We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
“The Perfect Treat”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We had a great weekend in Bournemouth and absolutely loved Langtry Manor Hotel. The room was very luxurious (and the softest bathrobes), the staff were exceptionally friendly and the service was perfect. Will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    195
    51
    21
    29
See reviews for
79
641
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From the moment we arrived till we left the staff where extremly friendly, the room was exceptional with a huge jaquzzi and four poster bed, heated floor tiles really gave the bathroom that extra level of luxury.

From the quality bedrobes and bedding to the period features it really allowed us to relax and soak up the feeling of being spoilt.

Breakfast was well presented and really enjoyed the local produce especially the susages, despite the hotel being full the staff where above to give us the attention we needed to make us feel extra special.

would definatley reccomend this hidden gem right near the center of Bournemouth and be staying again, its worth making the trip from London.

Thank you for making our stay such a relaxing and endulgent experience hope to come again soon. (maybe for the next murder mystery or just to expeirence the Kings room!!)

Room Tip: The Kings Room is something special by the looks of things on the website and the staff, we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1984AlexH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After feeling a little low, imagine my surprise when my other half told me that I was going to be wined and dined royally at a local hotel.

The only one I knew that had royal connections going way way back was of course the famous Langtry Manor. Being close by we decided to stroll there, as I normally am self elected token driver and therefore no alcohol.

But on this occasion I was initially treated to an aperitif whilst sitting in the garden. We had arrived early for our meal but whilst we were enjoying our preprandial glass, we were never hurried along which was very refreshing to say the least.

Once we sat down at our table in the excellently appointed dining room with tasteful period decor, we were offered a menu with an excellent choice of courses, which we found difficult to choose from as everything looked delicious.

Having ordered drinks and same duly delivered to our table we continued to choose leisurely our courses in an unhurried atmosphere.

Once chosen we settled back enjoying the ambience of our surroundings, taking in the decor of a bygone era.

First course for me was Buffalo Mozzarella with plum tomato salad, excellent with the Pesto and Balsamic reduction, very fresh and tasty an ideal first course for me.
This was followed by a perfectly prepared fillet steak, accompanied by confit of shallots, roasted tomatoes, field mushrooms, steak cut chips and my choice of chef prepared freshly made sauce.
Dessert was easy for me the evocatively described Oxford Burnt pudding, which did not fail to delight when it arrived to table.
We had thought to have had the cheeseboard for dessert initially, but finally decided to have it in any case at the end with a glass of Port and very glad in the end when it arrived to table. With a range of local cheeses, homemade chutney, and delightful similarly homemade biscuits, it was a delightful end to a wonderful leisurely enjoyed repast.

We retired once again to the garden to enjoy a postprandial pleasure, which for me has to be Port and Brandy, both digestif and together very satisfying indeed.

If anyone is looking for an evening of simple unhurried eating experience why not try Langtry Manor like we did you won't be disappointed, we weren't although we have been treated before when we had Christmas lunch there last year, but that's another time.

Room Tip: Sufficiently out of town to avoid the sometimes brashness town offers to visitors whilst being conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a small break reviewing coastal towns. Although initially a small potential problem with the voucher system that we had booked through,we were greeted by the staff with great enthusiam and charm. It was not just a case of 'There's your key." The hotel has a distinct charm and history of which the manager is enthusiastic to point out!
My only slight criticism is that our room was starting to look a little dated and in need of updating,however beds and linen were spotless!
Breakfast was excellent too!
If you like your history and a bit of peace and quiet this is the one for you!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finniesnap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fabulous hotel.
Room was fantastic with four poster bed and jacuzzi bath.Towel swans and rose petals on the bed,chocolates and a single red rose,which my wife loved The meal that night was exceptional,as was the breakfast the following morning.Can`t praise the staff enough.Everything was very clean and tidy,could`t have wished for a better place to stay for our 35th wedding anniversary.


,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjb315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for the weekend with my partner - booked this particular due to the history of Lillie Langtry and found it all quite interesting not just your average hotel. when we arrived we were early staff were very very polite and helpful and offered us a complimentary drink whilst we wait which i thought was a lovely touch. My reason for the lower scoring is that we thought we were staying in the actual Manor however we were in fact staying across the road in the lodge. Which upon reading about the hotel did not know this existed? I thought it was a boutique hotel with a small amount of rooms. So straight away i was disappointed as we were shown across the road to a completely different building - which as far as i cannot see is not shown or spoken about on the website? (Please correct me if i am wrong here??) The room was nice and quite nicely decorated i don’t think i have high expectations but for £211.50 a night nowhere near worth this money. I was expecting a spa bath in the room - as shown in the pictures but we just had an average bath with the jets. Also i know i am being a bit picky with this bit but the whole time of our stay the hoover and a dirty bag of towels/laundry was left outside our room :( didn’t like this. So i hope that explains my reasoning for the average scoring as i was very disappointed about this as I had booked this for my partner and shown him all the lovely pictures of the manor and the rooms and then we weren’t even staying there i almost felt slightly embarrassed and think he was secretly disappointed also.
Anyway onto the evening we booked the Saturday evening banquet which is a 7 course meal and that in fact was very very nice i would highly recommend this evening and the actress who recited a small monologue about Lillie Langtry which was really interesting and a nice touch. Food was lovely and every course was as good as the last and the choice was great. Overall the meal was 10/10 for service and food everything was lovely.

Room Tip: check which room you will be staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zee2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest

''The Langtry Manor & Lodge - two historic buildings creating one unique hotel! It’s a country house style hotel in the very heart of coastal Bournemouth. We offer luxury rooms ranging from elegant Edwardian themed suites to decadent Jacuzzi rooms, and smaller but no less grand accommodations in our double and twin rooms.''

I am so sorry to have to correct you this text is on the very first page of our website and the Langtry lodge is mentioned several times on the website and on the booking pages. Far from being an annexe the Langtry Lodge formerly known as Derby Hall is a period building with History. It belonged to Lord Derby of horse racing fame and Edward VII actually stayed with their friends there whilst the Langtry Manor was built. Many of the lovely pictures on our website are of rooms in the Langtry Lodge.

Some guests prefer the Langtry Lodge others the Manor. Some of our rooms have a spa bath in the room others like the room you stayed in have the spa bath in the bathroom. If you have specific requirements as to the room the best approach is to book with us directly on 01202 553887 and discuss them with reception. I am so sorry this disappointed you.

Thank you so much for giving us feedback as we love to receive it. I am particularly glad that you found the room nice and nicely decorated and your welcome. Also that you really enjoyed the Edwardian banquet we run every weekend.

I am at a loss to understand how it happened that the hoover and dirty laundry were left outside your room. I do apologise and find this totally unacceptable and I shall be speaking to housekeeping about it, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a 1 night stay as part of a short road trip of the south coast.
From the outside Langtry doesn't look like much. Don't be fooled!!
All of the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a suite in the lodge, which us across the road from the main hotel building. We had The Goodwood Suite which felt like an apartment with its own lounge area.
Very comfy bed, huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath and double shower.
The suite was very well appointed and very clean. WiFi is free.
The hotel is in a mixed residential / hotel area and within a 15 minute walk of the seafront and a 30 minute walk from Bournemouth centre.
We didn't try the restaurant for dinner but the breakfasts are very impressive with everything cooked to order.
We will be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jenx2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing