We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT LOVELY STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
verwood
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“WHAT LOVELY STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I recently worked as a Toastmaster at this hotel and must say the staff were all very good, they were attentive and looked after the guests throughout the banquet. Igor the banqueting manager that night, and the waiting staff kept everything flowing from the kitchen and the evening was enjoyed by all the guests.I have read various reprts about this hotel, and I must say every time I work there I enjoy my time there. The function manager works hard to ensure the booking details are correct and I have no problem recommending this hotel as one of the best in Bournemouth for functions, and being on the sea front and having an indoor pool must be a benifit during the english winter, good luck to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    329
    197
    101
    84
See reviews for
251
446
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just spent a lovely relaxing weekend at the Carlton hotel in Bournemouth, Staff throughout were friendly, professional and attentive from the warm welcome at reception through to the efficient food and drinks service and the unobtrusive housekeeping. Stayed in a. Seaview room and have no complaints with the room. Pool, gym and spa were a little limited but adequate for a quick dip, run or basic massage, staff in these areas were equally helpful. Would recommend this place for anyone who wants to go away and do little or nothing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

In a package over the weekend in February.

We were put down on a table for 2 where they serve the food. Not the best position. Looking above at the old chandeliers (when it WAS 5 star........now sadly NOT) there were 10 bulbs in the light. Six of them had gone so it was a bit gloomy!

I ordered the wine, a bottle of Chablis. The Wine Waiter asked ME for the bin number. Not a good start!

I had Dover Sole. Lovely. It came with chips..........great you think...........I had 6 chips. Yes 6!

The main waiter did not smile once. It was all a bit tired and sad really.

Wouldn't go back. Faded elegance!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goan_and_Indian_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Just returned from a one night ( sadly only one night) stay at the Menzies Carlton. What a lovely break! Every single one of the staff we encountered went out of their way to ensure we were well looked after - from the upgrade to a suite when we arrived ( because the lovely lady on Reception thought that as we were a family we would enjoy it) to our charming smiley waiter at dinner, the spa staff, housekeeping ...everyone was so friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful; spotless, spacious and well equipped (and when we asked for extra cups they were delivered in less than five minutes). We enjoyed the spa and dinner was a real treat - lots of little details that made it feel special and indulgent. Perfect weather helped ( even in February) as it made an early morning stroll on the beach very enticing. Then back for a really good breakfast, plenty of everything and all well cooked and presented. In summary, a great location, excelllent value for money and outstanding service made this a birthday treat to remember. Thank you. PS rated children's activities average only as we didn't use them so can't judge.

Room Tip: Room 217 was fantastic! A bright spacious suite with a good balcony and great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Hotel decor amazing. staff superb but when one goes for lunh one expects a good standard after all it isn,t cheap.but very dissapointed starter was fine , dessert was excellent but very small but the main was very poor .Pork was not only tasteless but luke warm as was the vegetables. With numerous other hotels in Bournemouth serving sunday lunches I think that they should up their game The Carlton will not be on our Sunday lunch list,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

4 of us went for afternoon tea for 85th birthday. £50 for a few pieces of sandwiches. Dried overdone scone each and a piece of some sort of cheesecake. No cakes as you would expect for tea. Had to go and ask for plates as none was given, this seemed to be a surprise that we needed them, then had to ask for forks to eat the 'cheesecake' . The only plus the coffee was ok. To summarise, disappointed, did not feel it was value for money. Will not repeat.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank BigAlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Booked this hotel for a special occasssion - we could only afford one night ( not that it was over priced) and wished we could have stayed there all week. We went to the Odeon cinema which was only about 15 minutes walk away and watched Les Miserables on it's second night.

Our room was really outstanding - it was huge with nice clean furnishings and a well proportioned bathroom. There was a lovely sea view looking out of the massive bay window and the memorial to the Red Arrow pilot Flt Lt Jon Egging. The weather was cold and wet but the room was really cosy and warm.

Check in/out times were good and we were told we could arrive much earlier on the day and still used the facilities until our room was ready. Breakfast consisted of a large choice with good table service by the staff. All hotel staff ( reception, room maids and the lady hoovering the hallway ) were very polite and helpful. There was a party on when we were their but once upstairs we'd never know - perhaps the hotel has a policy of grouping party guests near to and directly above their own party rooms to minimise noise to other guests ?

There were some complimentary bottled waters and sweets in the room as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits. The hot chocolate was particularly tasty.

Will definately be booking another stay here.

(I've rated the spa as average as I didn't go to see it.)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing