We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“so much potential”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have stayed here twice this year. Staying in the main house is great but the rooms offered in the lodge over the road are still good. The staff are keen to please and almost appear anxious about getting things right. Some are still gaining confidence in their use of English but patience pays. The breakfasts are good with a wide set of cooked options and individual preferences accommodated. The cold selection is more limited in terms of fresh fruit and cereals but it is adequate. There is a great history to the house which it is interesting to immerse yourself in. The dining room is fabulous. The location is ideal in a quiet road yet close to the beach and midway between Boscombe and Bournmouth both within walking distances as is the train station.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 as it has a really small bathroom. There is no lift and a lot of stairs so be sure to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    195
    51
    21
    29
See reviews for
79
641
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Had a one night stay for our Wedding Anniversary last week. The room was lovely with a red rose and chocolates waiting for us on the bed. Immaculately clean everywhere. Dinner was excellent. The Langtry tiger prawns were delicious, and my husbands asparagus was wonderful too. We both had sea bass for mains and couldn't fault it. The beautiful meringue swan with sparklers was an unexpected bonus for our special day. Hubby had the burnt Oxford pudding which he can't wait to have again. I had the cheese board, and my only criticism was the cheeses didn't appear to be local produce. If they were, I was not made aware of it, and they weren't described as such on the menu. Breakfast was a good choice. The freshly baked patisserie items were much admired. The porridge was the best I've had anywhere, and the smoked haddock was delicious, in the fact that it hadn't been oversmoked. We can't wait to find an excuse to return.

Room Tip: The Ellen Terry room only has a small bath with overhead shower. So if you prefer a bath I'd hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

There's something very special about the Langtry Manor, it's hard to know where to start.

Our second visit, this time we stayed in the Lilly Langtry room.
You can't help but step back in time in this hotel, with the luxury on a par if not better than any of the hotels in Bournemouth. Full of history and character, excellent service from staff who genuinely care. As much or as little history as you want in this elegant building with every turn you make.
Our room - with its four poster bed, and double jaccusi with its relaxing lights, our balcony over looking the garden, crisp white bed linen, fluffy white towels and bathrobes. A tranquil setting, a great night's sleep. A great breakfast.
You can go to one of the big corporate hotels anywhere, The Langtry however is unique and not to be missed when needing accommodation in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Over looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannius24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We had a great weekend in Bournemouth and absolutely loved Langtry Manor Hotel. The room was very luxurious (and the softest bathrobes), the staff were exceptionally friendly and the service was perfect. Will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From the moment we arrived till we left the staff where extremly friendly, the room was exceptional with a huge jaquzzi and four poster bed, heated floor tiles really gave the bathroom that extra level of luxury.

From the quality bedrobes and bedding to the period features it really allowed us to relax and soak up the feeling of being spoilt.

Breakfast was well presented and really enjoyed the local produce especially the susages, despite the hotel being full the staff where above to give us the attention we needed to make us feel extra special.

would definatley reccomend this hidden gem right near the center of Bournemouth and be staying again, its worth making the trip from London.

Thank you for making our stay such a relaxing and endulgent experience hope to come again soon. (maybe for the next murder mystery or just to expeirence the Kings room!!)

Room Tip: The Kings Room is something special by the looks of things on the website and the staff, we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1984AlexH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After feeling a little low, imagine my surprise when my other half told me that I was going to be wined and dined royally at a local hotel.

The only one I knew that had royal connections going way way back was of course the famous Langtry Manor. Being close by we decided to stroll there, as I normally am self elected token driver and therefore no alcohol.

But on this occasion I was initially treated to an aperitif whilst sitting in the garden. We had arrived early for our meal but whilst we were enjoying our preprandial glass, we were never hurried along which was very refreshing to say the least.

Once we sat down at our table in the excellently appointed dining room with tasteful period decor, we were offered a menu with an excellent choice of courses, which we found difficult to choose from as everything looked delicious.

Having ordered drinks and same duly delivered to our table we continued to choose leisurely our courses in an unhurried atmosphere.

Once chosen we settled back enjoying the ambience of our surroundings, taking in the decor of a bygone era.

First course for me was Buffalo Mozzarella with plum tomato salad, excellent with the Pesto and Balsamic reduction, very fresh and tasty an ideal first course for me.
This was followed by a perfectly prepared fillet steak, accompanied by confit of shallots, roasted tomatoes, field mushrooms, steak cut chips and my choice of chef prepared freshly made sauce.
Dessert was easy for me the evocatively described Oxford Burnt pudding, which did not fail to delight when it arrived to table.
We had thought to have had the cheeseboard for dessert initially, but finally decided to have it in any case at the end with a glass of Port and very glad in the end when it arrived to table. With a range of local cheeses, homemade chutney, and delightful similarly homemade biscuits, it was a delightful end to a wonderful leisurely enjoyed repast.

We retired once again to the garden to enjoy a postprandial pleasure, which for me has to be Port and Brandy, both digestif and together very satisfying indeed.

If anyone is looking for an evening of simple unhurried eating experience why not try Langtry Manor like we did you won't be disappointed, we weren't although we have been treated before when we had Christmas lunch there last year, but that's another time.

Room Tip: Sufficiently out of town to avoid the sometimes brashness town offers to visitors whilst being conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a small break reviewing coastal towns. Although initially a small potential problem with the voucher system that we had booked through,we were greeted by the staff with great enthusiam and charm. It was not just a case of 'There's your key." The hotel has a distinct charm and history of which the manager is enthusiastic to point out!
My only slight criticism is that our room was starting to look a little dated and in need of updating,however beds and linen were spotless!
Breakfast was excellent too!
If you like your history and a bit of peace and quiet this is the one for you!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finniesnap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing