We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel providing excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. As the hotel were unable to provide us with our first choice bedroom, we received a phone call to say so and an offer of an alternative accommodation. However, upon arrival we were offered the chance to have the Le Breton Suite which we happily accepted! What a treat! We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely and quiet hotel. For the record, the breakfasts were superb!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layminister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

We appeared to get a better rate having DB&B rather than just B&B which made the rate comparable with the bigger hotels in Bournemouth.
The dinner on each night was excellent, choosing from a large menu.
It is very quiet after dinner and every other guest seems to disappear after dinner about 10.15pm but it was warm so we sat outside.
We took the 2 dogs and was put in a large room at the lodge where any barking would cause minimum trouble to other guests. It was ideal.
Would certainly consider going again when I am in Bournemouth again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Growler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We had high expectations of Langtry Manor Hotel and went there as a real treat. Given the price of the room (£190 for one night in the Le Breton suite), we wouldn't usually have chosen to stay here. We found the hotel to be very nice, but not worth the money by any means. The room wasn't as large as the photos on their website suggest, the DVD player in the room didn't work and the jacuzzi had only one setting, which was uncomfortably powerful. That said, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was great. To be as luxurious as it says it is, the hotel needs to pay more attention to detail. If not, they need to lower their prices substantially!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The main hotel, Langtry Manor, was the lovenest of Lillie Langtry and king Edward VII. The family that own the hotel are very nice, welcoming and helpful, but have capitalised on this fact in the prices charged. The hotel is split into 2, you have the manor itself, where most of the rooms are very pretty with a romantice feel. Then there is the lodge, which is an annex to the hotel just over the road from the main building. The Lodge is not of the same standard as the manor, and most of the rooms there struggle to reach 2 star standard. So if you are going to stay at this hotel make sure you stay in the manor!
The food is beautifully presented, but does not contain much of the important main element, for example one evening i ordered lamb and received 2 small bite size pieces on a bed of vegatables, but it did look nice. Another evening I ordered roast squid on a tomato salad with butternut sauce. Again it looked beautiful, but i couldn't find the squid!
The Edwardian banquet though, held on a Saturday night, was different class and was amazing, worth going there just for this!
The price we paid for 1 week (2 adults, 2 children aged 5 & 8) was £1,420 but we had to argue to get that. The gross price was £1,800. We could have stayed at the Elstead hotel, which is also a 3 star hotel for half that price in a nicer room. I would point out that Langtry manor is a 3 star hotel and not 4 according to google.
The hotel is not suitable for young children.
I would recommend it in certain circumstances, i.e. for a romantic break as long as you insist on staying in the Manor and then only in certain rooms (avoid the Disraeli suite), and if you are prepared to pay a high price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matteo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Enjoyble stay, standard of food excellent, staff very helpful and friendly. Oscar Wilde bedroom very pleasant with nice view over the garden.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank zimmerman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We didn't actually have accommodation in the hotel as we were staying at The Carlton just down the road and only got to know about Langtry's Restaurant whilst we were there. We went to the Edwardian evening on Saturday 25 July, 2009 and it was absolutely superb. We were on round tables of 10 people in fact, one couple were doing a review of the food for the magazine Food & Wine and they were well impressed. The meal consisted of 6 courses. There were 3 couples on our table who were staying in the hotel (Langry Manor) over the road from the restaurant and although one couple said it was looking a bit tired and could do with some TLC they had still enjoyed it. Apparently where Langtry's Restaurant building is also does accommodation and one couple from our table actually took us to look at their room - it was lovely and they were happy and said they would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antibesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We decided to stay at the Langtry Manor for our 15th wedding anniversary and to really treat ourselves.

We found the website misleading as the pictures did not reflect the room we were given. We were offered the Golden Cup room which even though supported a very handsome four poster bed, the decor and the overall decorative state were not desirable. Large stains on the floor, unknown stains and dirt on the sofa, a very tired, uncared for room. Plus for the size of the room the bathroom was very small and decoratively tired. There was going to be a wedding reception on the ground floor of the Lodge and the Golden Cup room floor literally did bounce with the beat of the music.

This did not endear us and we did feel as if we wanted to leave.

We asked for a different room as the state of the room was not the best and did not warrant the money asked. We were told there were no other rooms available. After a long discussion on this being a special occasion etc. and being very disappointed with the room offered they finally "found" an alternative. This room was small but in a far better decorative state. The bathroom was tired and in need of an update. Unfortunately for us this room was above the kitchen so we therefore did not get to sleep until the kitchen staff had finished at 12am the first night and 1:30am the second night.

The whole of the manor is on need of a decorative overhaul. The rooms even redecorated are not worth the average £99 pppn. For us they played too much on the Lilly Langtry connection to warrant the prices charged. We are still not sure what experience we paid for!

The staff were friendly and helpful however they looked as tired and their uniforms as worn as the manor.

The Georgian banquet was value for money. If you want a romantic night do not do this as you will be seated with up to another 4 people you do not know. A nice touch was the meringue swans and certificate for the special occasion.

A spa was offered at a nearby hotel, however the Lilly Langtry staff should really check this out as it does not help the overall experience they are selling.


Everything offered by the manor is at a price which far outweighs the experience.

For us the Manor was a total disappointment, never again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £73 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing