We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Ok the bedrooms in this hotel are a little tired and need updating but if you want a good value hotel that is a short walk from the beach and town then you could do a lot worse than the Wessex. The bedrooms are clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is lovely and warm and the indoor pool is one depth (4 feet) all over which means you don't get out of your depth if you are not a confident swimmer like me. Breakfast was hot and plentiful in pleasant surroundings and for evening meals there were deals in the main restaurant that made it affordable which makes a change from a lot of hotels. On the lower ground floor next to the pool area is an Italian restaurant which serves good food at reasonable prices. Only downside was the hard uncomfortable pillows! They really need to invest in some new softer pillows! Other than that I can't fault it and would definitely stay here again (but would bring my own pillow!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thankyou for your review Panperry,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast and food offerings and our leisure club.

We are currently in the process of carrying out an internal refurbishment program which I can gladly advise that this includes purchasing new pillows.

We hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    271
    192
    63
    48
See reviews for
95
358
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The receptionist called sarah very bad attitude to me and a warm welcome and a smile wouldn't go amiss. we had a drab and dirty room why is this because we had a little dog.we paid good money to stay in your so called hotel,the breakfast was rotten, the bacon was as tough as old boots.we won't be back and anyone reading this won't ether.

Room Tip: there isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 971lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thankyou for your review 971Lucy,

I find it quite sad that you have created an account on trip advisor just to pick fault at a member of our staff, I can only assume that if you used the attitude that you have used in your review with this member of staff that they have responded in suit, not that I condone such actions and I will have a quiet word in her ear.

Your review also states that the hotel is old and dirty and the breakfast is poor, now the decor of the rooms is in fact dated and its something we are addressing but if you read the other reviews on the hotel, they all state that although the building is dated, its clean, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is of a high quality, basically they all state the complete opposite of what you have said.

You end your review saying that you wont be back and after others have read your review, they wont either, Im sure that having read your review, most will pay more attention to more constructive reviews which have been left for the hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great stay here, the stay was a gift for us from our daughter for Christmas, yes the Wessex needs a refurb, the squeaky floorboards did need attention but if the hotel is waiting for the freehold lease to come through then trying to do anything about this would be a waste of time and money, so I can completely understand why this has not been a priority, apart from being in need of updating there isn't anything else wrong with this hotel. It's within 10/15 mins walk from the seafront and shops, with one of the best crazy golf we have played.
The staff were all very pleasant, polite and friendly, the food was absolutely fine, breakfast was as good as any hotel we have stayed in. It was also very clean, the beds were comfortable.
My only criticism was the temperature of our room, we were very fortunate to have extremely good weather and as a woman 'of a certain age' I really struggled with how hot our room was, we were advised by signs in the room to keep windows locked but this was not possible with it being so hot, so we took our chances and left the window open night and day as we didn't have anything with real value with us, had our stay been for longer than the two nights we would have asked to be moved, our room was 157 on the first floor, we felt comfortable leaving the window open as the room looked over a small enclosed area therefore making it hard for anyone trying to access this space. I was impressed that there was use of an ironing room, we have never had this available to us before!
I would just like to add that I feel customers should have some sort of notification on arrival as to a certain member of staff regarding the fact that he was clearly Autistic and anyone that has not had experience of this before may well have taken offense at the very direct manner in which he dealt with people, I have an Autistic Nephew myself so was able to pickup on this immediately where others may have just thought him abrupt, personally I was impressed that the Wessex had given this member of staff a chance of employment which involves working with the public, the member of staff with him was very good at the way he dealt with him. There should be more employers prepared to take on staff like this!
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, thank you for a thoroughly lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Room 157 was south facing and very warm, avoid if you don't like to be too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinawest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thankyou for your review Tinawest5,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have been fortunate to have some very hot weather over the last couple of weeks, its great to be able to enjoy this weather down the beach but not so good when you try and sleep at night. We have ordered some more fans in case guests need them, which I appreciate wont cool the rooms down but will help circulate the air and make it easier to sleep.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the wessex in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Arrived early so we could make the most of our 2 night stay that my daughter and partner had purchased for us for xmas.
Check in was handled friendly and quick by the recepionest . Our room was;nt ready which was not a problem so left the car in the large car park and walked the 5 mins to the beach. Came back at 2pm and was pleasantly surprised when we went to our room . For a standard double it was big with a separate large bathroom with over bath shower. Bed very comfortable.Rooms and hotel very clean.
We used the pool which was warm .They also provide towels.
Breakfast very good choice of cooked breakfast ,cereals ,fruit and youghts. Free Wifi
Very good location plenty of choices to eat.
Overall I would stay here again.
People need to realise this is a 3 star not a 5 star and stop being so picky.

Room Tip: We were in room 273 on 2nd floor at back .No noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review Brenda L,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went and used a voucher from our son and his wife and added an extra day. Outdoor and indoor pool facility and the reception and bar area are clean & comfortable nice bar with food available. the breakfast was ok but the bedrooms really need a complete overhaul and the bathroom was awful.. Water hot all clean but the shower was just a clip on version that as soon as water turned on it swivelled and sprayed the room.

Room Tip: Check out the bathroom 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review Donna J,

As I have stated on several other reponses, St James Hotels aquired the hotel in March of this year, we are aware that the rooms are tired and we are currently carrying out an internal refurbishment program and have to date refurbished 5 bedrooms.

We believe that the hotel pricing is in line with other hotels of similar standard within the town and we also include free car parking, wi-fi and use of the hotels leisure facilities within our rates.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I know the Wessex gets some negative feedback but personally until now I have always enjoyed my stays there; the staff have been pleasant, the food is OK and I like the faded Victorian splendour. Having spent over £2,000 in the Wessex over the last year imagine my surprise when they would not accept a room cancellation and insisted on charging me. I gave them the opportunity to refund me and pointed out the terms and conditions sent to me after my pre-payment included cancellation. I will not be staying at the Wessex again and contemplating court action to get my money back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review Paul G,

Unfortunately you booked an Advance saver rate which is several pounds cheaper than our standard rate but is non refundable, amendable and transferable. This was clearly stated on the website that you booked on. You had the option of booking the slightly more expensive rate which was £4.50 more on the night in question and can be cancelled without charge up until noon on the day but opted not to.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having read some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive about what I would find. My experience was different from some of the reviews.

The Hotel is in a good central location with a busy, but not too noisy road outside. I am a Londoner and used to traffic noise and to me it was not intrusive but you need to make your own judgement on this. One appealing feature is the very large car park. Yes, the outside of the hotel does require repainting but it is not that noticeable unless you look closely. The staff were very good indeed on several occasions about offering to help my 88 year old Mum use a main entrance stair lift to climb the 10 steps to the 1st floor Reception and public areas.

My booking in was handled efficently and in a friendly way by the receptionist. The public areas and bar are comfortable and there is plenty of seating. There are two lifts, a small 2 person lift by the 1st floor reception going as far the 3rd Floor and a second lift going to the 4th floor which takes 8 people and needs better signing. Our two rooms were superior double rooms on the 4th floor and both were spacious and well decorated with none of the maintenance issues reported by others. There is a curious arrangement with key fob attached to the main room key which fits in a holder by the room door. When the fob is in place the electrics in the room work, when removed the supply is switched off. I did not find this too much of an inconvenience. You know where the key is and I presume it saves energy. As others have said this is a Victorian building and some of the corridors could do with revamping and redecoration. There is a leisure complex attached, I did not get to try, in the ground floor and also Amalfi, an Italian restaurant.

We had dinner in the Hotel. I found the restaurant menu choice a little restricted but what I had was very well cooked and the quality and quantity of food was very good. Both our reception by our waitress for seating,the food preparation time and speed of service was impressive. The room service menu looked quite good and extensive with a £3 delivery charge.

Breakfast, the following day was considerably busier and initially a little confusing. Everyone wanted to eat at 9.00 o/c although it is open from 07.30-09.30 Mon- Fri and 08.00-10.00 Sat/Sun. It is self-service buffet with a wide range of options i.e fruit, cheese,porridge(special order) cereals and a cooked english breakfast. What did throw me was that I was not asked whether I wanted tea or coffee or toast. After watching other people, I found these are available in a side alcove with a coffee machine and a rotating band toaster which produced either underdone toast or if you put it back blackened toast. Note to Manager - provide two machines to prevent queues and to offer light and dark toast. Also some instructions on using the coffee machine and toaster would have been useful, preferably on the menu.

Overall my impression was pretty good regarding the staff but that the hotel decoration does require further work. I enjoyed the food. I would have no hesitation in staying here again next time I am in Bournmouth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review Intrepidqw,

Were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback on the breakfast buffet, we have been extensively reviewing our offering over the last few weeks which has recieved lots of positive feedback, we are currently looking and the coffee machine offering and we hope to move this forward in the coming weeks.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#10 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Property: Wessex Hotel
Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 109-bedroom Wessex Hotel is on the West Cliff, just five minutes' walk from the centre of Bournemouth, where you can enjoy award-winning Blue Flag beaches, fantastic restaurants and bars and many family attractions. The Hotel has its own leisure club with comprehensive facilities including indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium and beauty treatment rooms. There are also function rooms for large-scale business events, lavish and intimate weddings and other celebrations, free parking and free WiFi throughout Enjoy a seaside holiday, a family break or a romantic getaway at the Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing