforts.

We had a four poster and jacuzzi room in the lodge (next door to the main hotel across a quiet residential road) which was beautifully decorated and clean with antique furniture in keeping with the period of the building and a jacuzzi bath in the room. There were a couple of small issues, the main one being that there was no shower (except for a fixed shower head above the bath that produced a trickle of tepid water which was obviously more for show than use) and it was not practical to fill the large jacuzzi bath each time we wanted to wash. However, when we mentioned this to the receptionist the next morning she offered us a complimentary upgrade to a luxury room for the second night - the gold cup, which was fabulous.

The breakfast was delicious, I had a full English breakfast on the first morning and smoked salmon and scrabbled egg on the second, in addition to fresh juice, tea and pastries.

Overall, I would probably have rated the hotel 4/5 based on the first room (the grand national) mainly due to the lack of shower as I believe this is something that most people would want and expect in this type of hotel. However, I have awarded 5/5 due to the excellent customer service whereby the staff exceeded expectations to ensure that we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal at Langtry Manor Restaurant. Not the cheapest in town but food and service was impeccable. The next stop is to stay in the hotel. Pure luxury. Would recommend this place to anyone. We have been to Bournemouth a number of times but never found this place. Stumbled on it today by accident. I'm so glad we did. For anyone interested it is just off the Christchurch Road a short distance out of Bournemouth. The hotel is actually on Derby Road.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Lovely to read that you enjoyed your dining experience Keith. We are a little of the beaten track but that just adds to the charm of this historic manor. We look forward to the next time that you visit, hopefully as a hotel guest this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The outside of the Langtry Manor Hotel looks great, their web site is impressive and the Tripadvisor reviews were very good - but....

Entering our room I had a sinking feeling, like I had been there before 20 years ago (possilby 30 years ago). The room had a cheap acrylic carpet and some ancient secondhand furniture.

The bed was soft and cheap.

The toilet flush didn't work and I had to take the top off the resviour and trigger the refill manually.

The radiator in the room didn't work.

In short, the room reminded me why I don't visit the UK seaside any-more. It was interesting only in so far as it shows how far our expectations have risen.

On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was acceptable (we went for the salmon option) and the public areas of the hotel were as nice as in the photos.

I had hoped to find a gem tucked away in Bournemouth but I guess the economics of running a hotel on the South Coast are just impossible.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any reason to hope that some rooms are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments, it does not appear that we were your cup of tea.
The Sarah Bernhardt is a lovey room overlooking the garden and includes some antique pieces it is true, the flush has been checked and a new part replaced. I wish you had mentioned at the time the issues that you had with the room as we could have offered you an alternative. We are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and if you change your mind we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Do I need to say more? The jacuzzi in the room stopped working and what happened is that the moment i turn on the Jacuzzi, there was power failure in the whole hotel. And the hotel tried to blame it on me!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muralihere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hi Muralihere

Having read your review we are wondering if you have the correct hotel. Whilst it was nearly a year ago, we have no recollection of this event. Had you mentioned something at the time, we would of course made amends.

If this is the correct hotel, we would like to sincerely apologise for your experience. Please do call us so we can discuss it further.

Regards

Tara Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Excellent venue for a relaxing Afternoon Tea in wonderful surroundings. Lovely gardens too if the weathers nice, Lots of yummy sandwiches, cakes, scones, mini chocolate éclair's and a few strawberries too. But best of all a good cup of tea. A really enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyLou1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hi Lindy

Great to see that you enjoyed our delicious afternoon tea. It can be difficult to work here sometimes when you are surrounded by such tempting goodies. We think a great cup of tea is an essential element and good to see that you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, who knows if the weather is sunny you might even be able to enjoy tea in the gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing