We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No managers on duty?.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“No managers on duty?.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As a regular customer of this establishment I tried to phone today to see if there were any last min deals for the night, as advised on the website. Firstly it was almost impossible to understand the receptionist or her to understand me. Secondly she cut me off midway thru conversation. Thirdly she stated no reduced prices were to be had. Fourthly she refused to let me speak to anyone else saying no manager was on duty. Only at this stage did she offer a slightly better deal. As a valued customer it really should not be this difficult to book a room at a favourite hotel. Will not be staying here again in spite of giving good reviews previously. The competition in Bournemouth is intense without putting potential customers thru the ordeal of making ones self understood to booking staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tombanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Untrue, Inapproriate and unhelpful.

Sir,

Your review reflects one phone call you made to this hotel. You did not stay. Our receptionist did understand your demand and incidentally speaks good english, There was a manager on duty however for reasons I perfectly understand he did not wish to take your call.

I can understand that you may have been upset and angry that you were not given a special reduction. I encourage you to remove this entirely innappropriate and unmerited rating and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    194
    51
    21
    29
See reviews for
79
640
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from a two night break, this was a revisit , we stayed here eighteen months ago and it was as excellent as it was the first time ;o) all staff are freindly and welcoming without being over bearing !! Breakfast were superb quality and plentiful.The shower refreshing and hot and the whitest,large fluffy towels and good supply of toiletries!! There is a spacious lounge/bar area to read papers , relax and enjoy a cheeky tipple ;o) The hotel is ideally situated , in a quiet location close to the beach and a short walk to the town and eating quarters.A very interesting hotel which has plenty of off road parking.Would highly recommend and definately return !! Again ;o)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Oh yes! I am so glad you once again enjoyed your stay with us at the Langtry, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review, our staff do like welcoming return guests and love being recognised in reviews. We like to go the extra mile for our guests

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our Easter break in Langtry Lodge was extremely comfortable and quiet. The four poster bed and
spa bath were great. Breakfasts were well cooked and the staff were friendly and polite. We look
forward to our next visit to Bournemouth and will stay at Langtry Manor Hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we very much appreciate them. I am so glad that you enjoyed your Easter break with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. As a return guest you are entitled to a reduction of 10% when you book directly with us on 01202 553887.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My new wife found this lovely hotel for Mini Moon; we were not disappointed with the lovely location that was helped by the excellent and unusually warm weather.

We were a little surprised when we arrived that the heating was on as it was extremely hot in the reception area, but the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Since we arrived early, we went to the lounge and were given complimentary coffee & tea until our room was ready. The room was extremely comfortable and clean as we expected, and it was really nice to see a Swan made from the towels together with a rose and chocolates on our bed, as they knew we had recently got married.

We had our first evening meal in the Langtry’s restaurant, and this turned out to be one of the best we had. The food was well presented and the taste was exceptional, the restaurant staff were also very professional and friendly and made you feel very special.

This is one place we will be returning on our first anniversary, I would highly recommend anyone looking for a luxury treat at a very reasonable price to stay and definitely eat at their restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsbicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Hat can I say except that it was a grreat pleasure to meet you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our service.

It is always rewarding when someone takes the time and trouble to recognise us by posting a review. And of course we have a romantic soft spot, so we do like people to have their honeymoon here in theses suroundings.

Please do not forget that you are entitled to 10% off future stays when booking dorectly with us.

Thank you and all the very best fo you both.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

this was our 4th vist.the 3rd in six weeks.the staff made our stay great every time we have been there.hotel clean ,food very good.forgot to tell them in march it was my 60th birthday,as you get extra treats i am told ,but you cant wish for a better hotel.we cant wait to go back later this year,we tell all the family & friends.i hope to book the kings room next .make you look this up as this is a great room for a treat,the staff let you look in this room if not been book,

Room Tip: any room.the best are in manor hse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us again recently and we look forward to seeing you again at your next visit. A belated congratulations, as we did not know about your special birthday on your March visit I have asked reception to note this and ensure we give you a special treat the next time you stay.

I look forward to seeing you again. All the very best to you both.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. We were really looking forward to staying here, as we had both visited on previous occasions for dinner. We did admittedly not book directly, maybe that was our mistake (well thats how the reception chap put it to us)!! Paid £131.00 to include a spa bath - led to believe we were staying in the lodge. Neither of these things happened. Anyhow I digress - the bathroom - what can i say? Clean yes - practical no - the shower head is too close to the wall for the slope at the bottom of the 'half bath'. Quite uncomfortable. The sink - as you ran water to wash hands, it either splashed on you or the floor. But the thing that was really not pretty was the kebab box, complete with mouldy food and fork - found on the top of the wardrobe - clear to see. The chap on reception said it had not happened before in 10 years!! Oh thats ok then. How about I'm sorry? And we were requestioned the next morning about where it was found - not impressed. Good breakfast, excellent waiters and waitresses, polite, helpful and very well trained. Would we want to revisit? Probably not, purely down to disappointment and having a room right above reception - made it very noisy - late check out of 11am - not needed as had been woken early :( Forgot to say nice touch though with the rose and chocolate easter bunny on the bed.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the Ellen Terry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and the service we provide as well as the special touches touches for your birthday. However I am most upset that you did not fully enjoy your stay. I would like to dispell your impression that the room attribution had anything to do with how you booked. Our records indicate that you booked a standard room with no specification as to which building it would be in. If some other agreement or request was made by phone or otherwise I do apologise for this and that you had a four poster bed instead of the spa bath room you requested .

Many people do request the room you stayed in. It is true that the bathroom is small but the bath is full size and in an historical listed building one can not increase bathroom sizes by adding an extention.

As for the Kebab box which an indelicate former guest had left hidden on top of a wardrobe, this is of course a great disappointment for us and I am sure the reception were as shocked as you were. What was visible to you was clearly not visible to the chambermaids. I am sorry if you allowed this to ruin your birthday celebration.

I was made aware that you were unhappy about your room however you had gone out of the evening. I instructed reception to apologise and compensate you for this inconvenience
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two night honeymoon stay at the Langtry Manor Hotel. From the minute we stepped foot inside the hotel it was very evident that the friendliness of all the staff was one of their main attributes. Nothing was ever too much, service was always with a smile and this added to the warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food was to die for, well presented and freshly cooked with a good selection of wines available. While having a pre dinner drink in the bar area, your meal order is taken so there is no waiting around in the restaurant, once served you are never rushed, just sit back and enjoy, the service staff are very attentive. If you go there for a Saturday night be sure to indulge in the Edwardian banquet (6 courses) with the added bonus of a young actress performing a brief history of the hotel and it's founder Emilie Le Breton Langtry or better known as Lillie Langtry. Further on from this, the hotel has many artifacts on display depicting Lillie Langtry's life.
We stayed in Langtry Lodge, just across the road. The room was very well presented and had a relaxing feel to it, not just a bedroom. A four poster bed, plenty of clothing storage if your stay is longer, jacuzzi bath, tv, radio and wifi (although we struggled receiving this)
Langtry Manor is surprisingly located in a very peacful area in Bournemouth with the seafront a mere 15 minute walk and the main town centre not much further on.
Overall it was a perfect weekend and we were somewhat dissapointed to leave. Thank you Langtry Manor Hotel!
Mr & Mrs Taiani.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taiani2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Honeymoon Couple,

Well you already know what a pleasure it was for us to have you stay at the Langtry Manor during your honeymoon. ''What a lovely couple'' was what I heard several times!. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

We are all very romantic here so nothing pleases us more than to know that you enjoyed the surroundings, the food and the service. The Langtry Lodge is an ideal choice for those seeking a quiet romantic stay.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing