We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

1st impression of hotel was good. Clean modern reception area and smooth check in. But dont let that fool you.... beyond reception is a very old, tired & stained hotel. I entered our premier family room(£149 for 1 night) and the 1st thing that hit me was the awful awful stench of urine ( after having a child that wet the bed for year...i know that smell). I pulled back the stained sheets and the state of the matresses were horrendous. Urine stains everywhere !! What makes it worse is that none of the beds had mattress or pillow protectors on which in 2014 is just discusting and should come as standard. I did go to reception and complain about it and i demanded that every mattress be changed and protectors put on, which reception did do but without having a moan about it first. I would have walked out of the hotel and stayed somewhere else but unfortunatly we were there on the busyest weekend of the year and there was no where else available. This hotel has the potential of being amazing but i teally thing they should close it down for a few months to get the rooms decorated rather than booking customers that will never return again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review Nicola C,

Im sorry that you disliked your stay with us so much that you felt the need to create an account on Tripadvisor. We are a hotel which is very much in transition, the hotel suffered from years of neglect from the previous ownership and we are in the process of trying to improve the standards throughout, we have commenced an internal refurbishment program and the company is in negotiations to buy the building freehold.

Your completely correct regarding the mattress and pillow proptectors and Im happy to advise that we have today raised an order for mattress and pillow protectors throughout the hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We held my dad's 70th birthday here, many of our relatives travelled up from Devon and stayed, all loved their rooms. Function room was also booked, staff really went above and beyond to have room decorated and arranged as we wanted it.
Staff were all extremely friendly and polite, and the entire evening went off without a hitch.

Would happily use the Wessex again for a function and my uncles/aunts/cousins would happily stay here again when coming for visits.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilHaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your review PhilHaylock,

We are delighted that your dad and your party all enjoyed your time with us, we enjoyed having you and we hope to welcome you back for your next celebration.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on Saturday 12th July 2014 with my two young daughters. We checked in fine and went up to our room. On entering my first thought was how dirty the carpet was, then further into the room I noticed how stained the walls, headboard and carpet were. This hotel is very old, and in my opinion needs drastic modernisation. I found the lady on reception to be very blunt and unhelpful when asked if I could change rooms. I was told there weren't any spare rooms available. I won't be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BecHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am sorry that you were disapointed by your room. We are undertaking an improvement programme across the Hotel to address deficiencies we have identified. In recognition of this our rates are set to reflect the market position of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was allocated this hotel via a conference website, just a couple of hours in the room was enough. I checked out. Very poor quality room, inadequate furnishings and unsightly bathroom; student visitors running down the corridors playing football and peeling external walls just made it all too much. Very sad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am sorry that you felt unable to stay, I would like to think that the Front Desk team would have tried to find you an alternative room more to your liking.
Please try us again when we have completed our bedroom refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Like the previous reviewer we were at the hotel for our second time on the dancing weekend, reception and bar area are lovely with plenty of comfy seating and a TV for our men to watch the footie while we danced the nights away in the lovely large ballroom. All the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful and the food was very good with plenty of variety and choice. Our bedroom was better this time than last as we paid a little extra for an upgrade, it was very spacious and nice and clean but the decor could do with updating, wallpaper ripped in places and paintwork needs painting. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well, only small problems were the toilet seat was broken where it fixes to the toilet and so was a bit wobbly and the shower although fantastically powerful was a bit unsafe as my husband caught the temp dial by accident and it went right round to max which was boiling hot, if it had been a child or an old person it could have been quite nasty, I did report this to reception so they could take a look. Overall very happy with the stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Verity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and the report on repair issues. WE have recently expanded our Maintenance team with the aim to respond to issues promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my second stay at the hotel on a dancing weekend. The reception area looks very smart upon arrival but the rooms could do with a refresh. That said, yes the furniture looked old and shabby but the rooms were clean and well equipped with everything you could need. The bed was comfortable. I shared a room with a friend on both occasions and this time we had a mini suite with a separate bedroom and sitting room with a sofa bed so we both had our own space. The bathroom was clean and the shower mixer tap worked extremely well. They provided plenty of towels, shower gel etc. The food was good and they were extremely accommodating. We had a member of our group with special dietary needs i.e. no dairy or gluten and the chef adapted the menu for her so she still had a choice of meals. They also provided gluten free bread. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We also tried out the pool this time. There is a small rectangular outdoor pool but the indoor pool is more for leisure/lounging as it is circular with a pillar in the centre. The staff at the pool were also helpful and they provide towels. However the changing room has no cubicles in which you can get dressed with a bit of privacy, just a communal space. It has 3 shower cubicles though.
The function room where we spent most of our time is a good size and air conditioned. The dance floor was mostly good but had a couple of "divots" which need to be attended to.
It is walking distance from town but down a steep hill so you might want to get the bus back, which stops outside the hotel.
There was also free wifi, accessed by means of a code reception give you on a little slip of paper. It lasts for 48hrs and then you can get a new one. It is the first time recently I've stayed somewhere where it actually works!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write such an extensive report. Your comments regarding the room condition is fair and we are lokking forward rectifing such negatives. I will pass on you comments about the staff and thier efforts together with the food quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 109-bedroom Wessex Hotel is on the West Cliff, just five minutes' walk from the centre of Bournemouth, where you can enjoy award-winning Blue Flag beaches, fantastic restaurants and bars and many family attractions. The Hotel has its own leisure club with comprehensive facilities including indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium and beauty treatment rooms. There are also function rooms for large-scale business events, lavish and intimate weddings and other celebrations, free parking and free WiFi throughout Enjoy a seaside holiday, a family break or a romantic getaway at the Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing